We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, shame about the attitude” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 139, 19100 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice hotel, shame about the attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Was in the area for a family wedding, and there were not hotels available close enough so me and my partner stayed at the Astoria in La Spezia. It was August, and it was hot. very hot. and it smelt. La Spezia is not a particulary great area to be in and I dont recommend it that highly for tourists. There is alot of industrial parts to it and the harbour is not as pretty and many others near by.
This aside the main reason we did not enjoy our stay at the attitude of all staff we encountered. From the reception staff, to breakfast, to the cleaners, no one even cared we existed. We needed times and info on boats to nearby areas to schedule when we had to cross for the wedding, we were told they didnt have this information. There were leaflets we later found in the hotel with time tables on.
We were not given directions to our room when we arrived just 'up the stairs'. No offer of help with our bags either. The hotel has great promise and is in a nice building, but I would not stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    34
    21
    20
See reviews for
15
43
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in September 2010 because it is close Cinque Terre, where we couldn't find any available rooms through online booking services. It turned out to be a good decision in terms of convenience, since Hotel Astoria is located very close to the train station, where we could train into Cinque Terre every day. It was a little pricey for what we got (~$150/night), but we had no serious complaints or issues and just used it as a place to sleep and shower. DH describes the hotel as feeling "deserted".

Pretty easy check-in. We asked for help with our lost luggage and they pointed us to the pay phone in the lobby. We had to call the Florence airport every day to check the status, struggling with some language difficulties. We definitely would have appreciated some help with this issue.

Lobby felt tired, and our room was a bit spartan but had what we needed. The bathroom was okay, except there was some grotty stuff on the shower walls. I really really liked their microfibre towels, and have since purchased one at home.

The breakfast room was more spacious, but the complimentary breakfast left us desiring "real" food. There were packaged pastries that would horrify any European. I would recommend having some coffee and eating breakfast elsewhere.

We only explored La Spezia on the last day and found that the hotel is actually close to an open-air market (flowers, foods, clothing) that opens up in their shopping area (including a Zara, etc.). There are also some nearby tiny convenience stores where you can pick up 1.5L bottled water for €0.60.

It has the potential to be a nice hotel, but lacks energy and needs some sprucing up.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Needed a last minute stay as the other hotel booked fell through and it ws late. My sat nav found me this one.. thanks Hertz !!. The lobby looked OK, Marbled floors but slightly tired. The room however was awfull. Tiny bathroom and the shower curtain fell out of the wall on gentle closure, the toilet seat fell off and would not be replaced, towels provided had the absorbency and texture of concrete. A shower rendered the whole bathroom a flood zone of biblical proportion. Beds on the lumpy and squeaky side. TV was minute and only seemed to show Miss Italy contests in a blurry haze ( not that we watched it much) Breakfast provided was fine and the receptionist did give me a slight discount due to above issues. I understand there are some newer rooms but as the hotel was desserted when we stayed it is hard to understand why we did not get one. Position was OK near the station but parking is a nightmare. Overall as enjoyable as a weekend in BAgdad.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flyingkiwipoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Spezia hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

There are two sides to this hotel: one is neglected and terrible and the other is very comfortable and clean. I'm rating this hotel based on the better side because I try to be a merciful person. On the first night, I stayed in one of their cheaper rooms. It was terrible: the room was dark, had no air conditioning, the furniture was worn, there was dirt on the sink and a smell in the bathroom. That night was unbearable so on the second night, I paid 20 euros more for the better room. Was it worth it? Every penny because the room was clean, looked nice, and had an air conditioner and attractive bathroom.

The thing that bothers me is that the hotel website gives you no idea of what the cheap rooms look like. If I had known that the room would be that terrible, I would never have booked it. I would not have come to this hotel because the better rooms are much more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellosophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Friendly staff, a nice variety for breakfast, spotlessly clean room. I had the "deluxe" room which was newly renovated, had a clean fresh bathroom, air conditioning, desk and large bed. Very comfortable. I think the standard rooms are slightly less expensive, a bit older and have no A/C. Easy 7 minute walk to the train station. Would stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very nice receptionist that was very willing to answer any questions and give us directions. Our room was very large and had a large sun filled balcony.
Breakfast was basic, location was quite good. Overall very pleased and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

The external and lobby of the hotel seem okay, bright, airy and had a jovial atmosphere about it. The front desk ladies were very friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel serves as an excellent base to explore Cinque Terre. Wait till you squeeze yourself into the four-person lift and squeak and rattle your way to the second floor, the stale air, the worn carpet, the wobbly doors, the rusted shower doors and vinegar-y smell towels had all the hallmarks of year 1952 but none the charm. Paid 80 euros a night here and one night was enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navitimer1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#2 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.6 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#6 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mary
Mary
#11 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#10 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Via Roma 139, 19100 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astoria 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing