We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable evening”

Ristorante Il Bastione
Ranked #62 of 435 Restaurants in La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We just had a marvelous dinner at Il Bastione! When we arrived, I requested the owner, Roberto, to recommend wine and dinner. He brought over 3 bottles of wine, and described each after he asked if we planned to have meat or fish. His recommendation led us to choose a Valpolicello Classico as we wished to have fish. He then brought over the fresh fish, and recommended a style of preparation. I stated that we also wanted a primo, and he described 3 pasta choices. We chose a Spaghetti ai fruitti di mare, and a homemade tagliarini with tiny seppie, cuttlefish in its own ink. They were exquisite! The secondo was a whole branzino baked with potatoes, another standout. Desserts were sweet, and my husband ate both- a flourless chocolate torte and a cheesecake (very light, like a panacotta) with fresh strawberries.
It was one of the best meals that we have had in 6 trips to Italy! Roberto mans the front while his wife, Julia, and her sister Tanya do the cooking. All are very sweet and want to please. We saw several other meals, including a wonderful looking ravioli, and a fritto Misto of fresh fish. All of the food is fresh and thoughtfully prepared.
If you are ever in La Spezia, to base there to go to the Cinque Terra, or for any reason, I highly recommend Il Bastione for a wonderful meal!

Thank debmanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto V, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ristorante Il Bastione, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014
Google Translation

Ringrazio i signori per le belle parole e la minuziosità e precisione riguardanti la serata trascorsa nel nostro locale. Il turista per noi è una risorsa e non una spugna da spremere. Cerchiamo sempre di metterli a loro agio e soprattutto di farli rimanere contenti del nostro cibo. Se si ricordano di noi parlando con i loro amici è una piccola soddisfazione in più che ci dà conforto e voglia di lavorare con serietà.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Ristorante Il Bastione
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 190 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

The food was so good the first night we went back our second night after traipsing through all 5 Cinque Terre towns our one full day in the Cinque Terre area. The sauce on the penne pasta with Norwegian lobster in particular was one dish we had both nights. On the first night I had a very fresh fish as my second plate, cooked perfectly. On the second night my wife again had the penne pasta with Norwegian lobster as noted earlier while I had spaghetti with mussels that was also excellent.

Thank Sherpadad54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto V, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ristorante Il Bastione, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014
Google Translation

Grazie per tutto quello che avete scritto. Ci teniamo molto a farvi sentire come a casa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have been travelling trough France, Switzerland, and Italy over 4 weeks eating at restaurants 3 times a day. By far the best restaurant so far. Service was fantastic and the food was by far the best we have eaten in Europe. Fresh home made ravioli, locally caught seafood with fine wine to match. Wish we were here another night. Made our La Spezia/Cinque Terre holiday so very much better.

Simon & Sarah

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank simon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto V, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ristorante Il Bastione, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014
Google Translation

Ringraziamo per i complimenti che ci avete rivolto. Siamo contenti di avervi fatto passare una bella serata. Per noi i turisti sono importanti al pari dei nostri clienti abituali. Ci teniamo ad accontentare tutti facendo al meglio il nostro mestiere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Of all the restaurants we've visited during this trip, this was by far the best! Cannot find better or more authentic cuisine

Thank Maggiej0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto V, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ristorante Il Bastione, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014
Google Translation

Grazie per le belle parole. L'apprezzamento dei clienti per noi è fondamentale e ci danno un motivo in più per riuscire a far passare a loro una bella serata.
Grazie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very welcoming family run restaurant. Really good food and very friendly service. A little out of the way but like most good Italian restaurants it is down a narrow alley. We visited Il Bastione twice, the first for just one drink but stayed for a Limoncello. Were talked into coming back for dinner and we were glad we did. The extended family were there that night and also spoke to us even though their English was not good and our Italian was worse. We had a great night.

Seafood is a specialty,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WillCopacabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Bastione also viewed

La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
 
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
 
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
 

Been to Ristorante Il Bastione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing