We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should get more for the price”
Review of Hotel Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mary
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You should get more for the price”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Room was huge with a small bathroom. You couldn't open the window to the room because it overlooked the main street. Breakfast was edible. They could do with fresh bread/rolls though. Upside - across from the train station. Not noisy at all. Walking distance into town and shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MONIKA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    124
    93
    35
    14
See reviews for
56
97
52
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shelby township mi
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Pretty much a dump but ran by a lovely kind and helpful family. The mother and father were very kind but spoke little english but the son was very helpful.They were good about giving directions with maps and such.

Went with my mom and boyfriend and my mom got a separte room. When she walked into her 1 tiny room it looked like a jail cell. She walked right out and asked to sleep in our room. We arrived at night and it was very sketchy. Didn't look very safe.

Only upside is the location location location. Train station is literally right across the street. If your loooking for a cheap semi not so safe place. Stay here.

We woke up at 615 am to check out smooth check out, however we went to go get breakfast and clearly they did not clean up from evening before because there were bugs in the dining room. Pretty nasty.

Also, only upside is wifi did work and if it doesnt for whereever you are in the tiny hotel they do have a pretty fast computer in lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Spezia hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BritishColumbia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed the night prior to our visit to Cinque Terre. Arrived on the train from Florence - like other said - ignore the Google instructions they will send you on an extended route (not handy if you have a lot of luggage). Just exit the station and (with back to station) walk forward across road in front of station until you find a set of stairs (any of the 3 or so sets will do). From the bottom of the stairs you should see the hotel - either right in front of you or slightly to left or right (depending on which set of stairs you took). We were a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers). The rooms are large by European standards - we got a large double and 2 singles (as requested). Breakfast was decent - croissants, jams, coffee machine (latte, cappucino etc), fruit, cheese etc. Hotel staff was very helpful - we were given map of city, train & ferry schedule for Cinque Terre upon checking in. We left early the next morning and purchased a 10Euro combined Cinque Terre (hiking pass) / regionale train pass from the ticket office at the train station (not sure what time they open but they were already open when we arrived just after 7:30am). There is a little plaza with restaurants / gelatto shops just a few minutes on foot from the hotel - we chose the first restaurant on the right side (not a wise choice - food was so so and service was friendly but poor - my daughter's tortellini came first, she ate before the second meal arrived - my son's hamburger and fries - which turned out to be a hamburger patty with shredded carrotts - when we asked about the bun and fries - they did bring us bread (which was fine) and then - the fries - which were good but 10-15 minutes after the burger. Again, he finished his meal and then mine came and after I had finished my salad, my husband's spagetti arrived. Our appetizer never did arrive). Food was fine, but due to the service issues I would suggest trying a restaurant further down the piazza. The gelatto shop further down the plaza was very good. I should also mention that the hotel does have baggage storage (if you are hiking Cinque Terre you will likely need to leave you bags here for the day and then hop across from the train station to pick them up after you hike).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tudorsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

During our European Adventures we stopped off in La Spezia for 3 days as we both wanted to visit Cinque Terre. This hotel is located only a brief walk to the La Spezia C train station which is the main reason for choosing this hotel. The staff are very friendly and more than happy to help with directions and train schedules when planning your day trips to Cinque Terre or Portfofino. The breakfast is enough to get you going for the day with a number of choices. The rooms are also clean, comfortable and serviced daily and the hotel is a 5 min walk to local restaurants (just be aware that they are closed during the afternoon for their siesta). They also have free internet use which came in handy when booking hotels ahead of time. Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DStran12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We like the fact that the hotel is located very near the train station. Google map gives a longer route so don't follow its directions. When you come out from La Spezia station, with your back facing the station, look out for an elevator (not accessible at late night). It'll bring you to street level and you'll see Hotel Mary across the road on your left. There's also another staircase further down the road which is accessible at all times. The hotel has an elevator so we didn't have to carry our luggages up the stairs. The hotel staffs were helpful and provided us with map and train schedule (may not be up to date as the train was not available at certain timings and we ended up waiting at the station for more than an hour). Our room looked new and nice while the bathroom was clean with hot shower. Breakfast was decent with sufficient variety of food. We were rather pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The family run jewel of the town. Air-conditioned, good sized rooms and central to cheap and excellent quality restaurants. To add, a short walk (10 minutes) to the port to take you to Cinque Terre. If you're not one for a boat ride, the train station is directly across the road which can cater for you to go and see Cinque Terre!

Breakfast is enough to fuel you through till afternoon and the staff are more than ready to assist you in anything you may need!

Only downside of the stay would be that the wi-fi in the outer rooms wasn't very reliable, however this is coming from a 20 year old, so I can say that this problem would certainly not be a problem for some haha. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We chose Mary because ti was so close to the station and we could set out on our daily trips to the Cinue Terre and we had not great expectations. However it proved to be a fine hotel. The room was large and the bathroom spacious perhaps because it was set up for disabled clients (high toilet bowl and seat in shower). The breakfast was great with self service coffee and juices, ham and cheese and lovely yogurt and set us up for our days walking in the villages. Pleasant service, daily cleaning, wifi available and convenience to the station and the town. For what we were looking for it exceeded our expectations, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.8 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
561 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 21 in La Spezia
416 reviews
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary

Property: Hotel Mary
Address: Via Fiume 177, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to La Spezia Central Train Station, the family-run Hotel Mary offers easy access to the city’s attractions and surrounding areas. It comes with comfortable rooms and free Wi-Fi. Rooms are comfortable and fully-equipped, ideal to unwind after an active day. They come with air conditioning, a private bathroom with shower, and TV. The breakfast buffet is served every morning in the breakfast room. This morning treat includes hot and cold drinks, homemade yogurt, and cakes. Hotel Mary also offers a 24-hour reception, where you can get information on the major tourist attractions. Guests can take trip boats to the Cinque Terre villages at the harbour located a 20-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary La Spezia
Mary Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing