We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Melia Genova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Genova
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. One of 6 hotels we stayed at on a tour of Northern Italy. This was the best of the 6.
The room was great. Really comfortable. Very modern. Bathroom fantastic.
The bar/ restaurant is really good. We had a drink in the bar every evening before going out. Free aperitivo was great. Ate in the restaurant one night, quiet but excellent food.
Stylish, modern decor. The are the hotel is in is really nice. Very nice to it outside having a drink.
Staff excellent and really helpful. They printed off maps and timetables for us to help us get to the Cinque Terre ad Portofino. Nothing was too much trouble.

We visit Italy every year and will be looking for Melia hotels again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandSuzanneO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaGenova, Guest Experience at Melia Genova, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Mikeandsu,

We would like to thank yuo for the nice comment and words you dedicated to all our staff.
We are extremely delighted to know that you appreciated the quality of the services and professionalism of our team.
Knowing that you returned home carrying with you such pleasant memories of experience lived at the Melia Genova, it is for us the greatest satisfaction and a stimulus to continue working with passion and devotion, to guarante our Guests the attention and quality standards they deserve.
Our most heartful thank you for ypur lovely feedback that we gladly shared with all our hotel team.
Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Laura Apuzzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

we spent 5 nights including new years eve 2013. we travelled with some friends and children and we booked 2 junior suites. the choice was perfect. huge room, clean, quiet, modern, with marble everywhere...what we liked the most was the indoor pool and the gym...everything was clean proper, and modern..nothing to do with most of the italian hotels.... the breakfast was fine, we missed some front cooking, but you could ask for special things, like ommelets, eggs, or any fruit juice and they will bring it to you. the price was good, we paid in advance and we earned a 20% discount....we visit some places nearby like cinqueterre and portofino...the hotel is well located and close to downton genova too.

Room Tip: junior suite was fine in 4th floor even for 2 children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labordeta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaGenova, Guest Experience at Melia Genova, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Labordeta,

Thank you for choosing to share with us you recent stay at the Melia Genova.
It is a plausure to hear that our services heve been apprenciared during your stay but it was impossible to do without all of the staff melia Genova.
Our team will be delighted to know that you appreciate the facilities and the services in our rooms.
Your comments are very important, as they help us to review and improve our services.

Thanks for you opinion and we are waiting for your next stay.

Laura Apuzzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Best hotel in town. Excellent service and location. Having offices in Genoa we have elected the Melia as our preferred hotel and we are all extremely satisfied. A special mention for the fantastic breakfast buffet with local food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sighthound2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaGenova, Guest Experience at Melia Genova, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Sighthoun,

Thank you so much for your lovely review regarding our hotel Melia Genova.
We are extremely delighted that you elected the Melia as our preferred hotel in Genova, and we are glade for your satisfaction.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoy our brekfast services.
We hope to see you soon for your next visit.

Best reguards

Laura Apozzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Genova or Savona, before or after your cruise. Great room, breakfast and restaurant (lunch/dinner). Trained staff, all english speaking...just steps away from city center and all you could want to see of the city. Great choice!

Room Tip: One of the best hotels on my list of 48 countries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Melia is located in an inviting upscale, safe location. It is an easy walk to all areas of interest yet remains a home base that is both inviting and luxuriously appointed. If you have confirmed your reservation at a discounted rate from Hotwire.com you have hit the proverbial lotto. This is a 5 star experience in a 3 star town.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unpre10ous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The melia hotel is located in a nice quiet residential neighborhood. The service was excellent but I wouldn't say the same for the build quality of the rooms.

To start with, the A/C doesn't work, then again its November and in Italy they usually kill the A/C after Oct 15. But here's where the problem begins, its 25C in the room, the windows are too wide, which is fine except if you open them, you cant move around the room. The power blinds were askew and torn making it difficult to open the windows. The door leading to the bathroom and closet and ill designed and clumsy and sharp edged, the toilet flush was defective. I can go on, bottom line is the architect who designed this place needs to go back to the school of practical design and the maintenance has a lot to be desired.

Only thing I liked was the pool/spa area beautifully designed and relaxing place to chill out after a whole day of walking around.

Room Tip: don't get a corner junior suite, the shape of the room makes moving around difficult
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jinx d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

One of the highly rated hotels in Genova, it is located in a quiet, residential area. Room is basic, just enough space for your luggage, bathroom is adequate, but towels look worn out. However, both the room itself and bathroom are very clean. Bed was comfortable, and there are extra pillows available. However, there were no slippers and bottled water provided.
The breakfast was a disappointment - very limited choices.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viviandlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,757 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
522 reviews
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Genova

Address: Via Corsica 4, 16128, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Genoa
#2 Family Hotel in Genoa
#2 Business Hotel in Genoa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: $144 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Genova 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Carignano district just steps away from the city’s commercial, cultural and financial centre, is the ideal venue for business travellers and for short holiday stays, also for the entire family. 99 rooms equipped with all the conveniences and immersed in a modern, luxurious setting including the unique Newport Presidential Suite with a private hydro massage tub on the terrace. The Grace Restaurant welcomes guests in a setting of sober refinement. The cuisine combines the flavours and aromas of Liguria with the pleasures of traditional international cuisine. The Wellness Club Azure is equipped by an exercise pool, water jet hydro massage tub, Turkish bath, tropical and mist showers and a fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Genova Hotel Genoa
Bentley Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing