We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice jumping off point for Cinque Terre”
Review of Hotel Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mary
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Highly recommended for single traveller or the budget traveller as a jumping-off point for Cinque Terre. My single room was small but comfortable, with own bathroom consisting of small shower, toilet & bidet. It has its own air-conditioning and everything was VERY clean! Excellent WiFi coverage in my room and breakfast was simple but pleasant.
The hotel is literally in front of the La Spezia train station and is perfect for visitors arriving by train. A day-pass (10 Euro) for Cinque Terre and the train took all of 9 minutes to reach the first of the Cinque Terre villages. It continues and stops at all the 5 villages & beyond. I arrived by car and had to find parking on the crowded streets near the hotel as the hotel has no parking lot.
A short walk to the right of the hotel brings one to a area with many moderately priced restaurants with excellent menus.
I would recommend avoiding the crowd and high prices of hotels in the 5 villages and use Hotel Mary as your base for visiting Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TavernaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mary
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 325 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Positive points :
- near the rail station
- good WI FI
- breakfast included in price
- clean rooms
- air conditionat
-nice and helpfull staff

Negative points :
- small rooms
- thin walls(you can easily near your neighbor)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brebe_silviu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at The Mary in July 2013 - the best thing about the Mary is that if you are traveling by train, it is directly across the road from the train station, which is super convenient.

Its clean and basic, but if I had my time again I would definately pay a little extra to stay at one of the 5 towns on the Cinque Terra.

Free internet but you have to keep getting passwords from the front desk.

The Mary is only a 5 minute walk to the main street of La Spezia, however, the hotel doesn't seem to have been updated for many years. It is clean and tidy but old...

Breakfast was very basic but adequate.
The staff were ok, but not super friendly

The street that Mary is on is a little dodgy at night - but not unsafe

It's a 15 minute walk through the main street to the ferry's for the Cinque Terra

I didn't particularly find that this hotel was value for money - I stayed for 2 nights @ 133 Euros / 66 euro's a night - a fair price should have been around 50 Euros.

There was no noise from the train station or the street.
My wrap up - if you can stay in one of the towns, do so, it will be worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Location is just excellent for those who do not wish to walk too far upon arriving. It's situated right in front of the train station main entrance.
Just 15minutes walk from the La Spezia ferry for Cinque Terre.

Facilities wise, hotel room is clean and have functional basic room facilities. Comfortable for a 3 star hotel.

The staff were friendly as well, they gave me information on where and how to get to the ferry terminal for cinque terre. In addition, on my last day, after checking out, the staff allow me to leave my backpacks with them as I still have a few hours before my next train to Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yann4490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Cheap and great hotel for visiting Cinque Terre due to a walking distance of only two minutes to the train station! The hotel is average in about everything but the location makes it perfect for staying during visits to Cinque Terre! The room we had was a bit dull, but clean and breakfast included is a big plus (actually a good breakfast compared to other Italian hotels).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yasminarafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location was perfect. There was an elevator from the train station to the front of the hotel so that we did not have to walk all the street with our luggage.
The breakfast was good.
The rooms were clean.
The windows were sound proof.

Room Tip: Our room faced the train station. Believe me no noise! I had left my watch at home. The clock of the...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hguvenir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.8 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
570 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 21 in La Spezia
427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary

Address: Via Fiume 177, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range: $78 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to La Spezia Central Train Station, the family-run Hotel Mary offers easy access to the city’s attractions and surrounding areas. It comes with comfortable rooms and free Wi-Fi. Rooms are comfortable and fully-equipped, ideal to unwind after an active day. They come with air conditioning, a private bathroom with shower, and TV. The breakfast buffet is served every morning in the breakfast room. This morning treat includes hot and cold drinks, homemade yogurt, and cakes. Hotel Mary also offers a 24-hour reception, where you can get information on the major tourist attractions. Guests can take trip boats to the Cinque Terre villages at the harbour located a 20-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary La Spezia
Mary Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing