We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid value option near train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Essiale Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #134 of 161 Genoa B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Solid value option near train station”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Located up the hill from the central train station, it is a clean place with simple amenities (however while you do have your own bathroom it is not ensuite). Owners are very helpful and gave a great dinner option in the port area. Breakfast was good - fresh eggs made to order!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Handemonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
16
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Five stars all around! Essiale B&B has a prime location, only fifteen minutes on foot from the old centre of Genua and even closer to Stazione Brignole, very convenient for those visitors arriving by train. Paolo and Francesco provide you with a warm welcome and plenty of advise on sights to see and places to dine. You can follow their restaurant suggestions blindly... especially Gaia. Also, they prepare an amazing breakfast for you as a good start of the day, with real hot chocolat, scrambled eggs and sweet pastries. You feel that Paola and Francesco are experienced travellers themselves and that they enjoy hosting people from all over the world. Essiale B&B is an address to keep in your pocket!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Run by a very friendly couple, I found the accommodation spotlessly clean and it was handy having Wifi to plan the rest of my trip. The breakfast was superb, great coffee, lovely eggs and an overall terrific spread to start the day.

Given guests have to share a bathroom, I thought the price for one night was expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbarLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

We spent two nights at Essiale B&B and enjoyed our time. Paola and her husband were very friendly and always helpful. The bed was a little firm, but just how we like it, so no complaints there. Breakfast was more than adequate for us and we were offered eggs every morning as well as the buffet.
Its close to the train station, actually opposite, but you have to walk around the tracks and uphill to get to it, We had our windows closed so it was quite peaceful for us.
Room was nice and clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonadPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intra, Italia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

The Essiale bnb is veeery close to the centre, but in a very peaceful zone. The structure has everything you could need, is very well cleaned and it has a good breakfast service, PLUS free wifi! And everything in a ancient-like villa. Paola and her husband are lovely persons <3 You gotta try this place :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank giobicom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

B and B Essiale in Genova is good value and in a great location. The room was clean, (beds a bit tough and shower could use a bit more pressure) and Paola who owns it is a very nice and friendly person. Easy walk to the city and parking only a short walk away.
Paola recommended a great little restaurant not far away where we had some really good local food.
Would definitely recommend it for a stay in Genova

Room Tip: All rooms basicaly the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertOldboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Assarotti
Hotel Assarotti
#51 of 90 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nologo
Hotel Nologo
#13 of 90 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balbi Family Hotel
Balbi Family Hotel
#28 of 90 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mercure Genova San Biagio
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#33 of 90 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Starhotels President
Starhotels President
#21 of 90 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essiale Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essiale Bed and Breakfast

Property: Essiale Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Gropallo 14/2, 16122, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Essiale Bed and Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Essiale Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing