We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st class and a very short walk from the train station!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Hamden, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“1st class and a very short walk from the train station!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wonderful property. Well appointed lobby, helpful front desk, modern rooms, clean. 30 seconds from the train station but you don't hear the trains.

The food was good and the buffet breakfast was made to order for the most part.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    299
    127
    30
    10
See reviews for
104
339
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent two nights in a fourth floor room facing the road, just a base for touring the Cinque Terre (lower level trails closed!). The hotel is visible from the train station and easy to reach. The room suffered a bit from road noise but was clean and with two single beds. The public rooms are better than one would expect at a three star hotel. The waitress in the bar is exceptional, remembering on the second night what we wanted to drink before dinner and our room number. The front desk staff are great. The breakfast buffet is pleasant.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room on the quiet side, which faces a cul-de-sac,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob2885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
258 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Right by the train station so it makes an excellent base camp for hiking Cinque Terre. Others swear that while hiking the coast you should stay in one of the 5 costal villages, but I disagree, La Spezia is a little more off the beaten path and rides the fine line between touristy and local. You can still walk a short distance for an excellent, inexpensive meal, the ATM's are not bi-lingual and local kids kick soccer balls in the square. Check in was easy, kind of confusing when the clerk told us where our rooms are and where breakfast was, but after one go, it all made sense. The breakfast was good and offered a wide array of choices, beds comfortable and room and bathroom were spacious. Decor was very nice. Train nearby can take you to Cinque Terre in minutes and is easy to follow. Only issue I had was it was a bit warm so I had the windows open and there was a lot of road noise and train traffic.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms on the north east side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HemisphereRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Quite a surprise for a 3 star hotel in Europe!! Stayed two nights while attending a wedding in Massa Carrera and reception in La Spezia. Help could not have been more accomodating,helping with the bride,family and friends. Convenient to train station and Cinque Terre. Room was comfortable and buffet breakfast,very nice!!

Room Tip: in the rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chisyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuross Head, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We chose to stay at Hotel Firenze & Contentale La Spezia for 3 nights because of its convenient location 5 minutes walking distance from La Spezia railway station where we used the local trains to visit the 5 villages of the Cinque Terra. Our room was comfortable and well furnished and the buffet breakfast was good. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the centre of the town where there is a good choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst exploring the walks in the Cinque Terre. The hotel is literally steps away from the main train station (extremely convenient for getting in and out of the Cinque Terre and other destinations) and it leads directly to the pedestrianised walking streets of the downtown area. There are a few decent and reasonably priced restaurants nearby, and it is a pleasant walk down to the marina if you are headed to the Cinque Terre by ferry.

The hotel: we were warmly greeted by reception staff each time we left or entered the hotel. There was free wifi only in the reception/lounge areas on the ground floor (you could pay for wifi if you wanted it in the room, but we didn't need to). The lift was tiny - it only just fits two people with two suitcases! Breakfast was included, however we left the hotel early each morning to start our hikes in the Cinque Terre so we did not stay to try the hotel breakfast.

The room: we had a room on the top floor with a balcony and views over the rooftops of La Spezia (and the train station - although again, it was not noisy!). The room size was fairly large by European standards with a large cupboard for storage and multiple powerpoints for charging devices. The beds were comfortable. There was no fridge or minibar. The windows opened to the balcony and had beautiful old-fashioned drapes. There was also an extra external light-blocking shutter which was great if you wanted to sleep in without being woken by the bright sun!

The bathroom: it was compact but functional. The shower had a large showerhead and the towels were large and absorbent.

Overall we loved the central and convenient location, the generous size of the room, and free wifi in the lounge (perfect for uploading photos and doing research about the next day's hikes). We didn't spend a huge amount of time in our room because we were busy touring the Cinque Terre, but if we came back to explore other hiking trails, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TashfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

As many other reviewers have mentioned, this hotel is great for getting the train and exploring Cinque Terre. The place itself is dated, and lifts make you think you're better off walking up the stairs, but the room we had, a suite, was of a good size and had been recently refurbished. So much so, it still smelt of glue from the laminate floor, there were no light bulbs in the bedside lamps, and there was no lock on the bathroom door. The bathroom also had a jacussi bath fitted, but it didn't work. Wifi only seems to work in the reception area.

Breakfast is served up on the top floor, and takes a bit of finding unless you're told where it is. Unlike some of the other reviews, we didn't have such good service from the staff. We found them rude and unhelpful, didn't tell us about where to find breakfast, or when it was served. They seemed distracted when we arrived, and ignorant every other time we said hello. Even a smile didn't seem to help.

They didn't seem overly bothered about room security as we handed our key in one morning for the day, to return back 10 minutes later to find it had been left on the front desk for anyone to pick up. Also had a problem with our safe - the maid came up and opened it. Not sure the maid having access to safe is quite the level of security I'd expect.

We'd prebooked parking, but it wasn't very clear where the car park was - for other travellers, you access it on the street behind the hotel, turning right about 100 metres after leaving the roundabout. Just be careful to not follow sat nav too closely or you'll end up stuck in the pedestrianised local streets in no time!

Looks a lot nicer on the website than it is in reality. It's OK, but this was a honeymoon trip, it didn't live up to expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room away from a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyDinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Yes, it’s true, your room has been recently refurbished and the Jacuzzi bath worked perfectly but for safety it is necessary to push a button before the use. I do regret you found the staff rude and unhelpful. We think it’s really important the staff behavior and we usually want the staff to participate in training programs; unfortunately, you know, we are all different but I think most of our staff is smiling and helpful. About the safe, the manager has the key and the staff use it only if it’s necessary and give the key back to the manager when the problem is solved. Don’t worry about it, it’s totally safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#10 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Property: Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing