We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would try someplace else.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Essiale Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #145 of 172 Genoa B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 11, 2010

About 100 metres from the main train tracks. Couldn't leave the window open because of noise and the room was stuffy. Breakfast was adequate. For some reason I felt I was imposing on these people by being there. No real space to sit and relax in the room. I had left my bags for later pick up and when I came to get them I asked if I could use the washroom. I was told both washrooms were "occupied" and I should go to the train station.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 35 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2009

I went to Genoa for a business trip. I booked a room at Essiale and paid €55.00 to share a bathroom. The situation was very uncomfortable, and squalid and it's not a B & B. It's more like you are sharing a room in a large apartment. I had to leave early because I was really unhappy with the accomodation. The location is noisy outside on the streets as it was in the in the large apartment. I've spent less for B&B in other cities such as Tuscany and Venice in real B&Bs.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ESESESES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

First, there is no a/c. Although there are high ceilings and the temperature inside is okay with windows open, you cannot keep windows open at night without being woken up at least a dozen times by the sound of trains passing. Even with the windows closed, an average sleeper will wake up to the constant travel of trains. However, sleeping with the windows closed does not provide a flow of air in any capacity.
Bathrooms and rooms are extremely clean! However, you have to share the bathroom with others.
Breakfast is very nice.
Hosts come across as very nice and helpful! However, don't expect to be able to depart earlier than you planned (and didn't pay for) without getting terrible looks and luke-warm reception from the hostess upon your decision to change plans. The host was understanding, but the hostess made us feel very bad for deciding to leave earlier than expected.
We were never invited or suggested to use the living room that is pictured. This made us feel as though we had to be confined to our small bedroom.

We paid the same or MORE for this B&B as we did for hotels and other B&Bs around Liguria, Tuscany, and Rome that also offered breakfast and internet, but unlike this place, the other places had air condition, private bathrooms, and no passing trains throughout the night.

The value for money is terrible and left us feeling cheated!
For a great B&B in Italy, we recommend La Terza in Soave (granted it might not be on your itinerary to travel to that region, but it was fabulous in every way)!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cross-culturalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Costanza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Giuseppe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
Thank GemmaRomanoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lauranette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Righi
B&B Vecchia Genova
B&B Vecchia Genova
#20 of 172 in Genoa
89 reviews
Hotel Nologo
#13 of 90 in Genoa
884 reviews
Grand Hotel Savoia
#2 of 90 in Genoa
2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Olympia Hotel Genova
#3 of 90 in Genoa
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essiale Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essiale Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via Gropallo 14/2, 16122, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Genoa
Price Range: $80 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Essiale Bed and Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essiale Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing