We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little place”
Review of Hotel Birillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Birillo
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed here for two nights en route to another part of Italy. It is a simple but comfortable place, an easy 10-15 minute walk from the station. it is on a quiet side street so I personally found it very quiet in the evening. It's in a normal part of town where normal people go to normal shops and pay normal prices, especially at the morning market which takes place every day about 1 minute away. You don't feel you are paying rip-off tourist prices. The breakfast was lovely with home made cakes and the croissants are to die for! It would make an ideal base for touring the Cinque Terre and La Spezia is on a main rail line all the way north and south, as well as on the line for visiting the different little towns.
The only slight problem in an old building is that sound insulation isn't perfect but the positives far outweigh that and I wish them every luck in their endeavour.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTSouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Hi Carol!
It was a honor to have you in our Hotel
You were so nice and smart, and your impressions really made us feel better.
As you said, our area, is one of the most safe in town ( I could say La Spezia is one of the most safe towns in Italy), and everyday (not on sundays) the market takes places 50 meters far from us from 6:30 am to 1 pm: there you can find fresh vegetables and fruits, fish, cheese, ham, so cheap and fresh
Thank you for mentioning our breakfast, all of us, make a great effort to make it better everyday.
We wait you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 582 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hotel staff, Domenico and Sara were very pleasant and helpful. The bathroom was tiny and there were some noise issues, e.g., doors slamming at times, people talking loudly in corridors. (Not much they can do about that, there are a lot of hard surfaces.) My room was basic but comfortable. I would recommend it as a place to stay for one or two nights. A lot cheaper than Rio Maggiore where I also stayed.

Rob W

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxx13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Hello!
Thank you for your review
We're sorry if you had some problems with some guests talking loud voice or slamming doors, even if it was lunchtime.
I won't let something like this happen during the night
But we're glad you liked our service
Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We used Hotel Brillio as our base for visiting the Cinque Terre. It is reasonably close to the train station - about 1.5km walk, so fine if you have a pack. I think the first night we caught a cab and it cost €10 to get from the station to the hotel.

The rooms are recently redecorated and fresh, and perfectly functional.
May disappoint anyone looking for luxury, but for a base to explore the cinque Terre they were perfect.

The star of the show, however, is definitely the service - Sara went over and above, helping us find a way to get to Florence from La Spezia when the Italian rail system had a strike on a Sunday. She was always willing to help, and spoke great English.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Hello!
I was happy to help when you needed, that strike was terrible!
You're right, here it can be disappointing if you're looking for luxury, but it's quite clear it's not.
You were very nice and I was very happy to give my best for you!
Yes rooms are new and freshly redecorated and it's wonderful to know that you appreciated all our work
Well,we wait for you, maybe without the strike next time ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This functional hotel was in a very handy spot to the La Spezia station for our day trip to the Cinque Terre, and excellent value for money. The staff (particularly Sara) were very helpful and efficient, the breakfast was one of the best we've had in an Italian hotel during our extended travels, with home-made cakes and breads and the room was newly decorated. However I wouldn't want to stay here for any more than overnight, and would not recommend it for anyone who is larger than average in height or weight or has mobility issues: The entire bathroom is the size of a small toilet, there is no lift, and our double was actually two singles pushed together, which moved apart with too much movement. This wasn't a problem for us relatively fit middle-aged couple, but could be for others. The rooms were also very close together and not completely sound-proof so this should also be kept in mind for those who are light sleepers. The management and staff are trying very hard, but the hotel is an old one that no amount of redecoration can make bigger or more modern.

Room Tip: There is no lift so those with large bags or mobility issues should try for a room on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Hello!
Thank you for your review, we're happy that you liked the positive things that you mentioned
There are some things that unfortunately we cannot improove, caused by the fact that we're not the owners of the hotel.
Things like the lift, sizes of the bathrooms or insonorisation, are at the moment impossible for us to solve.
But what we're doing is to fix this small problems with the renovations of the bathrooms ( more functional right now), for the fact that we don't have a lift we always ask to carry the bags for you.
Of course, step by step, we'll improove everything
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel has new owner and they are improving, Sara at the reception was really nice and helpful, the prices was great and the hotel is clean and comfortable... only the bathrooms are really small, but it's worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuanGodoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you
we're really happy taht you liked your stay here
We are "famous" for our small bathrooms, but you should see how nice they are right now, people love them, because they're so cure =)
Come back, so you can see :)
We wait for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Very good location in the city centre. Near from railway station. Friendly and helpfull staff. Tasty breakfast prepared from fresh local food. Good value for money. Perfect base for trip to Cinque Terre. Highly reccommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Bohumila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you
how are you ?
We're really happy that you liked the place, the location , the breakfast, and thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers
See you soon maybe :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I really liked the hotel, the service was fabulous and during my stay of one month, I felt like I was at home. The staff is super friendly and the lady (sara) was very kind and helpful. Its a very suggestive hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yogesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you
are you still in Italy?
I really miss you, you became for me like little brothers
And thank you for teaching me how to make rice with the microwave =)
But, shame on you, I still wait for you here for a coffee break ;)
Please come and visit us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.6 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
1,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#10 of 21 in La Spezia
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
323 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birillo

Address: Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range: $67 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birillo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Birillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing