We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good gateway to Cinque Terre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Fairly expensive when only a superior room is available at the time of your stay... Parking is also extra (25Euro/day... ouch!)... However, this hotel is right at the train station: PERFECT for back-and-forth travel to the Cinque Terre villages!
Superior room was really big (with a really small bathroom) and had a nice terrace to boot! Breakfast is served in a "penthouse' room on the top and has an interesting view of La Spezia. Good breakfast choices.
If you want to take the boat to Cinque Terre, the port is a 15min walk from the Hotel, at a fast pace.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 758 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel is opposite the train station and yes there is little or no noise from the trains. We booked a standard twin/dbl and in hindsight we should have booked a superior. The standard rooms are at the back of the hotel and this faces/overlooks a street that is actually the main entry point into the town area, so it is noisy day & night. I guess the suoerior rooms overlook the streeet leading to the train station which is not a through street.
The hotel is actually very pleasant inside with an "old world" feel with several lounge area with comfy sofas, wood panelling and a bar. The staff on the front desk werevery helpful at all times, even directions to the nearest laundrette (out the front door,turn right to the crossover on the street and there it is !) Room was clean and the linen also. The bathroom was excellent with new fittings and quite spacious. Breakfast is available at a rooftop room and was really good with lots of choices. As well as opposite the train station the hotel is at the top of the main pedestrian street with lots of eating places, shops and leads to the waterfront. We stayed in La Spezia so we could access the Cinque Terra by train, check with the Cinque Terra tour office in the train station first for maps/info and train timetable before buying the train ticket at the ticket office next door. Sadly all the paths were closed due to damage from a huge storm the night before but we were still able to visit all 5 villages by using the train, albiet with some careful planning. Well worth the effort.

Room Tip: email the hotel and find out about a quiet room before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce48Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel as a leg of our 2 week drive around Northern/Western Italy. Ideal location if you plan to spend most of your time exploring the wonders of Cinque Terre being so close to the station and also public parking.
We stayed in a superior room, but the bathroom certainly surprised us. Very narrow with an extremely small/tiny shower.
Not sure if all the rooms have a similar issue, but you might like to check. Otherwise the room was fine.
Front desk tendered to offer just the basic/minimum help, but we found that in many of the hotels we stayed at in Italy.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nigths at the start of our Headwater Highlights of Tuscany walking tour. The hotel is well located and most parts of the city are within easy walking distance. Lots of places to explore, including the harbour and city centre. Nicely appointed with friendly staff, the hotel provided a good place to unwind. The breakfast room on the top floor provided great views of the city and surrounding hills. The only drawback was the wi-fi service, which could only be accessed from the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We didn't spend much time in the Hotel Firenze during our two night stay in La Spezia. Good food spots near the hotel, a nice walk (15 - 20 min.) to the ferry boat to Cinque Terra and right next to the train station. A very good place to base visits to Cinque Terra. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was basic and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Sky Lounge is located on the rooftop of the Hotel Continentale in Florence, Italy. It is literally across the street from the Ponte Vecchia. The views of the city are spectacular at night. We went mid October so it was cool and the fire torches were on. VERY romantic. They serve small appetizers when you order drinks so the value is good as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a sub-Motel 6 situation.

If you're at the La Spezia train station, this place is about as convenient as it gets. Walk out, turn left, walk about 50 paces and you're there.

But aside from location, everything else about our stay was lacking.

The elevator holds one person, max.

Our bed was made up of two rigid twins pushed together.

Our air conditioner started squealing in the middle of the night. Loudly. I had to get up and turn it off just to go back to sleep.

The wi-fi only works in the lobby.

If you need a hotel around here, jump back on the train and go to Monterosso al Mare and stay at Hotel Villa Steno. It's roughly 5 billion times better than this nightmare.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BowmanInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,142 reviews
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#10 of 21 in La Spezia
336 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range: $90 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing