We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Melia Genova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Genova
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Hotel Melia in Genoa, Italy is a beautiful property.It's a modern version of Art Deco with minimalist/modern appointments inside. The rooms are very spacious compared to European standards as are the bathrooms. Admittedly we were in a junior suite and have not seen the standard rooms but it is well worth the upgrade. The bedroom was very comfortable and very large with a king-size bed, sofa and armchair and desk, electric blinds, well lit, parquet floors. There is a separate entry which is spacious and leads to the extremely beautiful bathroom with double mirrored doors all done in marble with bathtub and a double sized separate shower stall . Off the entry hall is a luxurious walk- in closet/changing room done in mirrors and metal with plenty of room for luggage clothes etc and a large drawer safe. The staff were extremely polite and helpful although we did have to bring in our own luggage upon check-in. They have valet parking available at 35 Euros a day which is expensive but convenient because being a residential area parking is difficult to find. Breakfast buffet was included with the room and we found it to be pleasing and convenient. The restaurant has fixed opening hours and the food was very good but service was really slow. You can also eat in the bar area.There is a bus which stops near the entrance which goes downtown if you do not have a car but the main shopping street Via XX Settembre is a short walk away which is pleasant and panoramic. Altogether a good experience and I would definitely return because it is a well kept clean property and some of the other hotels are pretty shabby and uninspiring places.

Room Tip: Opt for a junior suite if you can it was everything you could hope for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

A great hotel that truly stands out amongst the 5,000+ properties I have stayed in, mainly for my job as a Tour Manager...I found the fantastic Melia( a Spanish Hotel Chain) one of the best in Italy....Fantastic closets that were obviously designed by Yacht outfitters, in fact the rooms were like ultra cool mini suites by Ferretti the Genoa based Yacht Designer... My kitchen is made by them www.varennarental.com, if you want a look at the minalministic style that is NOT mortuary cold, but in fact warm and practical....Loved this Hotel....the coolest bathrooms I have seen in a while....
With both shower and tubs! So people understand, you take a shower 1st, and then a hot bath, so you don't soak in your own dead skin cells, why do you think the Japanese are so clean?
This building from 1929, was a metal working factory, with an absolutely incredible capping of Green/Black Slate, it looks like a Embassy or Ministry Headquarters....They must have made Crowns fir the Royal Families of Europe in such a posh factory!
If you get this hotel on a deal stay for while, you will never leave your rooms!
The room get a ten out ten, and the bathrooms, a first ever from me 11/10 beyond perfect!
Well Done Melia!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourmanager61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice business hotel in a pleasant residential part of town. The rooms are nicely appointed. Breakfast is satisfactory. The location allows for an easy stroll down to the centric storico. We arrived on a weekend and had no problem finding street parking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stay 2 days at this hotel, the room was clean but they shoud change the blind in the windows in room 308 they are in bad shape. There is no sound proffing of the rooms and between floors, we were trying to sleep during the day and the noise from the cleaning staff from room above and beside was terrible, during the night it was quiet, everybody was sleeping, but during the day forget it! We had one meal at the main restaurant, the food was ok but when I was eating I notice insects on the floor (probably ants) it was discusting, they were eating an other bug! The staff was very helpfull for taxi and restaurant (watch taxi they charge all different price ask the price before geting in or ask to run the meter (best) they charge extra for luguages and for the number of person in the cab) the staff was fluent in english.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as my jumping off point for a fairly comprehensive 3 week trip around Italy. Very nice modern rooms, with the most extensive breakfast buffet I have seen....no waffles, if that's your desire. The waiter will make you cappucino's if you don't want the very strong American coffee. The hotel is about a quarter mile walk to the city center, the street is called XX Settembre. The front desk clerks all speak English. Don't bother to take the hotel shuttle from the airport, it's 60 Euros one way and the taxi was 30 Euros. I ate in the restaurant for dinner on one night, nothing spectacular, there is a nice little restaurant around the corner in the side street, and the food is excellent! This hotel is situated in a very nice residential area, and very safe to walk alone. A bonus, there are 5 english speaking TV channels. The most I found elsewhere was 2, usually CNN and BBC.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfeetGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Rooms are very clean and tidy, location is brilliant and they serve a very nice breakfast. It is not at the city centre, which makes it quite and peaceful. If you stayed there don't ever miss watching TV while in the toilet (there is TV screen embedded in the mirror)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AkmalMagdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, on a good nightly rate as a result of being in the MAS loyalty scheme. The hotel is (I think) a converted office building and it has been done very well and stylishly. Rooms are sizeable, with all the amenities you'd expect, though disappointingly, no wi-fi in the room. The bed was comfortable and pillows plentiful. The included buffet breakfast was not the most varied I've seen, but was certainly good enough. My only gripe was that the hot selection was more "luke warm". Coffee on the other hand was piping hot and super strong. Nice! We ate at the hotel restaurant one night and it was excellent. The bar was quiet most nights, but that suited us for a cocktail before bed. Would stay here again - yes.

Room Tip: A few rooms face an inner courtyard, so won't have much of a view I suspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,810 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Genova

Address: Via Corsica 4, 16128, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Genoa
#2 Business Hotel in Genoa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#2 Family Hotel in Genoa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: $135 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Genova 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Carignano district just steps away from the city’s commercial, cultural and financial centre, is the ideal venue for business travellers and for short holiday stays, also for the entire family. 99 rooms equipped with all the conveniences and immersed in a modern, luxurious setting including the unique Newport Presidential Suite with a private hydro massage tub on the terrace. The Grace Restaurant welcomes guests in a setting of sober refinement. The cuisine combines the flavours and aromas of Liguria with the pleasures of traditional international cuisine. The Wellness Club Azure is equipped by an exercise pool, water jet hydro massage tub, Turkish bath, tropical and mist showers and a fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Genova Hotel Genoa
Bentley Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing