We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hotel Venezia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Venezia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Venezia
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Venezia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in April 2009 when looking for accommodation in the 'Cinque Terre area. We do recommend this hotel and would return.

Staff were very welcoming. Our room overlooked the street and piazza further to the left. The area was quiet, especially at night, even though it is on the road to the rail station as the road is closed. The room had double glazing. The hotel is clean. The room was spotless and the bed comfortable.

Breakfast was in the small dining room on the top floor. The location is handy, less than 100 metres from the station which is easy access to the 'Cinque Terre' National Park.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    43
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
7
46
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I booked this hotel since it is very close to the train station and it sure is. It took me 2 minutes to reach the hotel. I arrived quite late (around 10:30pm) and the man in the front counter could not speak English. This could be because it was quite late. The next day, there was an another man who spoke very good English.

I used Initalia website to book the room. When I handed the piece of paper containing the booking, it took about 5 minutes and plus a phone call to confirm this. Finally got the room. It was clean but was a bit outdated.

The air conditioner worked but I had to turn it on using the main control centre outside the room. so it was very weird.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josh7912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We arrived in La Spezia with no hotel booked and ended up walking around and found Hotel Venezia. It had free parking (which was a huge bonus) and had a reasonable rate. No wifi. Decor was a little dated, but it was fine (and quiet). It was just a short walk to the train station, to take the train to Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Em M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The location is very close to the train station. IT is on the same street. As you exit the train station turn left and just walk down the street. Voila, you are there. It is not noisy at all even though it is so close to the station. The hotel is very clean and the price is very reasonable and you get a very good breakfast consisting of blood orange juice, coffee/tea, croissant, toasts and cereals. The location is great and you can visit Cinque Terre with the park pass for 10 euro and ride the train all day. Within 10 minutes walk you can go on a bus and get to Portovenere in less than 30 minutes. The waterfront of La Spezia is gorgeous. The seafood place there is full of locals and tastes great. Have a lovely time there. I did.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WonderguyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

A wonderful,friendly place to stay.Beautiful breakfast too!
Our third stay and hope there will be more.Very handy to everything.
Many thanks to the staff,they are great.
Joy and June from New Zealand

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poodlz43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We just stayed there last night. The front desk was a little intimidating, since the guy working there was out buying cigarettes and had left a non-English speaking friend to cover for him. But when he returned, he gave us a pretty good rate compared to the high prices just up the street. The two rooms were tiny, but very clean and comfortable. Showers were big and powerful. (very nice) The breakfast was included and VERY nice. We were waited on by very friendly staff and the overall experience was very good.

Room Tip: the front (street side) may not have so much train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The Ritz this ain't! BUT for the price & location right next to the station this was perfect for me.
The hotel manager is a grump & I felt like I was an annoyance for him showing up, but I managed to get a slight grin out of him as I was leaving!
It was clean, quiet & overlooked the centre of town...what more could you want?
The room was small & the bed like a fold out, but I slept like a baby & breakfast was fine.
Great for 1 night but I certainly wouldn't have stayed longer...it was my launch pad for the stunning Cinque Terre & cheap, cheap, cheap!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Almac71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.1 mi away
Mary
Mary
#11 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#6 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
0.5 mi away
My One Hotel La Spezia
My One Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Venezia

Property: Albergo Venezia
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 8, 19122 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing