We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, nice owner, far from the city center”
Review of Arianna Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arianna Hill House
Ranked #16 of 151 La Spezia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Pros:

BREAKFAST: good, served with a hot chocolat bread but not the best I ate in my trip (an automatic coffee machine).

BUSINESS CHAIN OR INDIVIDUAL OWNER: You do feel like it is an individual owner. Their English is ok, you won’t have any problem to ask for questions.

ROOMS: good size room, clean, bed comfortable, smell good in the place, AC working pretty well, no noise from outside (you are on a hill), special view great but cut because of the threes.

BATHROOM: a bit of moisture in the shower even if it is brand new and the water was accumulating in the shower as if the drain was stuck (but ends up draining the water once done with the shower. Pretty small bathroom, no hairdryer.
Reservation online without any problem.

CAR PARKING: Yes
SPECIAL PLUS: The owner prepares you information cards and you can grab books from his place to see what to do in the area.
SPECIAL PLUS: The view

Cons:
You need to arrive at the place between 2pm and 4pm, which is an inconvenient.
About 45 to 50 min walk from the Termini (train station), so you need a cab. However, if you come by train into La Spezia, the owner can arrange a lift from the train station to the B&B. Buses are not convenient. Hourly buses to the city center but buses from the city center to the B&B ends around 7pm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 126 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

amazing place run by amazing people! rooms are clean and cosy. the house is situated on a hill, it's a peaceful place with very nice patio and wonderful view on the golf. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We got a problem with our car and Fernando helped us quickly with finding a car service.
My advice: visit Portovenere! we liked it more than famous Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsi_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Fernando (our host) is a wonderful person, who was very caring for our wellbeing, gave us good tips on local restaurants and traveling in the Cinque Terre area. For us the drive up the hill was very ok, just a couple of kilometers from the city center. The property was very well kept, clean, newly renovated, very nicely decorated with a good neutral taste that I would assume pleases most people. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. The view from the rooms is just breathtaking. The service was fantastic and we felt most welcomed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is the best place to stay (B&B) in La Spezia, hands down! My only reservation from giving it, and its wonderful owner a perfect rating, is that it is a ways (up the mountain/hill) from downtown. If you have a car, look no further, you cannot find a better place to stay. Period. If you do not have a car, and even as great as Fernando is (i.e., as accommodating, knowledgeable and helpful on transportation issues), it is a long ways from city center (i.e., 11-14 euro cab ride). Look, this place is wonderful: clean, spacious (for Italy), nice rooms and views, good, solid breakfast food, and simply a GREAT, multilingual host (Fernando), and it is simply wonderful. I cannot give this a better rating than to say: STAY THERE! Just know you are not in the center of town.

Room Tip: It is awesome, you just need to consider transportation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcwbesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very well managed. Friendly owner. Comfortable rooms. Good breakfast. This was our second stay there and we like the location. It is a good base to visit the Cinque Terre (away from the crowds)....The B&B is a bit difficult to find, but once you are there, it is a little heaven.... It is just above la Spezia, in a quiet location. 5 minute drive to La Spezia. Thank you for accommodating our labrador....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank we_love_two_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Despite our fear of driving the hills around La Spezia we thoroughly enjoyed our recent four day stay at the Arianna Hill House. Our hosts Fernando and Alessia were incredibly friendly and helpful and the B&B was clean, beautifully decorated, spacious rooms and had great breakfasts and amazing views out onto the bay. Fernando was kind enough to drive us into town twice so that we could leave our car at the B&B. He was also a wealth of knowledge about the area, bus schedules, restaurants, hiking routes, etc. This location was great for enjoying the streets of La Spezia as well as the beautiful town of Portovenere and the Cinque Terre. We also had the best meal ever at a restaurant about 600 metres up the road from the hotel. We will recommend this beautiful and friendly B&B.

Room Tip: Beautiful view of the bay fro the front bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellowknifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Beautiful view, quite luxurious, a very nice property. The hosts Fernando and Alessia were the nicest ever. Fernando gave us a ride to the train station for our trip to Cinque Terre. The view from our room was astounding. The breakfast was completely perfect. It had all that I require (wifi, parking) and so much more. It's a bonus to be away from La Spezia, not a lot going on there. Stay out of the COOP Liguria (grocery store) near the train station. The hired help are extremely rude. Highly recommend Arianna Hill House.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
1.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
322 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#6 of 21 in La Spezia
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
3.3 mi away
B&B Villa Amaranta
B&B Villa Amaranta
#1 of 151 in La Spezia
519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Camere Nel Corso
Le Camere Nel Corso
#8 of 151 in La Spezia
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arianna Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arianna Hill House

Address: Via Vecchiora 37/c, 19133, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in La Spezia
Price Range: $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arianna Hill House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Arianna Hill House has of 5 nice rooms with sea view and is situated in a hill in front of our beautiful "Golfo dei Poeti", in an ideal position to reach destinations of national and international tourism, such as Lerici, Cinque Terre, Portovenere and Sarzana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arianna Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing