We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our short stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essiale Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Essiale Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #127 of 160 Genoa B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our short stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

We spent two nights at Essiale B&B and enjoyed our time. Paola and her husband were very friendly and always helpful. The bed was a little firm, but just how we like it, so no complaints there. Breakfast was more than adequate for us and we were offered eggs every morning as well as the buffet.
Its close to the train station, actually opposite, but you have to walk around the tracks and uphill to get to it, We had our windows closed so it was quite peaceful for us.
Room was nice and clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonadPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
15
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Intra, Italia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

The Essiale bnb is veeery close to the centre, but in a very peaceful zone. The structure has everything you could need, is very well cleaned and it has a good breakfast service, PLUS free wifi! And everything in a ancient-like villa. Paola and her husband are lovely persons <3 You gotta try this place :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank giobicom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

B and B Essiale in Genova is good value and in a great location. The room was clean, (beds a bit tough and shower could use a bit more pressure) and Paola who owns it is a very nice and friendly person. Easy walk to the city and parking only a short walk away.
Paola recommended a great little restaurant not far away where we had some really good local food.
Would definitely recommend it for a stay in Genova

Room Tip: All rooms basicaly the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertOldboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

About 100 metres from the main train tracks. Couldn't leave the window open because of noise and the room was stuffy. Breakfast was adequate. For some reason I felt I was imposing on these people by being there. No real space to sit and relax in the room. I had left my bags for later pick up and when I came to get them I asked if I could use the washroom. I was told both washrooms were "occupied" and I should go to the train station.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

I went to Genoa for a business trip. I booked a room at Essiale and paid €55.00 to share a bathroom. The situation was very uncomfortable, and squalid and it's not a B & B. It's more like you are sharing a room in a large apartment. I had to leave early because I was really unhappy with the accomodation. The location is noisy outside on the streets as it was in the in the large apartment. I've spent less for B&B in other cities such as Tuscany and Venice in real B&Bs.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ESESESES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

First, there is no a/c. Although there are high ceilings and the temperature inside is okay with windows open, you cannot keep windows open at night without being woken up at least a dozen times by the sound of trains passing. Even with the windows closed, an average sleeper will wake up to the constant travel of trains. However, sleeping with the windows closed does not provide a flow of air in any capacity.
Bathrooms and rooms are extremely clean! However, you have to share the bathroom with others.
Breakfast is very nice.
Hosts come across as very nice and helpful! However, don't expect to be able to depart earlier than you planned (and didn't pay for) without getting terrible looks and luke-warm reception from the hostess upon your decision to change plans. The host was understanding, but the hostess made us feel very bad for deciding to leave earlier than expected.
We were never invited or suggested to use the living room that is pictured. This made us feel as though we had to be confined to our small bedroom.

We paid the same or MORE for this B&B as we did for hotels and other B&Bs around Liguria, Tuscany, and Rome that also offered breakfast and internet, but unlike this place, the other places had air condition, private bathrooms, and no passing trains throughout the night.

The value for money is terrible and left us feeling cheated!
For a great B&B in Italy, we recommend La Terza in Soave (granted it might not be on your itinerary to travel to that region, but it was fabulous in every way)!

  • Liked — the breakfast was decent
  • Disliked — no a/c, trains passing throughout day and night, shared bathrooms, not so comfortable beds, cramped quarters
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cross-culturalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Starhotels President
#19 of 90 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Castelletto
Hotel Cairoli
Hotel Cairoli
#28 of 90 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bologna
#35 of 90 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
NH Genova Centro
#8 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essiale Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essiale Bed and Breakfast

Property: Essiale Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Gropallo 14/2, 16122, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Essiale Bed and Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Essiale Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing