We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Stay for Cinque Terre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Birillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Birillo
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay for Cinque Terre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Sara and her exceptional customer relations make this two star a five star! She was helpful, friendly and her homemade breakfasts are amazing. My husband and I have travelled all over Europe and never had a breakfast like this. The bathrooms may be small but the bedroom was a great size and the location is ideal to explore the Cinque Terre. Thanks so much Sara and I am missing your breakfast creme de brule.
Beth and Bill McCracken (Vancouver, Canada)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beth_mccrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello!!!
It was a wonderful time with you here, very busy but wonderful!
And when I read something like this, I'm really full of joy and satisfation, because all we do here is for your happiness; your review let me know that we succeded in it, that's what we work for.
I hope you're having a good time, please if you come back to Italy, visit us again!!!even for a coffee ( or a creme caramel )
Ciao
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    258
    57
    18
    10
See reviews for
76
231
59
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was a nice stay and we were able to negosiate a good rate. Hotel Birillo is about a 10 minute walk to the railway and pretty much close to the center of town. The rooms, though extreemely small, were furnished and decorated well. The hospitality shown by the operators was great and they were a wealth of knowlege.

Room Tip: The newly renovated rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello!
I don't remember if we told you that you were the first people trying the renovated room, but we're working to renovate all rooms.
We hope you enjoyed your staying
Thanks and the best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Yes, the price is reasonable.
But the best there is Sara (the receptionist).
She is so friendly and kind and ready to help you.
And you have to go to the restaurant she recommends.
I stayed there two nights just for a day-trip to Cinque Terre.
But the stay there gave me more pleasing memories than Cinque Terre did.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you
We really appreciated what you said
Your words made us feel really important
Thank you so much
Wish the best for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

For such a reasonably priced room, I would give it a very good rating. The young woman, Sara, who ran the place made it all the more comfortable. The continental breakfast, and great coffee was an added plus. Although not an upscale place, it met our needs. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the shower was fine.

Room Tip: We asked to see the room prior to staying there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenh516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello
the time spent together was great
We're glad when people are so happy of our services and I really appreciated your being so caring about us as well
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

<<my husband and <i stayed here one night. The gal at the front desk was personable and very helpful. She spoke English and made a fabulous cup of cappucino in the morning and the breakfast was good with yogurt, kiwi, <italian pastries, cereal and poached eggs. The room was small but very clean, the bed was comfortable and the water in the shower was hot...just how <i like it. This was the last room open in the hotel with a small single bed and because we were on our honeymoon it was perfect. We will always remember our first night in <italy at the <hotel Birillo. <now we are on our way to make more memories...and yes we would probably stay at this hotel again.....it was clean and simple.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianerosemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello
knowing it wasn't the best for a honeymoon, I'm glad you enjoyed your staying, you said it was a romantic situation anyway , in Easter period it's always hard to find a place
You wew really kind and I was so happy you loved the cappuccinos
Bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

I looked and looked for something "reasonably priced" for one person in La Spezia for the night and at 37 euro (including breakfast) it was the best I could do! Very friendly girl who speaks English at reception, there is no elevator so getting up the stairs was a bit tough. Breakfast was the standard spread, including: yoghurt, coffee, cereal, croissants, ham and cheese and fruit. My room had a single bed and a small balcony. It smelled damp, but for the price it was comfortable as wifi was free and there was a TV. The bathroom was a bit average, the kind where water goes everywhere after being in the shower but it was clean, comfortable and centrally located. Would I stay there again? Yes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hi,
we're glad taht you appreciated the srvice for the price you paid
We invite you to come back, because we have very nice rooms now, and amazing breakfast =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is a $60 a night hotel about 15 minutes from the train station. It is what it is. The lady working the reception was sweet as can be and very helpful. She check me in at night & made me cappuccino at breakfast. Didn't see another soul working there in the 2 days I stayed. I would go back just for her. The breakfast was ok, The usual Italian fare of yogurt, cold meats & cheeses, pasteries, cerial & great coffee. The room itself was small, with a single bed, a fan, a window that opens, and a TV that wasn't hooked up. The towels were very thin and the shower was the smallest I've ever encountered. Literally, smaller than a phone booth. The wi-fi wasn't working but there was a computer in the lobby that worked fine. There is no elevator so its a walk up the stairs to the room. The hotel is off a main street but can be a little hard to find from the train station so be prepared. It's a nice, cheap choice as a jumping off point for Cingue Terre.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easyeric601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you
It was a pleasure
You were really kind
Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.6 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#7 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#11 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birillo

Property: Hotel Birillo
Address: Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birillo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Birillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing