We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay before visit to the Cinque Terre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Birillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Birillo to your Saves list
Hotel Birillo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
La Spezia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good stay before visit to the Cinque Terre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel provided us with a convenient stop before our trip to the Cinque Terre. The room was simple but modern and efficient. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful with any queries we had. The breakfast was varied and of good quality.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank christuckerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you!!!
Happy that you liked your stay here
and that you found practical to get around here
Wait for you here again =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Utrecht, Holland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The owner is extremely friendly, cute and almost humble. The room I had was an average size, very clean but with a very small bathroom. Okay for a few days though. Location is excellent, short stroll from the train station and harbor. Quality wise breakfast is miles better than in any other small hotel I've ever stayed, just don't expect the diversity of a large chain hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Well, thank you so much, that's what I try to explain everytime
Even if the rooms are very nice, and we always try to give the best service, it's not a luxury five stars
But if you'd like to visit us again, things have changed a lot, you can't imagine how much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was a very nice little stop on our self drive tour of Italy.

The owner had only taken over the hotel about six months prior, and was doing a lot of little fix up jobs about the hotel. That said, she gave us the choice of two rooms, and we ended up selecting the smaller but nicer "Green" room that is used on a lot of the advertising material. It is a compact room, but suited our needs well. The owner was very hospitable, offering plenty of local advise, and nothing seemed to be a problem.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the fresh produce markets, and also the main shopping and restaurant area in town. When driving be aware that the hotel is on a one way street, which may effect how you approach it, but it is well within the capabilities of a GPS / Satnav. Similarly It is also easy to navigate by car to the Cinque Terre and return from the hotel.

As mentioned, you need to book one of the two car parks at the front of the hotel. We travelled in winter, so getting one of the car parks was not a problem. There is no charge for this, but it is a first come first served allocation.

Wifi is also free, and easily accessible.

The breakfast was very good for a small hotel, and it was very nice that the hotel manager was supporting local food producers. She was able to tell us who or where most of her breakfast offerings where sourced.

Overall we where very happy with this small hotel, and we would have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you so much
very nice what you said
We improoved rooms and services , long time passed, and now, we would like to invite you here again to show you our news ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have stayed in Birillo in April 2013 and even now I have very warm feeling recalling this hotel. Very nice people, very tasty breakfast, very clean. Location is excellent, 10 min to the harbor and 10 -15 min to the train station. Very close to the local market where you can buy local cheese, meet, vegetables. We were thinking to use La Spezia only as our base for CT, but were "lucky" to get Italian railway strike for the whole day. So we were walking in the city the whole day until the strike was over and like La Spezia very much. We are thinking to come back in the next 2 years and I would definitely stay in Birillo. Yes, it is only 2 star hotel, and if you keep this in mind and would not expect 5 star instead, you will enjoy your stay in Birillo!

Room Tip: Ask about renovated room, it is on the first floor, but it is actual second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Virma_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you so much
Now that you know La Spezia and Birillo, you can't not come back
We wait you here for sure
If we can, we will let you live an experience which will be even better =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

An excellent hotel close to the centre of town, with easy access to Portovenere, Cinque Terre, and the Islands.

The rooms are spacious and clean. Some of the rooms are a bit dated decor wise but the hotel is being renovated by the new owners, the remodeled rooms look very nice.

The breakfast was excellent with lots of home cooked cakes and desserts, the wifi was available with a strong signal even on the second floor without problem.

An excellent place to stay and we would go again.

Room Tip: Ask about a renovated room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul_Roberts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Hi!
Now almost every room is renovate, so you can easily have one
It would be nice if you could come again to visit us, it will be a pleasure and you could see what we have done right now
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar-Saba
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel manager is very attentive and friendly, her advices are very helpful. Hotel convenient location between the train station and the port. There is a small hotel parking for 2 cars - it is recommended to book in advance. Good internet, a great breakfast. The room is clean but the mattress was not very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ShKfar_Saba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Hi
We appreciated that you enjoed your stay, despite the materass ( it was knew, maybe that's why it was a little bit hard)
Please visit us again =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba- Paraná- Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

What a wonderful staying ! Nadia, the manager, is perfect. The room is clean, the breakfast is very nice, the internet works great and fast ( to be honest the best I've found during my staying in Italy) Besides giving us( My wife , my daughter and myself) a warm reception Nadia also helped us a lot with tips regarding parking, places to go and the city attractions. I felt that she is always ready to help you in order to have a nice staying and feel yourself at home.

Room Tip: Feel at home
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you so much
The service is one of the thing where we want to give our best because we know that every single person is very important
Thank you for everything
Hope you could come back one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
0.2 mi away
My One Hotel La Spezia
My One Hotel La Spezia
#7 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Nina
Villa Nina
#15 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birillo

Address: Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birillo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Birillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing