We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Convenient” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Convenient”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We had four nights here and it was very convenient to the train to the cinque terre towns which were beautiful. Breakfast was ok and staff were very helpful and friendly, the bathrooms were small but hey how long are you in the bathroom? Overall we were satisfied with this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    269
    117
    30
    9
See reviews for
93
307
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Excellent for a 3 star hotel. Across the street from the train station for the Cinque Terre. Very nice breakfast room and breakfast. Friendly and accommodating front desk. Small, but clean room. The best place to stay a day trip to the Cinque Terre

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABQTVLLDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel, as we're are any travelers before us did - because of it's location right across the road from the La Spezia train station - the gateway to La Cinque Terre.
Staff were super friendly and helpful, and our room spacious and clean.
Breakfast was a feast and it's location on the top floor with a balcony was great.
The walk along La Cinque Terre coast put our fitness levels to the test on a hot day, and so a nice hotel close to the station at the end of the day was just we needed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel was very nice and in a good location. very close to the train station to go to Cinque Terre villages.. comfortable rooms, Beautiful breakfast too! On our honeymoon came for one night. In five minutes walk we reached the main attractions. staff very accommodating,

Room Tip: 3rd floor suite a bit noisey i the morning..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DjShahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Of course like most people, we chose this hotel for it's location to the train station into La Spezia and the local train to the Cinque Terre villages. My husband & I were there in September 2012 and found the staff very accommodating, recommending restaurants and safe places to walk at night and places to avoid. I cannot agree with LadyDoGa's review on so many levels. Let's face it, you are on holiday and aren't likely to be spending much time in your room. As you have said, the room was simple but clean, they were more than adequate. We stayed in several hotels in our 4 weeks away and it seems to be standard practice to hand the key back to reception when you leave for the day. So why was this such a drama? My advice is that next time you book a hotel, please read the accommodation facilities before booking and writing a review running down the hotel if you are disappointed. We would definately recommend this hotel for a short stay to visit the Cinque Terre. Happy travels.

Room Tip: There's nothing to compare. We were exhausted at the end of each day so slept soundlt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is ideally located in a safe area of La Spezia for those wishing to visit the Cinque Terre, Genoa, and the Lunigiana by train and Lerici by public bus as well as for exploring the city of La Spezia, which merits a visit. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable; the bathrooms are modern and impeccably clean. You can see the good taste of the management reflected in the choice of room furnishings from the drapes, tiled bathroom walls, fixtures and showerhead to the wooden panelled public areas that give a classy nautical feel to the hotel. The breakfast buffet is well presented with fresh pastries, organic yogurt, jams and honey, all served on nice china. I found the hotel staff welcoming and available to answer questions about how to get around, what to see and do, where to eat. I would recommend this hotel if you were in La Spezia for business or if you want to explore the Cinque Terre or Lerici.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
252 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights to visit Cinque Terre based on its close location to the rail station. In addition, the public parking adjacent to the station is very convenient. I found the hotel receptionist to be not so helpful and reluctant to say more than one or two words. The room is tiny even though it has a large window open to the street. The bath is the smallest I have experienced in Europe for a 3 star hotel. The breakfast is mediorcre at best and did not have a good cappucino machine like any modern hotels. I would have second thought about staying there should I go back there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
the size of rooms and toilets inside an hotel doesn't depend on the hotel manager's choice but it is established by the law, in fact there's an institution in charge who controls these aspects.
Our breakfast is completely handmade; if you'd like a cappuccino, do not hesitate to ask for it to our staff that will obviously serve it to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#6 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
My One Hotel La Spezia
My One Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mary
Mary
#11 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Property: Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing