We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We recently returned from an Italian vacation, and La Spezia was definitely one of our highlights.
The hotel facilities were very comfortable, the staff very accommodating , and the location was perfect. The hotel is located in a prime location, close to the train station, close the the piazza, restaurants, ferry services, taxi stand, all in walking distance.
The breakfast service was adequate, great value for the cost.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 753 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here recently with a group tour for two nights. We were most impressed with the location being so close to the railway station and within easy walking distance to catching the ferries. Being in the heart of the city and so close to the railway we were expecting it to be noisy as I gather others had found it to be. We were facing a back street and didn't have any noise whatsoever in the evening.
The one staff member who had to attend the breakfast had her work cut out. They need to get extra help in that area.
Rooms were big enough and clean. Beds comfortable.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the back streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisejackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Like always, I depend so much on Tripadvisor's travellers reviews and this hotel is really worth a try. It is conveniently located within walking distance to the train station, so if you're thinking of spending a day in Cinque Terre, I would highly recommend this hotel. Our room was kind of small but it was clean and breakfast was generous. Our room was facing the railroad tracks but I didn't hear the trains coming and going so basically we had a quiet night. The only thing which I wasn't so happy about was the hotel's garage which was situated at the backside of the hotel's parking lot which had a very narrow entrance that it took my husband two rounds to get our car in. Otherwise it is a good hotel and If I would go back to Cinque Terre again one day, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is its location close to the railway station. We had a Room on second floor facing the road and station, very very noisy!! Bathroom very tiny, no room to move, would not be good for a big person. Bed hard and uncomfortable. No air conditioner, no refrigerator, no safe, wifi available on ground floor in common room. Breakfast was a bit of a joke, dirty crockery and cutlery, constantly run out of items of food, only one staff in attendance. Worst of all we booked 7 months prior to stay and was confirmed by vendor 2 weeks before, when we arrived found that the hotel had cancelled our booking. However they had a room available but would not honor the early bird price forcing me to agree to an extra 50 euros per night. I now have a protracted refund issue with our online vendor. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
I apologize for my delay in replying to your review, but I received the reply from Expedia only a short time ago. I completely understand your disappointment at your arrival in our hotel, but as Expedia surely explained to you, what happened didn’t depend on us, but it was caused by a mistake made by your booking center. When Expedia faxed us your fully prepaid reservation, we tried to charge the total amount on your card but we failed, because the transaction was refused. We informed Expedia who would have sent us new credit card details after contacting you, but it sent us the cancellation in February 18th . You can perfectly understand that when you arrived, in September 12th, seven months later, the rate you opted had changed and, believe me, 50.00 Euro more was a favor rate, because we understood your disappointment. Anyway, your stay was compromised and you were too disappointed; even if you had had a better room, I think you wouldn’t have been satisfied. The hotel was almost fully booked and the standard room you had was the only one left; believe me when I say you are the first person who complained about the noise, the guests usually appreciate to be in town centre, near the main train station, but in a silent room thanks to soundproof windows. Anyway, the mattresses are new, all rooms have air conditioning; the minibar, even if not compulsory in a three stars hotel, is in our superior rooms and our breakfast is a very much appreciated service; it’s very abundant and it has a good variety of hot and cold drinks, teas, milk, yogurt, cheeses, eggs, biscuits, homemade cakes, jams, honey, cold cuts, a good choice of bread, organic and gluten free food, shortly a 4 stars breakfast.
I regret that your stay wasn't all that you expected and I do hope you could understand what happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you are planning on spending a lot of time in Cinque Terre this hotel can not be beaten for location, within a few hundred meters of the main station and an easy walk into the rest of town. Like most hotels in Italy the room is fairly small but with a decent bathroom and a great selection for breakfast. Internet in the lobby is free to use with plenty of comfortable couches. Also have to say a big thank you to Cecilia at the front desk, she was extremely helpful in assisting me with printing and scanning documents for me when I needed to send a contract back home even during a busy part of her day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel is about 30m from the train station. The hotel rooms are typically small European rooms but clean. The decor is a little tired but we do not spend a lot of time in our rooms when travelling. The breakfast that is included is a real breakfast lots of variety and a generous buffet.The staff are helpful but not overly friendly.The hotel is also located close to extensive shopping in a pedestrian only area.

Room Tip: You can ask for delux rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark2016-57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My comment will pertain only to the service we received at this hotel : Walter, the front desk attendant / night bartender was just awesome !! His service, knowledge and kindness was well appreciated after a long day at Cinque Terre !! Our party of 4 can't thank him enough and he should be commended on his representation of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoeSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for you stay at Hotel Firenze e Continentale and for sharing your positive opinion with us! We are delighted to forward your nice words to Walter as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#10 of 21 in La Spezia
335 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 7, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range: $88 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Firenze and Continentale in La Spezia dates back to the beginning of the last century and is today one of the premier luxury accommodations in this historical city that sits just at the foot of the Cinque Terre National Park.The elegant building's aristocratic feel is accentuated with quality decor, furnishings and other thoughtful complements including Carrara marble floors, Trompe l'Oeil murals, Mogano boiseries and hand beaten iron and brass lamps.A top quality 3 star hotel located in the historical city centre of La Spezia, the Hotel Firenze and Continentale is just a few short steps from the newly pedestrianized heart of the town and close to La Spezia Centrale train station, making for quick and easy connections to the Cinque Terre in a couple of minutes.Having undergone regular renovation since the first part of the 20th century, the Firenze and Continentale La Spezia is now regarded as one of the finest accommodations in the city while still maintaining the building's original architectural identity - typified by that liberty style grandeur of the pre-WWI era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firenze e Continentale Hotel
Firenze e Continentale La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing