We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Birillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Birillo
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were greeted with the news that the hotel had just been taken over by the new owners and was in the process of being renovated. Therefore our bathroom was tiny - 3 women sharing - but they would move us the next day if we wanted. The bathroom was indeed tiny and they did move us to a better room the next day. Everyone was incredibly helpful and very friendly. The breakfast was lovely with homemade bread and cake. The hotel is 20 mins walk from the station and very near to all the bars, restaurants, shops, big market, port, bus stops, boat stops, everything! La Spezia is a good place to explore the Cinque Terre if you don't want to use a car - and I would not advise using a car to do that anyway!

Room Tip: Recommend asking for a room at the back as quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holttum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much
actually the worst room you have now it's one of the nicest we have, since we completely renovated room and bathroom, even if the sizes are still the same
But thank you for sharing youe experience with other travellers, you and other nice people helped us a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    248
    52
    18
    10
See reviews for
71
224
56
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, WI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good location: a 5 min. walk to the pedestrian streets or port, and 10 min. to the train station. Management was friendly & helpful. Our room was clean & plainly furnished, no safe or hairdryer. The bathroom was obviously new, actually quite pretty, but parts of it (esp. the shower stall) might be challenging to large people. Heavy windows kept out most of the traffic noise at night. AC was quiet & efficient. A small breakfast buffet is included, heavy on the cake, light on the healthy choices. You can ask for cappuccino.There is free wifi & also a computer in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review
we're very happy to tell you that things improoved a lot and we invite you here to check by yourselves :)
See you soon then
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Everything about the Birillo was really good .The staff were so pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was to die for.It was right in the centre and going out to view the passagiata was a nightly treat.I would definitely go back

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
And of course we wait for you back!
We want to show you how everything is now different, especially for some rooms
It's so nice to know that you enjoyed everything, it fills our heart:)
Bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The service was very friendly and the breakfast very nice. The rooms were reasonable but the bed was a bit hard. You need to take a bus to the hotel (it is unclear which bus to take unless you understand Italian or find an English-speaking person. Make sure you get good directions!). There is a computer for internet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Camellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi, well,
if your luggage is not too heavy, it's not necessary to catch a bus, and it's not half an hour like someone else wrote ( if you follow the right streets)
In fact we're always available if you need better directions to the hotel, we're happy to help :)
Bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with hubby. Used as a base to visit Cinque Terre & Portovenere. Very convenient and ideally positioned if that's your goal. Nice walk to train station, port & city centre. Positives are definitely the friendly and warm service from the hosts; they will go out of their way to help you and impart their local knowledge. We ran into Domenic on 2 occasions in the city centre and he helped us both times even though he was on his way home. Internet is very fast and reliable. I also loved the breakfast! So fresh and tasty. The cakes were all scrumptious! The bed also was very comfy (big plus in my book). The negatives would have to be the very small bathroom, finishings are a bit dated, no elevators and outside noise (all night). It should be reminded that this is not a 5 star hotel and at the price you pay, you really shouldn't expect luxury. I have to say that the aforementioned positives exceeded that of most 4-5 star hotels we've stayed in throughout Europe. So if you don't mind a tiny bathroom and a bit of outside local neighbourhood noise; this is the place for you!

We had room 206.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeviNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
THank you =)
It's so nice to read that our positive points were so much heavier than the rest, and at that time, your room was very simple, and the bathroom as well, now it's one of the nicest rooms we have, all green, so if you want to visit us again ;)
Thank you for what you said about the breakfast, we always want to do our best to satisfy all our guests.
Thank you for your help
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
255 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this wonderful little hotel in the heart of La Spezia. I picked La Spezia as our base to visit and explore the Cinque Terre and Portovenere since it's easy to get to, and with little kids it's easier than going up and down the hilly terrain in CT.

The hotel is very convenient from the train station, although when we first took the taxi, it felt like it was pretty far - it's not.

The biggest asset for this place are the 2 wonderful hosts - Domenic and Sara. Kudos to them both for the level of service they provide with an ever ready smile. A friendly staff wins me everytime and I can forgo some other things, and honestly, at this price - if you're expecting the Ritz, it's not going to happen :) (but again, the service was probably better than what you would get at the Ritz!)

Upon check-in, Domenic informed us about the surrounding area, where the bus station was, how to walk to the train station, where to eat and a whole lot of other information. I asked him some other random questions and he had a ready answer

Since the place doesn't have an elevator, and we had this huge big suitcase and baby stroller, we asked Mr. D if we could leave it in storage and he was more than happy to oblige and they even allowed us to take it out and take the stuff we needed on and off during our 2 days. Very nice!

The room was clean, albeit on the smaller side. Again - we already knew this when we booked. The only thing I feel like I could "complain" about would be is the very mini-bathroom :) It was functional, but was a tight fit and the sink was very small. Not sure if this can be fixed because the space is pretty limited. Other than that, the linen was clean and the room had a nice, airy feel to it.

The breakfast is just as advertised by everyone else here - simple, but delicious and satisfying. The cakes were scrumptious and I loved the little omelettes with the cream cheese and my wife and kids swore that they hadn't had better croissants.

The location is also great - if you want to goto Portovenere (you should for dinner), the bus is about 100m from the hotel. The train station and the downtown area is maybe a 10min walk, if that. The pedestrian area of the town is pretty nice. It's not Paris or Florence, but it's fun for a stroll in the evening.

Like I said before - the service and friendliness of the staff is what sets this place apart. From making us 2 cups of green tea at 11pm and allowing us to sit outside to enjoy it, to allowing us to stow our luggage, or using the room on our way out from CT and heading over to the train station, calling us taxis, checking on the train schedule, the weather - really, very courteous and helpful, and ALWAYS with a pleasant demeanor.

If you're still reading and are thinking about staying here - do it!

Sara & Domenic - keep it up!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much
How are you and your family?
Your review was one of the best and more significative that we had ...infact, when I'm down, I read what you wrote and everything makes sense again, because we work for it and people like you are our fuel....I'm still reading and thinkind about staying here ;)
Thank you for your help
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here while visiting Cinque Terre in September and found the staff to be warm and friendly from the moment of arrival to check-out. Sarah and Domenico were exceptional in carrying out their duties. The hotel does not have an elevator but Domenico promptly carried our bags to our room which was modest but clean and roomy. Cleaning staff also ensure room is fresh each day. Buffet breakfast included fresh local produce and delicious cakes/strudel made by local lady. If you want an inexpensive stay close to Cinque Terre, not far from wharf and railway station, this is it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 84Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Yay! taht's the right place
And we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay
Please come ancd visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.6 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#6 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My One Hotel La Spezia
My One Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#10 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birillo

Property: Hotel Birillo
Address: Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birillo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Birillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing