We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, great staff”
Review of Hotel Birillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Birillo
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The staff was very friendly and anxious to please. Room clean and comfortable although the bathroom was a bit small. No elevator but staff will help with luggage. Very good breakfast with treats we did not see in other hotels. Good location, about mid-way between train station and port so easy access to Cinque Terre. Also close to agreeable pedestrian streets.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, nice and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank AmericophileMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Hello,
yes you're right the bathrooms are a little bit small, but actually we renovated a lot of bathrooms so they're more comfortable now.
And for the stairs no problem! we are strong enough to carry your bags upstairs ;)
Thank you for the breakfast, we're still trying to improove it day by day, and give you always something special.
Thank you
see you again maybe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 575 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Excellent location an easy walk to the train station and the ferry boats. The breakfast was excellent. The staff and Management were very helpful and friendly. A great place to begin your tour of Cinque Terre. Easy on the budget yet clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mbpeg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for all your nice words,
it's always wonderful to meet nice people like you
We had a very nice company thanks to you
come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a very nice hotel, close to an excellent restaurant and even closer to the expressway. It is ideally located to provide access to all of Umbria. The staff is great, the accomodations are excellent, the breakfast is very nice and fresh.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, just an overall great place to stay at an affordable rate. Would stay there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you Oliver,
we always try our best to satisfy you, ans when we manage in doing it, it' s like a dream for us, because we're doing everything by ourselves,and it was a honour to meet such a great person like you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

The room was adequate and clean and the hostess Sara was charming and helped take luggage to second floor...no elevator. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful in a charming setting. WiFi was good and location was near enough to walk to the train station.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank youuu
Very pleased to help you with the bags, I'm the official elevator for the bags :)
Very happy that you liked the breakfast and the breakfast room, we really put all our heart in it
See you maybe soooon
ciao for now

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had a pleasant stay. The new owners are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are ok but nothing special with a very small bathroom. Breakfast was included and very good with real coffee made by the staff. Good wifi too.

Hotel in good location. 10 min walk to train station and central to everything in town.

Overall it was a pleasant stay and would recommend the hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank david240571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you so much
Long time passed and now, things really improoved
Thank you so much , it's nice that you appreciated everything anyway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were greeted with the news that the hotel had just been taken over by the new owners and was in the process of being renovated. Therefore our bathroom was tiny - 3 women sharing - but they would move us the next day if we wanted. The bathroom was indeed tiny and they did move us to a better room the next day. Everyone was incredibly helpful and very friendly. The breakfast was lovely with homemade bread and cake. The hotel is 20 mins walk from the station and very near to all the bars, restaurants, shops, big market, port, bus stops, boat stops, everything! La Spezia is a good place to explore the Cinque Terre if you don't want to use a car - and I would not advise using a car to do that anyway!

Room Tip: Recommend asking for a room at the back as quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holttum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you so much
actually the worst room you have now it's one of the nicest we have, since we completely renovated room and bathroom, even if the sizes are still the same
But thank you for sharing youe experience with other travellers, you and other nice people helped us a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good location: a 5 min. walk to the pedestrian streets or port, and 10 min. to the train station. Management was friendly & helpful. Our room was clean & plainly furnished, no safe or hairdryer. The bathroom was obviously new, actually quite pretty, but parts of it (esp. the shower stall) might be challenging to large people. Heavy windows kept out most of the traffic noise at night. AC was quiet & efficient. A small breakfast buffet is included, heavy on the cake, light on the healthy choices. You can ask for cappuccino.There is free wifi & also a computer in the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for your review
we're very happy to tell you that things improoved a lot and we invite you here to check by yourselves :)
See you soon then

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.6 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
1,111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
739 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#10 of 21 in La Spezia
330 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#8 of 21 in La Spezia
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birillo

Address: Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range: $90 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birillo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Birillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing