We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to visit Cinque Terra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Tuross Head, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Convenient to visit Cinque Terra”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We chose to stay at Hotel Firenze & Contentale La Spezia for 3 nights because of its convenient location 5 minutes walking distance from La Spezia railway station where we used the local trains to visit the 5 villages of the Cinque Terra. Our room was comfortable and well furnished and the buffet breakfast was good. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the centre of the town where there is a good choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    323
    129
    31
    10
See reviews for
108
363
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst exploring the walks in the Cinque Terre. The hotel is literally steps away from the main train station (extremely convenient for getting in and out of the Cinque Terre and other destinations) and it leads directly to the pedestrianised walking streets of the downtown area. There are a few decent and reasonably priced restaurants nearby, and it is a pleasant walk down to the marina if you are headed to the Cinque Terre by ferry.

The hotel: we were warmly greeted by reception staff each time we left or entered the hotel. There was free wifi only in the reception/lounge areas on the ground floor (you could pay for wifi if you wanted it in the room, but we didn't need to). The lift was tiny - it only just fits two people with two suitcases! Breakfast was included, however we left the hotel early each morning to start our hikes in the Cinque Terre so we did not stay to try the hotel breakfast.

The room: we had a room on the top floor with a balcony and views over the rooftops of La Spezia (and the train station - although again, it was not noisy!). The room size was fairly large by European standards with a large cupboard for storage and multiple powerpoints for charging devices. The beds were comfortable. There was no fridge or minibar. The windows opened to the balcony and had beautiful old-fashioned drapes. There was also an extra external light-blocking shutter which was great if you wanted to sleep in without being woken by the bright sun!

The bathroom: it was compact but functional. The shower had a large showerhead and the towels were large and absorbent.

Overall we loved the central and convenient location, the generous size of the room, and free wifi in the lounge (perfect for uploading photos and doing research about the next day's hikes). We didn't spend a huge amount of time in our room because we were busy touring the Cinque Terre, but if we came back to explore other hiking trails, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

As many other reviewers have mentioned, this hotel is great for getting the train and exploring Cinque Terre. The place itself is dated, and lifts make you think you're better off walking up the stairs, but the room we had, a suite, was of a good size and had been recently refurbished. So much so, it still smelt of glue from the laminate floor, there were no light bulbs in the bedside lamps, and there was no lock on the bathroom door. The bathroom also had a jacussi bath fitted, but it didn't work. Wifi only seems to work in the reception area.

Breakfast is served up on the top floor, and takes a bit of finding unless you're told where it is. Unlike some of the other reviews, we didn't have such good service from the staff. We found them rude and unhelpful, didn't tell us about where to find breakfast, or when it was served. They seemed distracted when we arrived, and ignorant every other time we said hello. Even a smile didn't seem to help.

They didn't seem overly bothered about room security as we handed our key in one morning for the day, to return back 10 minutes later to find it had been left on the front desk for anyone to pick up. Also had a problem with our safe - the maid came up and opened it. Not sure the maid having access to safe is quite the level of security I'd expect.

We'd prebooked parking, but it wasn't very clear where the car park was - for other travellers, you access it on the street behind the hotel, turning right about 100 metres after leaving the roundabout. Just be careful to not follow sat nav too closely or you'll end up stuck in the pedestrianised local streets in no time!

Looks a lot nicer on the website than it is in reality. It's OK, but this was a honeymoon trip, it didn't live up to expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room away from a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyDinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Yes, it’s true, your room has been recently refurbished and the Jacuzzi bath worked perfectly but for safety it is necessary to push a button before the use. I do regret you found the staff rude and unhelpful. We think it’s really important the staff behavior and we usually want the staff to participate in training programs; unfortunately, you know, we are all different but I think most of our staff is smiling and helpful. About the safe, the manager has the key and the staff use it only if it’s necessary and give the key back to the manager when the problem is solved. Don’t worry about it, it’s totally safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and found it to be excellent for many reasons: great service; wonderful sized room that was clean and comfortable - and quiet; even CG Bigelow bath products, which were an unexpected surprise.

Breakfast was also excellent with a wide choice of pastries, cheeses, breads and juices, and very food coffee.

Even though we went at a busy holiday time, we did not notice the hotel to be packed. It is also next to the train station (though you don't hear the noise), making it an ideal location to tour Cinque Terre. Private parking is offered by the hotel.

The Osteria Della Corte - a restaurant nearby - is by far one of the best places (value for money) that we have eaten in a long time (we are foodies so this is serious!). The hotel is very reliable in recommending great restaurants.

La Spezia is nothing to see, but this hotel is a great base if you are visiting the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Family of 4 stayed April 2013. Wonderful hotel, directly opposite train station (access to Cinque Terre and travel to/from other destinations in Italy). Walking distance to all attractions in town. Friendly and very helpful staff - go above and beyond to help guests.Also great in recommending travel tips. Spotlessly clean rooms. Great lounge/bar areas for relaxation and wi-fi access. Rooms reasonably spacious and children had own twin room which they loved. Great breakfast. Excellent value for money in fantastic location. Highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If family, ask for rooms inter-connecting or next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
390 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We used La Spezia as a base to visit surrounding areas because of the great train connections.
The Firenze e Continentale was across from the station, and slightly to the left.

We had a superior twin room on the 3rd floor (room 34). The elevator was close by. The room was spotless, and there was ample wardrobe space, with a very small safe. We used one chair for luggage and a rack for the other suitcase, so we only had one chair on which to sit. The flat screen TV was very small. The bedside lamps were absolutely useless for reading. The updated bathroom was good, and the towels were fine. Amenities consisted of soap, conditioner and tissues. The beds were comfortable - just. The pillows were fine.

Wifi was free in public areas, and the signal was strong. We were offered 24 hours’ of free wifi access in our room for our 6 night stay.

Breakfast at the hotel was very ordinary compared to other hotels in which we stayed. Fruit consisted of whole apples and oranges or tough, dry prunes. There was a range of cereals and yoghurts. Scrambled eggs and prosciutto were cold, but eggs could be self-boiled. The bread in the north of Italy was uniformly disappointing. We didn’t sample the pastries, cheese or ham. Coffee in a large urn was undrinkable. At least, the lovely woman serving breakfast made excellent espresso on request.

The four public spaces on the ground floor were terrific for those who wanted a quiet spot to read or to access the free wifi. The bar was open each evening, and interesting bar snacks were served with drinks.

The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful, with special thanks to Arianna, who assisted my travelling companion to make an appointment with an excellent orthopaedic surgeon.

There was a laundrette around the corner and a great supermarket nearby - fruit, vegetables, a bread and cheese counter, lots of wines and beers etc. To get there, turn left at front of hotel, turn right at 1st roundabout, turn left at the next street, and the supermarket is about 2/3 way along the block on the right. It is called Dimeglio, on Via Torino.

I would be happy to stay at this hotel again because of the great location and exceptionally helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had booked on Lastminute.com @ when we arrived were told that they were full and had been booked for a month. There was an event on for the weekend & all accommodation in la spezia was fully booked. The management were great in contacting Last minute trying to resolve the situation & then began ringing around all the accommodation to find us a room. Then they drove us to the accommodation in their own vehicle and ensured everything was satisfactory. They obviously take pride in their reputation.

Room Tip: Did not get opportunity to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingtayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
I remember you perfectly. I really want to thank you for your comprehension. Fortunately similar situations happen so rarely, but when they happen, we usually behave in this way. I really hope to welcome you in our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
1,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#2 of 22 in La Spezia
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 22 in La Spezia
301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Nina
Villa Nina
#13 of 22 in La Spezia
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Property: Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing