We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nella
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Traveling without a GPS-probably foolish- we were not sure we were going to find this hotel. The Via Genova is a winding road complete with many hills and tunnels so common in this part of Italy. When we finally did find the hotel we were very pleased with what we found. The host spoke perfect English which made it very easy and pleasant for us. The rooms were clean, attractive and large by European standards. The beds were just ok. We had a room with a small balcony overlooking a pretty valley. Our host recommended a restaurant that we could walk to which had very good food. The hotel is enough out of the busyness of the city to enable a pleasant walk along wooded country roads for some exercise in the morning. Our breakfast, in a pleasant setting, was more than adequate.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small balcony overlooking the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    82
    33
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
92
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed there a couple of nights when I was on the way for Cinque Terre. The hotel had extra friendly and helpful staff, makes you feel very welcome. Neighborhood was quiet. Breakfast was great and the rooms clean and comfortable. The hotel was a good value for given money. Cinque Terre is very accessible when travelling with a car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonaMaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at hotel Nella for one week. It was an ideal location to visit the Cinque Terre and tour the Ligurian coast in our hired car. The hotel was very good value for money. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made you feel welcome and at home in the hotel. The hotel was spotlessly clean, so well done to the cleaning staff. The continental breakfast was ideal. The only negative point we could comment on was the mattress was a bit on the hard side. Otherwise we would recommend this hotel as a good short stay location for the area. The pizzeria 'La Foce' opposite the hotel serves very good pizza (agree with Megngrish's comment) and the staff are very friendly. Thank you to all the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Hotel Nella is a reasonable hotel. We had two rooms - one was a regular rooms that we would rate as middle-of-the-road (nice way of saying average) and the other one well...I couldn't call it anything less than a tarted-up broom closet.

Looking at the good aspects of the hotel, we found the staff very friendly and helpful with all requests. This includes the breakfast staff who provide a pretty good breakfast and make proper Italian coffee for you. That was a bonus given our late arrival the night before.

Furthermore, the Wi-Fi Internet was quite fast so for any heavy work (video conferencing, etc) this was excellent. There is also quite a large secure car park across the road. The security is simply a boom gate that manages ingress and egress however at least you're car will be there in the morning.

The regular room was reasonably sized and the beds were okay to sleep on. Many rooms have a balcony and some have a better perspective and balcony equipment than others.
Unfortunately, onto the no-so-good aspects of the hotel. There were a couple of rooms that (as I said) looked like tarted-up broom closets. They had two single beds with a small bathroom and small window. The average rooms we found to be a little dated and the bathrooms was small there as well.

If we visited La Spezia again, I would stay at Hotel Nella if there was nothing else available or if I was just passing through (as we did this time) but I certainly wouldn't stay for any length of time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed by a lovely lady who showed us to our rooms despite the late hour. Car was parked opposite the hotel in a private parking lot & we were ready to get some rest. However, we could a couple from somewhere in the hotel murming & talking for an hour which kept us awake. Apart from this, the couple that travelled with us slept on two single beds, one was slanting downwards & the other not so comfortable. We were fortunate to be given the room with the double bed & balcony. Breakfast was plentiful with coffee or hot beverages made by staff & the location was up on a bit of a hill away from any sort of commotion.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Up in the mountains, not far from downtown, this beautiful hotel was a perfect place to stay. We were able to book a standard room for ourselves (clean, large and comfortable) as well as an economy size room (small, which we knew ahead of time, but workable) for our 2 boys, 11 and 15. Balcony rooms are also available, but cannot be booked on all websites. (Contact the hotel.) The price was excellent for the area and the breakfast was impressive (homemade cappuccino, meat, cheese pastries, etc.) In addition, the best pizza we had in Italy was found across the street in a local bar.

The owner manned the desk upon our arrival, helping us plan our day to Cinque Terre. (He speaks perfect English and French- In fact, most of the customers during our stay were French) He also stored our luggage. The remaining women who minds the desk was also EXTREMELY helpful to us when we couldn't find our hotel for the next evening. She really went out of her way and we are forever in her debt.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank megngrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele M, Proprietario at Hotel Nella, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that the location, despite the distance from La Spezia, was to his liking.

All of us are more than happy to help our guests feels at home and not just customers in a hotel; we know how important it is for you to have all the infomation in order to enjoy the best all our area.

Thank you again for choosing us and I hope to be able to have you back soon as our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I live in Italy and were fortunate enough to have her mother come in for a month or two. While she was here we finally had a chance to get away for our 7th anniversary. My wife and I looked and looked for a place at the last minute....and she finally got tired of looking and picked Hotel Nella.

The hotel was an amazing value and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were small...but only to someone who has not lived in Europe (the hotel rooms generally are small in Europe).

I liked the town that the hotel was in very much. We drove to the hotel so we had more freedom and not constrained by the lack of not having a car.

The bed in the room where we stayed was decent...at first we were worried as it was two twins put together to make a full. However, it was fine--especially how tired we were every night. Not a five star bed.

I will say that there is great food in the area. We went to a restaurant in a town called Caste that had this little restaurant in which I have finally found food that out does Olive Garden. The lasagna there was amazing and would drive there again just to taste the fine and rich texture of the amazing dish (name is not is not important as it is the only restaurant in the town of Caste....yes, go up the stairs; it looks and sounds like someone's home but it is the restaurant). Across the street there is a old pizzeria that is informal and clean with satisfying food. After hiking the hills if cinque terra you will enjoy the quiet sanctity of the area around the hotel....you will be tired.

Nightlife is not near that I could tell, but the pizzeria across the street has decent wine and provides a good setting for nice conversation with the spouse.

I would really enjoy going there again. There is no better value or location--in my opinion--depending on your transportation assets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Free1974a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
2.3 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#6 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
2.2 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
1.6 mi away
Locanda Dal Moccia
Locanda Dal Moccia
#8 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nella

Property: Hotel Nella
Address: Via Genova 591, 19134 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nella 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1921 and run by the same family ever since, Hotel Nella is nestled in the green hills overlooking the Gulf of La Spezia, just a few kilometers from the city center, in a quiet, peaceful environment. Its strategic location makes it easy to reach downtown La Spezia and all of the area's major tourist sites, while also offering a favored position for visiting the picturesque villages of Liguria's hinterland. Featuring a dedicated and personalized service, it is the ideal destination for planning your stay to discover the "Cinque Terre National Park", a UNESCO World Heritage site, and Portovenere and its islands, or to spend a quiet day at the sea on the sandy beaches of Lerici and San Terenzo.- All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, Sky TV, and free Wi-Fi- Large, free, private parking available, also for tour buses- 5 km from the ferry boat boarding pier with services to the Cinque Terre and Portofino- 4 km from the La Spezia train station, with trains to the Cinque Terre, Genoa, Pisa, and Florence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Nella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nella Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing