We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”
Review of Hotel Corallo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Corallo
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We weren't sure about this hotel from it's exterior but the rooms were nice although the wifi wasn't working the entire time we were there which wasn't great. The rooms were clean and fresh. The breakfast wasn't much to brag about and you literally had to fight for a coffee cup but since this was a budget hotel we weren't too bothered. Location was about a 10-15 minute walk to the centre with the restaurants and 30 min walk to the station.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 206 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

AVOID THIS HOTEL!! it's hard to even put in words how unsatisfactory this stay has been. i don't usually expect much from a hotel but this time it felt as if the whole experience was designed to get on one's nerve.. the first day we arrived late and tired and wanted to have a walk in by the sea, see the centre and go to a fish restaurant or so. the receptionist told us they run out of maps and gave us wrong directions. thus we ended up walking around the deserted industrial part of town. she can't tell left from right, we thought. in the morning tho i saw some tourist maps at her desk when I went to leave the key. who were they keeping them for? how much money did they save? anyway that night was ruined. the breakfast was extremely poor - no eggs,fruit or vegetables. needless to say, the room was very small,loud,smelled like sour and was packed with mosquitoes at all times.. the rest of the hotel stuff was also unhelpful and rude to a point where they leave you waiting for your key when you are soaking wet while they go on with their casual phone call as if they don't even notice your presence. this has been overall a stay my group shall regret for a while.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archisauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Good hotel with great central location and all comfort, good breakfast and personnel was kind.
parking is stupidly expensive at 18€ a day but few hundreds meters away on the street its free all night.
Bit noisy early morning due traffic.
Would surely go back.

Room Tip: ask one room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobellig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Really friendly staff, very tidy and clean. On the downside there was quite a bit of road noise (where we were at least) and the bathroom is so teeny tiny. Good for a night or two day tripping to nearby Cinque Terre.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank AshlynRochelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a litte hotel. The rooms towards the inner courtyard are quiet. Only noisy guests shouting by our door were disturbing.
The clerks at the reception are very kind and helpful, and speak English. The room where we stayed was modern and clean, with a little but well-working shower.
The hotel is placed close to the harbour in la Spezia. Very convenient to take the boats to Porto Venere and Cinque Terre.
The busses nr 3 and nr 5 leaving from the street next to the hotel (away from the hospital “ospedale”) are passing the train station. Remember to buy a ticket for the city (code 00).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BjK264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Tried unsuccessfully to book a hotel online close to the cinque terre so the only way was to drive there and try to find one. We saw the sign for this hotel on the main road and were lucky to find a double room. The hotel is basic but has everything one needs for a night. Our room was quiet at the back of the hotel - even had a terrace. It was clean and comfortable. We parked our car in the reserved spaces outside the hotel but there is a garage. Breakfast was fine. The receptionist was very helpful showing us where we cound buy lunch close the hotel - how to get to the train station and where to find a restaurant for dinner. What more could one ask for at a very reasonable price. The hotel could do with some up- dating but that is reflected in the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonas57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hotel is quite basic. We stayed in a triple room (33), and was very spartan and small for 3 (I believe they give you a double room with an extra bed, but charge 40% more ...). Definitely is overpriced for what they give you back.
Hotel area is 5-10 minute walk from boats to Cinque terre (that's the reason we chose it), but is half an hour from train station.... terrible if you don't have car and carrying luggage.
Also, at night it isn't a 'nice' area to walk around and everything was closed (and not well illuminated). Breakfast was ok (nothing special).
I'm sure we will try another place next time to have a better experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genesis4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.2 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.5 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corallo

Address: Via Francesco Crispi 32, 19124, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range: $97 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corallo 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Corallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corallo La Spezia
Corallo Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing