We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, quiet, handy place with helpful proprietor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Affittacamere La Spezia Inn
Ranked #35 of 123 La Spezia B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, handy place with helpful proprietor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This B&B place is about 5 minutes’ walk from La Spezia Central Station.
Entrance is not right on Via Torino but at the end of a short cul-de-sac that branches off that street. So it can easily be missed.
From the street, its front appearance is not very appealing. Guest entrance is by a very narrow and short door, next to a large metal gate for cars. After entering that entrance, you walk across a small car park, climb about 10 steps of stairs, walk about 10m along a timber covered walkway before you get to the reception, which is just a desk at the top of a corridor. All 5 bedrooms run off one side and the far end of that corridor.
We stayed in a 3-bed room. Its condition is OK, nothing flashy. It is quiet, clean and adequate for us, a couple and an adult daughter. Room amenities are basic, air-conditioned, a small flat screen TV on table, a small bar fridge, plastic cups.
Beddings are comfortable. The private bath room is spacious with a bidet, shower but no bath tub, clean towels. The shower recess has a fold-down plastic seat (presumably for the frail to use). Toiletries consist mainly of shampoo and shower gel sachets.
All windows look onto those of neighboring apartments across the street. Curtains are flimsy but there are shutters to provide privacy.
Apart from the 5 bedrooms, there are no other facilities at the place. No lounge or kitchen. On the wall above the reception desk, there are posted timetables for trains to Cinque Terre and boats to Portovenere and the islands nearby. There are not many maps and tourist info leaflets about the attractions in the town or surrounding localities available. WIfi is free.
There is a small super market that sells fruits and most essentials just about 50m away, on the other side of the street.
There is a coin-operated self-service Laundromat just a few minutes’ walk away, on Via Fiume, at the roundabout on the way to the station.
There are plenty of cafes, restaurants, shops within the walking distance. La Spezia harbour is about 15-20 minutes’ walk away.
The room price includes breakfast which you can take in a café nearby. However it is Italian breakfast which consists of only a drink and a piece of pastry. So do not expect much for the ‘breakfast included’ bit.
The proprietor, Maria, does not live on the premises and is there to do the cleaning in the morning, when you arrive if you inform her beforehand your expected time of arrival, or when you have problems and ring her up.
Maria speaks perfect English (as she lived in the UK before), very friendly and extremely helpful. When you need anything, she goes out of her way trying to help you. Before you arrive, she sends you an email containing the map of the place and asking for your arrival time so that she can be there to check you in. Her husband (?) is normally with her also to help bring your luggage up the stairs.
With the price you pay do not expect anything luxurious. If you only look for a clean, quiet place just for sleeping that is close to the station, shops and restaurants then this place is quite acceptable.
We stayed there for 3 nights to visit Cinque Terre and Portovenere. We have no complaints about the place. It offered us an opportunity to have some glimpse of the living condition of the local Italians.
The best thing to say about the place is perhaps the friendliness and helpfulness of the proprietor. It would have been a great place if it has a more pleasant and easier access and if some tea/coffee making facilities are available in the rooms or, if not, communally.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms of different sizes on the same floor, so there is not much choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TeeTeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in September. The location of the B&B is very close to the train station, which is very important as you would be taking a lot of trains while visiting Cinque Terre. The B&B itself is located at the end of a street, it looks a bit questionable from the outside. But the inside is nicely remodeled and rennovated. The owner assured us that it is a safe place to be walking around at night. The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast is a typical Italian cappuccino + coffee, served at a cafe couple fo blocks from the B&B. We enjoyed the morning walk to the cafe. The owner was very friendly and resourceful. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Its important to let the owner know the approximate time of your arrival at the hotel. She lives off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funtravel_rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Well, i wanted to visited the CInque Terre park and needed a place to stay for the night. As the hotels and rooms in the cities of Cinque Terre turned out to be very expensive, i opted for La Spezia (Inn) as an alternative base. And it turned out to be a good decision.

La Spezia itself is a pretty okay town, nothing special, but not as touristy as the Cinque Terre towns. The Inn is located no more than 5 minutes away from the main station, which makes it handy as a base for visit of the CQ Park (there is at least one train to CQ at each hour). Its a bit tucked away from the street and not soo easy to find, as it is basically just some rooms in a backyard of a house. You will need to squeeze yourself through a very narrow metal door after you arrived and climb up some stairs (no elevator, i'm afraid) to get to the rooms. Once you are there you will notice, that there are only 4 or 5 rooms, thats's it.

Well, so, this is not a hotel, not even a real bed and breakfast. But, the charming owners make up a lot. Especially the female owner (Maria ?) is very good with the English language, very helpful and very friendly. So is her husband, but he is much better in Italian, than in English, but also very friendly and helpful in any way. So, to sum it up, they will make you feel like you are being in good hands.

The rooms on the other hand are perfectly clean, but rather basic, i'm afraid. While the bedroom was pretty good, with a small desk, a small tv and a wardrobe (only missing a few power sockets, that why they give you a power distributer), the bathroom was feeling a bit less nice. Actually i don't like bathrooms with a shower curtain, as it always feels a bit unsanitary. As i said before, the rooms are very clean, it just gives me an uneasy feeling. Another problem that i had was that there was only cold water (a problem that should occur more and more often in the following days). The owner told me that i probably switched of the water heater in the bathroom while trying to turn on the lights. Well, that might well be the case, but then please mark the switch so that people will know ! It would have saved me a cold shower.

The last thing that i would like to point out to everybody who needs a strong wifi signal, is that the signal at the last room is very, very weak. So if you need Wifi, you might think about using another place or go to the reception area (only a desk) to do what you have to do.

Overall i found the place pretty decent, a clean place, with good beds, not noisy (important in Italy !) at night, with friendly owners, okay bathrooms and a bit quirky way to the rooms from the street. The location is pretty good and they also have a good restaurant around the corner (something like "La Tavernetta", which has surprisingly good tourist menus and also a japanese (not the vietnamese one) restaurant besides it, which has good quality japanese food and an all you can eat sushi buffet).

Well, and whats most important, it's a lot cheaper than the Cinque Terrre Hotels and a day ticket to the park is only 10 EUR including all day train travel between La Spezia and the Cinque Terre towns. Unbeatable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3d-razor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed for 1 night.Anna the owner was very helpful and spoke very good English.The room and bathroom were very clean.There was air conditioning and a TV in the room.Very convenient for town.There is a very cheap supermarket down the road for snacks and drinks.I will try to go back next year as I felt the value for money was excellent

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castello17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My friends and I stayed here in early August, and we loved it! It is very convenient, only a 5 minute walk to the train station, and very close to the town with shopping and night life. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and we were grateful for the air conditioning. It was really affordable, and included breakfast in a nearby cafe. Maria the owner was really gracious and helped us with everything we needed. I would definitely stay here again when I come back to visit the Cinque Terre area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punky1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at this b&b the week it was open under new management, and I was really impressed: the room I was in was really cosy, very clean and quiet. The location is perfect (only 3 min walk to the train station, travelling by train is the best way to visit Le Cinque Terre), and breakfast was served at a nearby cafe. Italians do not seem to eat much for breakfast though (a hot drink of fruit juice and a croissant were included in the room price), so I bought a breakfast voucher of 2.50 euros to top it up, and I got a really nice breakfast with yogurt, cereals bread and butter with jams and great coffee. The couple running the place were extremely helpful, the lady owner speaks perfect english and that helped a lot to find my way around the area. 5 well deserved stars, would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank My_Travels134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I am used to travelling in Europe for short visits, where I'm content with functional, mostly plain establishments. They do their job ok and everyone is content. But this small and happy B&B deserves a special mention! For what it offers and what you pay, I think it has earned 5 stars.

It's a short walk from the railway station but far enough that there is no problem with any noise. The room was normal sized and the bathroom was perfectly adequate. But what gave me a really big smile was the way it was presented ... the whole room felt like it had been given personal attention. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, and the decoration was carefully and thoughtfully done. There was a kind of colour-balance that added peacefulness to the room.

I believe the owners are new here, and they have spent good time on redecoration. They were perfectly charming and it felt as though they were inviting me into part of their own home. Even the hallway felt like it was there to make you feel relaxed!

There is good internet access too. Breakfast (like many places in the town) was served at a nearby cafe and the traditional Italian coffee and croissant was included in the room price. If you fancy the full whack, it's 3.5 euros for a voucher. And yes, the bed was very comfortable! I highly recommend this place ... I will be back again next time I visit the area.

Jack Brodie

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.0 mi away
Affittacamere Altamarea
Affittacamere Altamarea
#21 of 123 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere Casa Dane
Affittacamere Casa Dane
#2 of 123 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Branda affittacamere
La Branda affittacamere
#42 of 123 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Affittacamere Del Prione
Affittacamere Del Prione
#16 of 123 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Casa Celsi
B&B Casa Celsi
#31 of 123 in La Spezia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sweet Dreams
Sweet Dreams
#47 of 123 in La Spezia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affittacamere La Spezia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affittacamere La Spezia Inn

Property: Affittacamere La Spezia Inn
Address: Via Torino 46, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Spezia Inn is a new guest house located in the town centre very close to the train station, which makes it a perfect base for visiting the nearby beauties such as Le Cinque Terre, Lerici and Portovenere.Each room comes with en suite bathroom and air conditioning, tv and free broadband. A good breakfast is offered in a cafe' nearby, only 2 min walk from the b&b. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Affittacamere La Spezia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing