We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a TV in the mirror!”
Review of Melia Genova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Genova
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 19, 2012

It seems to be a three star hotel with five star potential. The spa however is clean, spacious and almost always empty. It wouldn't hurt to heat up the water a bit more but the complimentary fruit , water and towels in the changing area/gym somewhat make up for this. The rooms weren't huge but were clean with a big TV and a TV in the mirror! Thought the remote in the bathroom was there by accident, but when I discovered it, it was a lot of fun to watch. The turn down in the evening is nice too, mini chocolate bar and new towels on the floor. Restaurant service was slow and the food was average except for the cake (can't remember the name, see photo). it was divine. Francois I think the manager's name was, was very helpful and managed to turn a potentially bad review into an average one, through his excellent customer care and problem solving. The location is fantastic, near to everything I'd say. A hotel to the stars but not quite five star. May stay there again though.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank la_globetrotteuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

Truly outstanding hotel! The breakfast was one of the best we had in hotels - great variety, tasty and good service. The room was large, with the large two-section bathroom; great TV service. Large and comfortable crib provided for the baby. You have to check-out their swimming pool/spa area! Overall, clean, new and modern hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Formerly the headquarters of a steel company, the Melia Genoa has been tastefully converted into a modern and contemporary hotel. The rooms are on the small side; we stayed in a Junior Suite which was just one room with a large bed and a small two-seater sofa; many hotels would classify such a room as a double room not as a junior suite. The room was still nice and pleasant though and had a large wall mounted flat screen TV. The bathroom was large with a full size tub and walk in shower. Turndown service was provided in the evening but no bottled water was provided. There is a bar and (expensive) restaurant downstairs as well as a small pool and gym in the basement. Overall the hard product is nice but the soft product needs improving for the hotel to be anywhere near a 5-star property.

Service at check-in was unfriendly. When we arrived we were not greeted with a smile or any enquiry if we had a nice journey or if we had stayed at the hotel before; we were simply asked for “passports!”. At check-out, a single receptionist was working at the front desk at the busiest time of the morning and a long queue of guests quickly formed; again no smile, no question if we had enjoyed our stay, we were simply presented with the bill, credit card payment taken and then we were sent on our way.

Breakfast was complete chaos, no management and staff running around like headless chicken trying to do everything at once but mostly ignoring guests requests for coffee or paying any attention to the buffet which was constantly running out of food and not replenished. There was also a desperate shortage of glasses for orange juice and the few times one of the staff would replenish the glass tray at the buffet they would only bring three of four new glasses, which of course would instantly run out again. Tables were not cleared of empty dishes and no refill of coffee was ever offered. The breakfast operation was a complete disaster and the worst I have seen in many years of frequent hotel stays.

Overall the hotel has great potential though. The property itself is nice but the staff needs more training, more management and be taught to smile more.

There is a bar immediately opposite the hotel which does a great aperitivi service from 7.30pm with a plate of small snacks such as pizza slices, parma ham and chips served with each alcoholic drink purchased for just EUR 6.

Room Tip: Rooms are small. If space is important to you, pay extra for a premium room category which will at l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FirstTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Spent one night at this hotel after a cruise and could not fault a single thing! The room was ready when we arrived for ourselves and a single additional bed for our son. Without being asked as soon as we arrived someone called by with extra towels to accomodate our son. The bed was wonderful as was the air con and the blackout blinds. The bathroom excellent, although the tv in the bathroom a bit over the top! The breakfast involved a short wait for a table but was then excellent was a good range of hot and cold bits and bobs.
We strolled out in the evening and found a very nice family restaurant opposite the hotel. The food was great and so was the company - highly recommended for a great pizza and a cold beer.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floow and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloucesterTracyCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We recently stayed at the Melia Genova for a weekend. The location was wonderful - a quiet area just a short walk from the city center.
The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and all of the furniture was new and in good condition.
The breakfast buffet in the morning was also really great - there was something for everyone and the quality of the pastries, etc. was really good.
The only thing that I might warn people about is that a lot of locals come to the bar downstairs on Saturday night and so there is a lot of noise and music. We were on the 2nd floor and could hear all of the noise quite clearly. It didn't bother us too much but, if you are a light sleeper you might want to ask for a room on a higher floor.
We were very happy with our room and will definitely come back here on our next trip to Genova.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Good calm location. room was very nice and spacious and great walk in closet.
Nice welcoming Front desk staff
Only bad point was buffet breakfast, lack of variety restaurant was nice though.
Breakfast is less than 3 star hotels.... even though breakfast staff are very kind.
Good cost performance.
Quality of bed are excellent. Great TV.
Mini bar was overpriced. and parking also 35euros/day so we parked in public parking near by which cost only 15euros for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hiritos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

It is on the out side of the center not far but a walk. The room that we were first given was horrible...the shades where broken and falling apart and the room was small even by european standards. We complain and asked for another room they showed us a second which would have been find except the shades where broken there room. The staff was extremely nice and we explain that we where there for rest not for anything else and we did not want any morning light to come in. They finally found us a better rooms which was perfect.

We loved the pool however there were missing pieces of tile in the pool which i found to be unsafe. We did enjoy the breakfast and we did not have a problem with any off the food. Since i am american living in italy my standard for what to expect have changed. There was fresh fruit, fresh bread (not toasted) different types of cheese, yogurt, fresh croissants and other things. Over all a wonderful stay will say again, I hope in about 2 months.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliSunshine214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#2 of 91 in Genoa
2,835 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
583 reviews
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Genova

Address: Via Corsica 4, 16128, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Genoa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#2 Family Hotel in Genoa
#2 Business Hotel in Genoa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: $140 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Genova 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Carignano district just steps away from the city’s commercial, cultural and financial centre, is the ideal venue for business travellers and for short holiday stays, also for the entire family. 99 rooms equipped with all the conveniences and immersed in a modern, luxurious setting including the unique Newport Presidential Suite with a private hydro massage tub on the terrace. The Grace Restaurant welcomes guests in a setting of sober refinement. The cuisine combines the flavours and aromas of Liguria with the pleasures of traditional international cuisine. The Wellness Club Azure is equipped by an exercise pool, water jet hydro massage tub, Turkish bath, tropical and mist showers and a fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Genova Hotel Genoa
Bentley Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing