We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Sydney, Australia.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed at Hotel Firenze for two nights in September, and had a wonderful time. The hotel is only moments walk from the main train station, which was convenient when we arrived by train from Florence. To access the Cinque Terra, it was very easy to just walk a few moments back to the train station each day and jump on the train line that drops tourists off at each of the five main villages.

Our room was clean and had a charming view out over La Spezia. The breakfast room was cute and there was a good variety of choices in the buffet selection. The staff were great - they cheekily held back giving us our room keys each day until we (poorly) tried to ricite to them the room number in Italian - plenty of laughs all round.

As has been mentioned in previous reviews of this hotel, the family run restaurant across the road is fantastic. My fiance proposed to me along Via Dell' Amore on the first night, and we returned by train to this wonderful restaurant and were not disappointed. The homemade ravioli, veal with lemon sauce, and marinated mussels were divine!!!

If you are up for it, walking the path between each of the five villages along the Cinque Terra is definitely a must. We started at the fifth town Monterosso around 10.30am, stopped often along the way for shopping, lunch, a swim, and dinner, and finished at the last town at 8.30pm. Incredible!!

A great two days!

  • Liked — Convenient location, Italian charm
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Marnie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    299
    127
    30
    10
See reviews for
104
339
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2008

One of my favorite stops while on a pre booked tour. The hotel had the feel of a 4 star hotel. Beautiful reception and lounge area, Nice sized room, comfortable beds, excellent bathroom (large shower). Best breakfast I had while on 3 week trip through Europe. Not to mention the view from the top floor breakfast terrace.

The proximity to the train station made it a perfect location, short walk, easily visible. Our group stayed there as a launching pad for a day trip of hiking through Cinque Terre. Anyone planning to visit Cinque Terre but not wanting to stay in pensiones in one of the villages should consider staying here.

  • Liked — Location, very well maintained
  • Disliked — Expensive internet access
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

Arrive in La Spezia I was very concerned about the hotel, infact was going to change it at the last minute. I am really glad i didn't, i requested a room on the highest floor with a balcony, the balcony was really big only down side it overlooked the train station- however there was very little noise from the trains.

The hotel is a 3 minute walk frem the station ideal if you like to travel to the surrounding areas of cinque terre by train.

The room was very spacious and was the standard of a 4 star hotel very well furnished. However the air con was terrible and basically circulated the hot air around the room.

The breakfast was a good choice of cereals, breads, pastries etc and the breakfast room had an excellent veiw of la spezia.

La Spezia has a lovely port area and a good selection of shops all within 10 min walk from hotel. The Cinque Terre is easily reached within a 20min train journey and are a must to visit- . Also hop on a local bus (1.10 euro) or a boat trip to Porto Venere this is a lovely fishing harbour nicer than portofino- great place for lunch and an itailan ice cream.

Overall loved this part of italy as this was a 4 centred holiday starting from Genoa, Rapallo, La Spezia and Florence. As always the food was excellent in Italy.

  • Liked — The spacious room with balcony and location next to train station
  • Disliked — air con- what air con???
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank loopylou1559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

When entering this hotel, it smelled very musty. However the décor was wonderful and you were swept back to the 1930’s. The room and bathroom were delightful and despite being in a scruffy part of town i.e. overlooking the railway line, the double glazing in the room kept out any unwanted noise.
However we found the receptionist on our arrival very unhelpful and grim. We had to park our car in the hotel’s car park which was situated about 500 metres from the hotel and was entered by means of a barrier. The hotel receptionist knew that we were parking there but refused to open the barrier and my husband had to telephone me on his mobile to ask reception if they would kindly let him into the car park.
I have to say though on departure, a different receptionist was on duty and he could not have been more helpful. I think this hotel has lost its way and I am surprised it gets any tourists staying there. This is not a town I would recommend however close it is to the cinque terre it is as I am sure there are better places to stay.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Reception staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lornai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

The hotel has excellent location nearby railway station. Good and cheap base camp if you want to explore Cinque Terre. It takes only 7 minutes by train to Riomaggiore, which is closest of five villages and 24 mins to Monterosso. Other three villages are located between these two.

Firenze e Continentale is three star hotel, which practically means breakfast, & dinner facilities and simple bar combined to standard rooms with A/C. Hotel contains two different buildings. Older one has bigger rooms like ours (see photos). We paid 100 euros per night including breakfast. Newer building has smaller rooms and lower rates (85e). But do not get wrong idea since newer building is at least 50 years old as well.

Even hotel is located just 150 meters from the Railway station you will not hear passing trains nor other traffic. Our room was 2nd floor (number 24) and our window towards the street and the railway. Still it was extremely silent during the night.

Superior room was larger than standard but in the bathroom the shower could be little too tiny for bigger people (see photos). There was a small fridge in the room but no minibar. Safe was installed but not operational.

A/C worked fine and we kept it on during nights as well. Room temperature was between 24-26C (75-78F). That was ok for us but maybe not enough for all. A/C was older model probably tech of 80's. Room had small 15" flat-screen TV (analog). No CNN but BBC World with teletext.

Breakfast was served in Sala Attico on 6th floor of the newer building. There are small elevators in both buildings but only to 5th floor so you need to climb one more to reach Sala Attico. Breakfast was better than average in Italy especially in two or three star hotels. There was even scrambled eggs and eggs to boil. Fresh croissants, few different toasts and a toaster, ham&cheese and fresh fruits instead of packed goodies were a pleasant surprise.

There is possibility to use hotels computer but the rate is 4 euros per 30 mins. Cheaper Cafeteria with Internet section in located prox 300 meters away in the city's pedestrian area. Their rate is only 1 euro per 15 mins.

Even La Spezia is not a tourist city the pedestrian zone is pretty large and its western end is only 150 meters from the hotel. You will find more than half a dozen restaurants and a dozen cafeterias and bars from this quite lovely area. Prices are cheaper than in the Cinque Terre villages. Best cafe for us was Zanzibar and worst La ReServe. First one had second best tapas we got during our week in the area and second took overprice from the foreigners.

Main taxi station of the city is located outside of the hotel's main entrance. Busses are needed if you want to travel cheap to Portovenere. You will find bus stop near the main market place not more than 500-600 meters from the hotel.

Last but not least facility nearby in self service laundry (Laundrette Mezzona La Spezia Cinque Terre) just around the corner. Eight kilos of laundry wash and dry just 7 euros in 70 mins. They have two 8kg washing machines and two 14kg. Two dryers are 18kg.

English is widely spoken in this part of Italy. Railway announcement are also made in English as well as most of other vital information. Hotel Firenze e Continentale is really good choice if you don't need sea view, swimming pool or balcony and are willing to take short train ride before entering Cinque Terre.

  • Liked — Location near the railway station and good breakfast
  • Disliked — No balcony, pool or view
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JanneSiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

You cannot fault this hotel for the location - literally a stone's throw away from the railway station, plus the breakfast was pretty good for Italy.

Unfortunately, that's as far as I would go for the plus-side - they class themselves as 4* but I would say it is more 2*. The room was a very odd set-up and had no natural light, bed and pillows hard and lumpy and bathroom had cracked tiles and horrible hospital lighting.

Had it been cheaper, I could probably put up with these (it's all about managing expectations).

However, on our second day we can back from Le Cinque Terre to find our bedroom door hadn't been closed properly by the cleaner (and we know that we had left it locked) with the bed left unmade. Fortunately nothing had been taken, but it could have been so easy for someone to go in as we were right by the stairs. The reception staff were not at all apologetic or concerned.

Overall, a very disappointing place to stay - there's no way I'd stay again. La Spezia isn't a particularly nice town and has gangs of young men hanging arund throughout the centre at night, which also had few places to eat.

We'd recommend going up to stay in Levanto - a lovely resort the other side of Le Cinque Terre and included in the rail pass for the area (and closer to places like Santa Margherita and Portafino, which are nice for a day-trip).

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn_and_Troy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

This hotel is very handy for La Spezia's railway station and hence for getting out to the Cinque Terre villages. The station has a Cinque Terre info office from where you can buy the combined Cinque Terre card and train tickets - its worth buying it the night before, as the morning queue is awful, as are the crowds for the early trains.

The hotel has a good range of amenities including a decent free breakfast, a bar that serves hot/cold evening snack meals, a secure enclosed car park (18 euros a night, so not cheap!) and staff that are friendly and helpful. The public areas are generally comfortable, if a little old-fashioned.

My double room was rather disappointing. It had a gloomy decor, a squeaky floor that made the wardrobe creak every time I took a step, and a bland bathroom. The window had shutters that couldn't be opened. It was also rather noisy as it faced a main busy road heading into the town centre. Admittedly, it quietened down a lot later at night, but early sleepers could find it disturbing.

The hotel was reasonable value but I wouldn't want to stay for more than a night or two - its saved by its location opposite the station and its short distance from the town centre.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stevie390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#10 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Property: Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing