We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find”
Review of Hotel Nella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nella
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
374 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here for two nights exploring Portovenere, La Spezia and of course, Cinque Terre. Located high above the town of La Spezia, this hotel offers clean and spacious room, comfortable beds and very good breakfast. What makes this place outstanding is the friendly and wonderful staff. English is not problem here. The front desk personnel was wonderful providing excursion tips (free parking lot in La Spezia, how to take trains/boats to/from Cinque Terre, etc.). I can't say anthing more positive than to say it's a great place. Free private parking and Wifi are great additions to this great place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 808MikeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    89
    35
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
96
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We spent two nights here touring the 5 villages. The hotel is a great option!! Very,very quiet, it sits In a semi-rural setting a couple miles above La Spezia. The room was spotless and quiet with a wonderful breakfast offered in the morning. We walked the hills surrounding the hotel. The owner speaks flawless English, he is very organized and helpful, ask him any questions about the CT and he will know the answers! La Spezia is a tad gritty so it was great to stay here, and drive down the hill into the town....free parking at the hotel and in town and a 10 min train ride lands you T village number one! Easy-Peary! We had no trouble finding this hotel with our GPS. Highly recommended! Try the local pizzeria across,the street! Good salads and pasta!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelforfunSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele M, Proprietario at Hotel Nella, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that the location, despite the distance from La Spezia, was to his liking.

All of us are more than happy to help our guests feels at home and not just customers in a hotel; we know how important it is for you to have all the infomation in order to enjoy the best all our area.

Thank you again for choosing us and I hope to be able to have you back soon as our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt.Olive
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel was a perfect spot to stay when visiting Cinque Terre. Keepers where helpful and friendly. Breakfast was normal European style but it was very hard to find, especially arriving at night. More signage would be a major positive. While the room itself was average the shower was rather nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mt_OliveHappygirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele M, Proprietario at Hotel Nella, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

I'll keep in mind your advice and I will improve the signs to reach us.

Thank you again for choosing us and I hope to be able to have you back soon as our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Traveling without a GPS-probably foolish- we were not sure we were going to find this hotel. The Via Genova is a winding road complete with many hills and tunnels so common in this part of Italy. When we finally did find the hotel we were very pleased with what we found. The host spoke perfect English which made it very easy and pleasant for us. The rooms were clean, attractive and large by European standards. The beds were just ok. We had a room with a small balcony overlooking a pretty valley. Our host recommended a restaurant that we could walk to which had very good food. The hotel is enough out of the busyness of the city to enable a pleasant walk along wooded country roads for some exercise in the morning. Our breakfast, in a pleasant setting, was more than adequate.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small balcony overlooking the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed there a couple of nights when I was on the way for Cinque Terre. The hotel had extra friendly and helpful staff, makes you feel very welcome. Neighborhood was quiet. Breakfast was great and the rooms clean and comfortable. The hotel was a good value for given money. Cinque Terre is very accessible when travelling with a car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonaMaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at hotel Nella for one week. It was an ideal location to visit the Cinque Terre and tour the Ligurian coast in our hired car. The hotel was very good value for money. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made you feel welcome and at home in the hotel. The hotel was spotlessly clean, so well done to the cleaning staff. The continental breakfast was ideal. The only negative point we could comment on was the mattress was a bit on the hard side. Otherwise we would recommend this hotel as a good short stay location for the area. The pizzeria 'La Foce' opposite the hotel serves very good pizza (agree with Megngrish's comment) and the staff are very friendly. Thank you to all the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Hotel Nella is a reasonable hotel. We had two rooms - one was a regular rooms that we would rate as middle-of-the-road (nice way of saying average) and the other one well...I couldn't call it anything less than a tarted-up broom closet.

Looking at the good aspects of the hotel, we found the staff very friendly and helpful with all requests. This includes the breakfast staff who provide a pretty good breakfast and make proper Italian coffee for you. That was a bonus given our late arrival the night before.

Furthermore, the Wi-Fi Internet was quite fast so for any heavy work (video conferencing, etc) this was excellent. There is also quite a large secure car park across the road. The security is simply a boom gate that manages ingress and egress however at least you're car will be there in the morning.

The regular room was reasonably sized and the beds were okay to sleep on. Many rooms have a balcony and some have a better perspective and balcony equipment than others.
Unfortunately, onto the no-so-good aspects of the hotel. There were a couple of rooms that (as I said) looked like tarted-up broom closets. They had two single beds with a small bathroom and small window. The average rooms we found to be a little dated and the bathrooms was small there as well.

If we visited La Spezia again, I would stay at Hotel Nella if there was nothing else available or if I was just passing through (as we did this time) but I certainly wouldn't stay for any length of time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
2.0 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Locanda Dal Moccia
Locanda Dal Moccia
#10 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nella

Property: Hotel Nella
Address: Via Genova 591, 19134, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nella 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1921 and run by the same family ever since, Hotel Nella is nestled in the green hills overlooking the Gulf of La Spezia, just a few kilometers from the city center, in a quiet, peaceful environment. Its strategic location makes it easy to reach downtown La Spezia and all of the area's major tourist sites, while also offering a favored position for visiting the picturesque villages of Liguria's hinterland. Featuring a dedicated and personalized service, it is the ideal destination for planning your stay to discover the "Cinque Terre National Park", a UNESCO World Heritage site, and Portovenere and its islands, or to spend a quiet day at the sea on the sandy beaches of Lerici and San Terenzo.- All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, Sky TV, and free Wi-Fi- Large, free, private parking available, also for tour buses- 5 km from the ferry boat boarding pier with services to the Cinque Terre and Portofino- 4 km from the La Spezia train station, with trains to the Cinque Terre, Genoa, Pisa, and Florence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Nella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nella Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing