We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice , clean and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Birillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Birillo
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
Curitiba- Paraná- Brazil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice , clean and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

What a wonderful staying ! Nadia, the manager, is perfect. The room is clean, the breakfast is very nice, the internet works great and fast ( to be honest the best I've found during my staying in Italy) Besides giving us( My wife , my daughter and myself) a warm reception Nadia also helped us a lot with tips regarding parking, places to go and the city attractions. I felt that she is always ready to help you in order to have a nice staying and feel yourself at home.

Room Tip: Feel at home
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you so much
The service is one of the thing where we want to give our best because we know that every single person is very important
Thank you for everything
Hope you could come back one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    264
    60
    19
    10
See reviews for
80
238
60
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minsk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Cosy hotel with accurate rooms, very nice breakfast with home-made specialities, well-working Internet connection, located in 15 minutes walk from the train station. Hotel staff is more than friendly, Nadia at the reception gave us useful recommendations about the city attractions and made her best to make our staying in the hotel very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IouriMinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Hi
thank you very much
We always want to make our best for you because you are very important for us
I really hope that we could see each other again one day
See you soon, whenever you are around
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The rooms are close to each other so you can hear people coming and going. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was INCREDIBlE! I am a foodie so I can are the texture and flavor of food. Everything is made fresh and you can taste it. I have been traveling Italy for 3 weeks and the bread and pastries are the best I have so far. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarmaladeGoodness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Tha you!!!
It's an honor haveìing this review about breakfast from a foodie =)
Why don't you come back and taste something else ?
Thanks =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on May 2, 2013. The gal on the front desk who checked us in and also put out the (included) breakfast the next morning was very friendly and helpful. As another reviewer mentioned, she also warned us about 'current renovations underway' - and cautioned us to expect a tiny bathroom. The pros: the breakfast offered lots of fresh pastries and plenty of choices. I really liked the small omelets wrapped around ham and cheese - a great protein start for a day at Cinque Terre. The room was clean and the bed was 2 twins pushed together and was comfortable. The cons: The whole place is in need of lots of maintenance, the bathroom was the smallest I've been in (but functional), the room was on a busy street and noisy throughout the night (bring earplugs), the on-site parking is only available for 4 cars - and we weren't one of them, so had to park on the street about 1.5 blocks away - and pay for parking. No elevator - you have to climb the stairs. Still - a good value when compared against others in La Spezia and Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you!
Now the pictures you showed in here don't exist anymore because we completely renovated the room and the bathroom as well, so we invite you here to have a look and see how everything has changed.
The room is totally white with some nice green here and there, new forniture, the bathroom is completely different, so nice and new, you won't recognise the room.
Maybe theese pictures don't fit anymore...
See you next time maybe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nadia (manager) was extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was the best part about this hotel. All pastries are homemade so definitely worth it for the price. Rooms are spacious and nicely renovated, except for the bathrooms. Bathrooms are clean but small. Takes about 10 min to walk to the hotel from central station. Cab costs 12-13 euros to get to central station if you dont want to walk with luggage. Train to cinque terre region only takes about 15 mins, so definitely worth staying in La Spezia to save some money and also saving the hassel of carrying your luggage around if you stayed in one of the 5 towns. Would definitely stay here again the next time I visit the Cinque Terre region.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razberri45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you so much guys, it was a great experience and It would be really nice if you could come here again, it was a real pleasure and we would like to invite you and see all the changements
Thank you really!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Birillo for a week 9-16 April 2013. We had a pleasant room and were made very welcome by Sara, who speaks good English and went out of her way to answer any queries. She is a great asset to the Hotel. There was a good choice on the buffet breakfast to suit varying tastes.
Sara also had an equally helpful colleague in Jamie.

Michael and Brenda, April 2013

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
>Thank you so much
So nice to read what you wrote
I invite you here again because I think that now, you could be even happier
Please come back =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel because of its location not expecting much because it was only 2 stars. We were greeted by the friendly lady on the reception desk who informed us of some ongoing improvements to the rooms (including a new wardrobe in the room). The room was spacious, with a comfortable double bed (two singles pushed together), with a balcony which overlooked the relatively quiet street. The bathroom was tiny but functional. There was good pressure and warm water in the shower and it had a good shower screen. The lighting in the bathroom was not good enough to put make up on in the morning, but the natural light in the bedroom was enough to do so. Nice touch with the toiletries provided (shampoo, body wash and soap) which was housed in a cute wicker basket with the towels.
There was an air conditioning unit with remote in the room (we didn't need to use it - the fresh air from leaving the balcony door open at night was enough).
The breakfast was great. The usual at most hotels however with the added bonus of home made pastries and cakes (including ricotta cheesecake with chocolate and warm apple cake).
The receptionist was warm and friendly, and was able to give us helpful information about the local area, including the Cinque Terre. Upon checking out we were given a complimentary bottle of water as she knew we were heading to the Cinque Terre to do some walking.
Great hotel, great rates, would stay again if we come back to La Spezia. 
Thank you for your hospitality.
Laura and Karim (Australia)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_bahri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you very much Australian friends
The situation changed a lot and now we have so many renovated rooms and lots of new delicious things for breakfast
Come back ans see :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#2 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birillo

Property: Hotel Birillo
Address: Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birillo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Birillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing