We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private atmosphere”

La Casa di Gabriella
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa di Gabriella
Ranked #126 of 151 La Spezia B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed the private atmosphere of the "appartment hotel".
One time warm water wouldn't work (next time it worked).
Wasn't so easy to find a restaurant nearby.
Breakfast (at the subcontracted restaurant) was simple - but that's the way it is in Italy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 27 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was the only booking we have ever walked away from. The owner was a no-show and the elevator was broken down. (The room was on the third floor and we are in our late 60's) It did not feel like a good part of town as we observed drunken men partying in the square in the early afternoon, one of whom stripped down to his underwear and cavorted in the fountain. After we contacted the booking agent, the owner sent over a woman and her young child to check the elevator, but she refused to go in it and try it out.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SML-WJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Due to a train strike we were unable to arrive on the determined time and therefore were not able to stay BUT HAD TO PAY FOR THE NIGHT!! Be sure to arrive before 8.00p.m. The owners lack of understanding and common sense in a case where there is not much one can do. I work in hotels myself and KNOW that there is always the possibility of offering other options. I would have loved to shift the date for one day and stay there ---

Additionally they informed me that they were going to release the night so in order a reservation came they would sell the room, hence don't loose any money. CHECKED twice on the reservation website and my boyfriend even called to check if they released the room - it was said to be occupied and SHE STILL CHARGED ME =(

If you arrive to the place it might be nice... I guess I will never know it myself.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Veronica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I think anyone considering this property needs to know a few things. It is not a hotel but a private apartment. It does not appear to be manned so there is no one there except during your check in time. There is also only a very small label on the buzzer/intercom system that lets you know you are there.

My experience has not been good. I booked through a reputable booking web site (booking.com) and the confirmation came through indicating a checking time of 3-5pm. There was also another section where there was just a date and no time. As a busy traveler I did not notice the time I was supposed to check in as I did not enter a time and I actually thought I was staying at a hotel. Anyway I show up outside the checking time of 3-5pm (around 7:30pm) to nothing. There was no response to many door bell rings and there was no response to a phone call or two. Eventually I managed to get inside the building and to the front door of the apartment. Again I could hear the door bell ringing but there was no response.

I had to find alternative accommodation which was not as hard as I thought.

The owner has decided to charge me as a no show so I am charged the full price of 70euro in this case. The booking web site is also not willing or supposedly able to do anything about it.
Given the strict check in times I would have appreciated some extra communication from the owner to indicate how strict they are. I would also have appreciated a phone call at 5pm or them answering the phone when I tried to call them.

A very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank pda976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My Sister and I stayed at la casa di Gabriella on the 24th of June. Our request to arrive early was kindly granted and the father of the owner met us outside of the aprtment and showed us to our room. He didn’t speak much English, but was helpful and kind.

The room itself was large and comfortable. The bed was a comfy king bed – the first one I had seen in Italy! The room had big windows and very nice clean décor. Our bathroom was very large for European standards, and as was the shower. It was a nice American style shower with sliding glass doors and adequate water pressure. The bathroom was well lit, and also had a washing machine should you need to do laundry while visiting.

The hotel is really a 3 room apartment, so as a result there Is no reception. If this is not something that bothers you, I highly recommend it because the rooms are large and clean and very close to the train station La Spezia. We used it as a base for Cinque Terre and thought it was perfect. If you have luggage, there is an elevator, which is an advantage over most of the cinque terre hotels.

Being on the 3rd floor, the room was also pretty quiet, I slept like a baby, and it was a Friday night. The room is equipped with a large Fan, which keeps it plenty cool.

We paid 80 euros for the night for the hotel, and felt this was a fair price for the area.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
3  Thank MidwestTravelAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank luisa28_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MarchisioDaniele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#10 of 21 in La Spezia
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.5 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
La Branda Brin
#95 of 151 in La Spezia
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Affittacamere Lunamar
Affittacamere Lunamar
#19 of 151 in La Spezia
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa di Gabriella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa di Gabriella

Address: Piazza Benedetto Brin 5, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in La Spezia
Price Range: $61 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Casa di Gabriella 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your La Casa di Gabriella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing