We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy location for Cinque Terre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Handy location for Cinque Terre”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We were able to check in early, to a nice room only a very short (1min) walk from the train station.
Best to ask for rooms away from the lift, but otherwise great. The breakfast was great with a wide variety on offer.
They had just upgraded the wifi which maybe why ours was bad, but they thanked us for letting them know so they could fix it. It's room by room connections.
Very handy for exploring the Cinque Terre without having lift suitcases up stairs...

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoykieOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    311
    127
    31
    10
See reviews for
105
351
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely old building right near the train station which gives you great access to the Cinque Terre. Bedroom was very nice and comfortable with nice beds and a nice bathroom. Breakfast was hard to find but once you did it was right at the top of the hotel with a nice view and good food to start the day. Staff where nice and helpful and overall was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jono O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here three nights while we visited the Cinque Terre. It's located just a couple of minutes walk from the railway station, no noise from the trains in our room. Staff were very helpful and the building has retained its charm and character. Rooms were a good size and modern en Suite shower room. Our only criticism was that shower head was too big for the cubicle and there was nowhere to hide from the shower. Overall a great hotel to stay in while visiting the Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon by the Sea, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I were joined by our two adult daughters in a two night stay at this hotel. It was recommended and arranged by our travel agent as the gateway to Cinque Terre and leaving the area.
Located directly across the street from the train station, we had a one stop train trip to Cinque Terre, a convenient return spot after a long day touring (returned 11pm), then a one minute walk to get our train to Pisa the next morning.
As far as the hotel, it was really basic, the rooms were drab and the bathroom was retro-fitted into the room. It was clean.
We spent two nights because we arrived in the area late the first day, and left immediately the third morning.
We spent virtually no time in the hotel except with our eyes closed and asleep.
Note: Free Wi-fi is available in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwoavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Chose this hotel for its location close to railway station for our trek to Cinque Terre and we
weren't disappointed. Staff lovely, historic building with old world charm. Rooms were good
size with modern but small bathroom. Breakfast was located on the roof terrace which had
lovely views & enjoyed breakfast very much because of its fresh local produce. Just 5 minutes
walk down the street was a wide selection of restaurants. This hotel did offer parking but our
large van wouldn't fit, the hotel staff advised us of parking at the railway station next door.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 50young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

A bit of olde worlde class about this hotel. Lovely comfortable lounges with great armchairs and sofas. Nice big room with all mod cons. We had room 15 which had it's own outdoor terrace, delightful to sit there with a book and a coffee. The only problem was the tiny bathroom. All new fittings, very nice, and good quality toiletries, but the shower cubicle was very tiny and the toilet was in a corner so you had to sit on it sideways. The bed was on the firm side, as is the case in man hotels worldwide. An excellent breakfast buffet upstairs, lovely views and you can get a good cappuccino if you ask, rather than the usual percolated coffee. Very close to the station, but not noisy. Plenty of shops and eating places nearby. Friendly and professional staff. A very good place to stay for visiting Cinque Terre

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ouestmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TENNESSEE
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Hotel is to your left about one block when you exit the front of the train station. Rooms are clean. Bathroom is nice. Internet service in room is very poor. You have to go to lobby area to get decent service. Breakfast is good and to my amazement they actually have a coffee service at breakfast where you can poor your own cup and not wait for a waitress to bring it to you? TV in room-2 English channels-Bloomberg and BBC. Apparently no hotels in Italy have Fox News or ESPN.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor away from the street. Breakfast is served on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRONMANTENNESSEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Property: Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing