We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel especially if you have car”
Review of Hotel Ghironi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ghironi
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Yokohama, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Great value hotel especially if you have car”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Having struggled to find accomodation in the centre of La Spezia, we ended up booking 2 nights at Hotel Ghironi. It was a very nice hotel but further out than we had expected. If you have a car then I would definitely recommend it as it is close to being 4 stars based on the other 3 star hotels we had stayed at in Italy. To get to the hotel from the train station, you will either need to catch a cab or pre arrange and book a seat on the hotel's shuttle bus which is an 8 seated van. There is however a bus stop about 100 metres from the hotel that takes you into the centre or to other parts of the Lingurian Coast like the lovely San Terezano or Lerice. ( look for the "L" bus) You can buy a bus ticket from the nearby tabaccheria not far from the bus stop.

The hotel foyer is nicely decorated with antiques and Turkish rugs. Our triple room was nice, very clean with a decent size bathroom. The women on the front desk spoke excellent English
and were very helpful providing us with maps and recommendations.
Breakfast was good with a varied selection of pastries, fruit, cereal, ham and cheese and bread rolls, juice and tea and coffee. There is a shuttle service that takes you into town and can pick you up however it operates on the hour and you need to book in advance to secure a spot as it gets full pretty quickly having only 8 seats. Always book the night before if you want the shuttle to take you the next day to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathCPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    183
    109
    33
    16
See reviews for
90
147
12
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Deciding to stay in La Spezia for our two days in the Cinque Terre was a GREAT idea. All my research and worrying about finding the "perfect" accessible, quaint, reasonable accomodation in Vernazza or another town was unnecessary. La Spezia's access to the quick trains was ideal and much less stressful than hauling 3 suitcases up and down extreme inclines and turns. Hotel Ghirone was VERY helpful when we had an unexpected banking/transfer need and they drove us by shuttle to the bank. The shuttle is a drop off and pick up at the train station several times a day shuttle..the information needs to be more clear at the time of reservation. We took a city bus home from the city center at night and were uncomfortable with the areas we walked through. The hotel, rooms, breakfast, email etc are very comfortable. Our room and bathroom were very large, simply furnished but quiet and comfortable. We would stay there again and greatly appreciate the helpful staff.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with "garden" view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaPapaArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking but were still unaware of how limited the shuttle bus service was. We telephoned ahead to say when we would arrive at the station. The next shuttle was a couple of hours after our arrival and was fully booked, another one was available a half an hour later. We were tired after a long journey and took the bus. Outside the station the L to Lerici (or the S). Fare was 1.90 each and the bus driver put us off at the right stop (Orgia Vecchia). But it was Sunday there was nothing open and no-one about and no sign to the hotel so it took a long time to find it with cases. The next day we wanted to visit the Cinque Terre and tried to book the shuttle bus - the times we wanted were already booked so we had to go a little later. We didn't get tickets for the Cinque Terre from the hotel - it is best to go to the Cinque Terre info office at the station because there are lots of options with tickets - walking only, or walking with the trains and electric buses and you can get 1 day or 2 day tickets. We had a 2 day ticket so we could hop on and hop off the trains and walk some of the trails between the villages. The hotel - it is quite a distance from the staton and in the middle of a quite built up area - part residential, a college next door and bounded by a busy road - virtually a motorway on another side. It was quite noisy with lots of scooters around early morning. There is a nice seafood restaurant nearby which was recommended by the hotel Il Mitili where the bus drops off. This is on the seafront but it is not possible to see any of the sea, because this is the big container port with big fences. Breakfast was OK choice of hot and cold plates and fruit. First morning when we had a slightly later start the fruit was all gone as was all the hot food. I personally couldn't drink the black tea - it was quite bitter tasting, but had fortunately taken my own tea bags. (Not something I expect to have to do in a 4 star hotel). It was not as nice or friendly as the 3 star, where we had stayed in Florence - the Hotel Machiavelli. Our room at Ghironi was quite small. There are just a few (3 I think) shuttle slots in the morning and a few in the evening to/from the station or the port. So beware of booking the hotel and expecting the shuttle to be available when you arrive or to be convenient for your departure. As it happened we wanted to catch the 9.35 train to Pisa on departure and so booked the 9.10 shuttle the first one for that day - which was perfect - but we had to book it a few days in advance. If you need to catch a train any earlier you would have to have a taxi. The shuttle bus takes just 7 people at a time. This hotel is better for guests with cars.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed at Ghironi at end of August (very hot) with 2 teenage children. Easy to find and convenient for getting on off main routes to other destinations. Staff excellent. Gave excellent advice about Cinque Terre for at least 15 mins on arrival. Unfortunately we had just missed last free shuttle but they gave directions to nearby bus stop and we paid 1 euro for ticket to train station which was 10/15 mins ride away. They provide a free shuttle to pick-up in evenings from near the train station as well, which we took advantage of. Rooms large, clean with air-con. Good continental breakfast with hot options - lots to choose from. Very good price for area. Would fully recommend. Don't forget to validate your Cinque Terre train ticket at the station otherwise you get fined!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tijjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We liked the hotel. The room and bathroom were quite large. Very quiet. Nice garden. Good breaksfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucciia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The front desk lady was fantastic. She knew everything we asked her, very good English, and had many excellent recommendations. The room was very large, very clean. Free internet stations on the main floor. Excellent breakfast. The hotel is easy to find from the highway with lots of parking available.

I would stay in La Spezia if you plan on going to Cinque Terre. Don't do what we did and stay in Cinque Terre. There is a bus that goes from La Spezia to Cinque Terre and it is a 15 minute ride. From there you can go to any Cinque Terre town by train.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadatraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The first remembrance is of the semi-formal breakfast served there. Very unexpected quality. They even gave us leftovers that we had for lunch which we ate in Cinque Terre nearby. A nearby restaurant, Sole Mio, was a wonderful treat, very downhome and excellent food with an amiable host. We looked for gelato, but the only gelateria we found was at a local church where a local Scout fundraiser was in full bore. Nice local flavor! The hotel was a little hard to find by bus. Better to take a cab from the train station unless you don't mind a 20 minute bus ride and a little walk!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
1.1 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,053 reviews
1.4 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
308 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 21 in La Spezia
308 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ghironi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ghironi

Property: Hotel Ghironi
Address: Via del Tino 62, 19126, La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ghironi 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel staff are available 24 hours a day to assist you and can provide you with tourist information. There is also a free shuttle service that can bring you to the train station or the La Spezia harbour where you can take a boat to Cinque Terre, one of Italy’s most famous coastlines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ghironi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghironi Hotel La Spezia
Ghironi La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing