We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, really convenient”
Review of Hotel Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mary
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We chose Mary because ti was so close to the station and we could set out on our daily trips to the Cinue Terre and we had not great expectations. However it proved to be a fine hotel. The room was large and the bathroom spacious perhaps because it was set up for disabled clients (high toilet bowl and seat in shower). The breakfast was great with self service coffee and juices, ham and cheese and lovely yogurt and set us up for our days walking in the villages. Pleasant service, daily cleaning, wifi available and convenience to the station and the town. For what we were looking for it exceeded our expectations, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 335 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

Although the Hotel Mary is not "charming", we booked it mostly for it's convenience to the train station in La Spezia-and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly, helpful and gracious and best of all, our room and bathroom were huge, by Italian standards! (The framed "art" on our walls, Tweety and Bugs Bunny, were just added giggles.) We were quite pleased to be able to spread out by our 8th day of traveling the country. The hotel's proximity to the train station was fabulous-not only for getting to/from Cinque Terre (15-20 minutes via the local), but for our early departure for the next leg of our journey. Breakfast was typical and adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rnerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We arrived in Pisa at midday with no bookings made. As we wanted to visit Cinque Terre we decided to stay in La Spezia and had planned to get a room from the information tourist office at the station, however, it was closed. Trudging along with our suitcases the Mary Hotel was very conveinently located about 5 mins from the railway station and as there was a room for the 3 nights we required for 73 Euros a night which included breakfast and free wifi, we decided to take it, even though we were concerned about the noise aspect as it was on the road side of the street.

However, despite the good sized room being very clean, with a great en suite, the road noise was dreadful. We could not open our windows for the noise, but we did somehow manage to sleep ok, as the bed was very comfortable and our ear plugs obviously worked too. The breakfast was great - lots of choices. Value for money, this hotel was not too bad, but the best feature was the closeness to the railway station which made tripping into Cinque Terre on the train very easy.

Did not think the staff were overly friendly, but they did just enough - no frills! The free wi fi was a bit hit and miss. However, I would definitely recommend you ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel unless you do not mind the sound of noisy motor scooters and cars barping their horns all day and night!

Overall, not a bad choice of hotel if you don't mind the noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel - quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriV V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I selected this hotel based on proximity to the station. I didn't know where near or in CInque Terre I'd be going. With that in mind, this was a very good choice for me. Clean, comfortable rooms, great pressure in the shower, nice enough breakfast, and good location with regard to local services. The staff was helpful albeit not particularly warm. Only hitch was that Internet access in the rooms was a selling point, but it was very very weak; you have to go into the lobby area or stairwells to get a decent signal -- not very convenient. At one point there were several of us wandering the halls, bumping into one another, looking for a signal and laughing about it. Buses, trains, and ferries get you to where you need to go pretty predictably and affordably. If you know where you want to stay in CInque Terre and are OK with being a bit more remote, you can get a room with a view for about the same price here; but for convenience, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceerig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel was fabulous from the second we walked in! The people at reception were always so friendly, attentive and helpful. Immediately after check-in we were offered assistance with maps and the password to WiFi, and we didn't even have to ask.

The rooms are extremely large, the bathrooms a little less so, but still comfortable (although it was a little hard to get in and out of the shower because it's a tight corner). The only negative comment I could give about the room is that there were a few ants in there when we arrived, but not enough to really concern us. Regardless, the next day we returned to our hotel in the afternoon to find the room thoroughly cleaned and fumigated (the cleaners even opened the window to air out the fumes, but were smart enough to close the shutters so no bugs would fly in).

The location was perfect, right across from the train station but practically no street noise, and only a short walk into the lovely centre of La Spezia. It's a great base for exploring Cinque Terre. There is also a fantastic and incredibly cheap restaurant across the road that I highly recommend, called Ristorante Roma.

We would definitely stay here again, compared to other so called "three-star" hotels in Europe this one deserves at least a four-star rating!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara_mynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We arrived at the hotel around 7:30 PM. We were shocked by what we saw. Elderly people were fed in their wheelchairs in the breakfast room. It was more like a old folks home than a 3 *hotel. We paid 140 Euro for a triple per night. We expected a 3* hotel standard. The rooms were basic, so was the breakfast. The coffee from the coffee machine tasted sour. There is NOTHING pleasant about the hotel. We couldn't wait to get out, We checked out the hotel at 7AM. Horrible Hotel !

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 404Chriswong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This hotel was one of the last available on my selected dates, but the room was so small, and right on the street. The bathroom was so small, I could barely fit into the room, and definately could not close the door. So much street noise. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and it looked as though they were making improvements to the property. The location is good, just across from the train station, and close to the downtown area. I just would have preferred a comfortable room. I would only stay agian if improvements were made

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelsrandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
582 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
747 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary

Address: Via Fiume 177, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range: $66 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to La Spezia Central Train Station, the family-run Hotel Mary offers easy access to the city’s attractions and surrounding areas. It comes with comfortable rooms and free Wi-Fi. Rooms are comfortable and fully-equipped, ideal to unwind after an active day. They come with air conditioning, a private bathroom with shower, and TV. The breakfast buffet is served every morning in the breakfast room. This morning treat includes hot and cold drinks, homemade yogurt, and cakes. Hotel Mary also offers a 24-hour reception, where you can get information on the major tourist attractions. Guests can take trip boats to the Cinque Terre villages at the harbour located a 20-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary La Spezia
Mary Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing