We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location for Cinque Terre, but 50 € is too much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mary to your Saves list
Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiume 177, 19100 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location for Cinque Terre, but 50 € is too much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

In front of the train station, walking distance to city center ( nice and mostly traffic free) and to the bus stop for Portovenere. 15 minutes walk to the Boat for the touristic line to Cinque Terre.

Staff welcoming, the highest point of the Hotel.

Not so good single room - number 39, single room. For 50 €/night (april 2013) I really expect a bed which is not only 80 cm wide or walls and bath made as in a very cheap/old Recreational vehicle.

The room is in the back, so no noise at all from the train station or busy street in front.

Next time I visit Cinque Terre I will look around for alternative accomodations in La Spezia, but if I am not finding anything of better value ( price is a primary concern for me and La Spezia doesn't seem to offer cheap accomodations...) it is very likely I am to return and stay here again after all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimi_thing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    93
    82
    35
    13
See reviews for
42
80
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
215 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Got given a room with four beds for the two of us so plenty of space.
Ask for a room facing the courtyard so you can keep the windows open.
Rooms are basic but clean.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Wifi worked, although I had to keep logging in.
The location just outside the railway station is brilliant for exploring Cinque Terre. Mind that there is actually a life from the station down to the street. So stairs can be avoided.
Breakfast was the usual fare. My only complaint is that the breakfast area needs a proper deep clean. Everything a bit manky with finger prints, crumbs, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Blue_Sea_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and really liked it. The staff are very helpful in all areas. I was having trouble with my Kindle Fire and Luca, who was the day desk man, sorted it all out for me. He and Paula were able to tell us the best way to get around by train and looked up the schedule for us, letting us know that some of the stations were closed. They were able to tell us good, affordable places to eat and the best places the see while we were in the other villages. The breakfast was good, the cappuccino excellent. Everything was clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again when we return to that area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed three nights the summer of 2008.
This hotel is very dull and old. The room was a bit prisonlike :-) Essentially you get what you pay for. A room to sleep in. But the location is very good. Not far from the train station or La Spezi a`s main street. It is a perfect base for exploring Cinque Terre.

The man in the reception: The owner? Anyway, he made my stay here. He was Basil Fawlty`s lazy brother. "aa you want to pay for another night already? aaa then I have use the credi card machine...We can wait until tomorrow" And he actually sighed loudly. He was hilarious. Everytime I went though the reception area he sat in the lounge watching TV.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiiigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel was clean, staff were very friendly and helpful, with travel advice and service. There was an excellent comprehensive breakfast provided and the hotel is very convenient to the La Spezia train station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucerias, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location across from the train station and great price. The room was spacious and very clean and breakfast was good. We used this hotel as a base to commute to Cinque Terre villages. I would recommend La Spezia as the accommodations are cheaper, lots of activities in the evening and easy access to Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieandMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#2 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#6 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.5 mi away
My One Hotel La Spezia
My One Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary

Property: Mary
Address: Via Fiume 177, 19100 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary La Spezia
Mary Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing