We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and room - great for a short break”
Review of Hotel Nologo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nologo
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal location and room - great for a short break”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a total of three nights. Staff were pleasant enough upon arrival. You'll get asked to pay city tax which is an additional payment of €1 per person for every day you spend in Genoa.

Room was a good size for us as a couple with great storage. Shower had good pressure and had hair/soap dispenser in it. Towels are also included with the room. Aircon kept us cool all evening. Walls are quite thin but this didn't end up bothering us much and obviously the novelty of the music themed rooms was a nice touch!

The only issue we had was that we booked through an external website which said there were no double rooms left so we booked a triple room which obviously cost a bit more but we were prepared to pay as it offered such a great price anyway. Upon arrival the receptionist realised there were only two of us and so got her colleague to turn down the third bed. She then informed us that we could have called the hotel directly to say we were only a two and they would have charged us accordingly. We did email prior to our visit to say this but never got a reply (we had infact forgotten we emailed by that point!). So when you book - if it says they have no double rooms just call them directly as they make up the bedrooms tailored to your needs and beds aren't permanently installed. We had to push our beds together but it wasn't so bad, would have been nice to save even more money though!

Location was great because on your way into the marina (12 mins walk away) you get to see all the smaller roads, notable places and hidden gems! The city is really not that big and we got to places pretty swiftly.

Carrefour (small supermarket) is hidden down an alley on the main road near Carpisa (bag shop). Took me a while to find that out so be sure to take a peek down the alleys and you'll see a sign in green writing. Be sure to shop in the day though as it shuts quite early! The 24hr Vending machines up the road leading to XX Septembre sell water for just 50 cent - the cheapest we found.

Overall, a great trip with a great hotel in an ideal location!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank MangaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    384
    105
    20
    12
See reviews for
197
286
44
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parnu, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had pleasant stay in Hotel Nologo. It had great location and nice service. We had excellent balcony and room with nice style. It was interesting to see that different rooms had different style like rock, reggae, etc. So as a summary I have to say main thing for us was that we had good value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaidotheCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

It is hard to find a reasonably priced hotel in any of the big cities in Italy so I chose this one primarily for its price and close proximity to the train station (only a 200 metre walk away). While the room is not big (we were 2 adults and 2 youngish kids), the space and storage is so well designed that we had more space to put our things than we have had in other places with bigger rooms but badly laid out. for example the sink in the bathroom was a corner sink so much bigger than it would have been. Another example the wardrobe is an open hanger which is great because it means you can put your suitcase at the bottom whereas in most enclosed wardrobes you cant. So well priced, well located and well designed. The rooms aren't sound proof so it was easy to hear noise outside-I'm so used to sleeping with earplugs I wasn't that bothered. We didn't have b'fast included but there are lots of cheap food places nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel is good value for the price. The room & bathroom are clean. The hotel is right at the center of the city, which is very convenient. But the room is not sound proof, can hear everything from the hallway. Got woke up a few time middle of the night and early morning when other guests talking or walk around in the hallway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyLittleFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at Hotel Nologo on our way towards Cinque Terre and La Spezia. The location is perfect. Close to everything in the city. Be cautious about parking. We used www.myparking.it to find a good and cheap garage.

The reception was very friendly and helpful. The room (EUR 50.00 for a double room) was nice and super-clean. We even had our own small balcony.

All in all a perfect stay and we would surely come again on our next trip.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank grungtheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, very near the station and easy to get into the centre of town. The room was a good size, everything was very new and clean. Very good value for money. Only downside was the staff were rather unfriendly. They didn't give us any information about the hotel, whether breakfast was included for example, or anything about the city. But if the price of the rooms remains as cheap I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyselphick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel is not far from the station making it very easy to find. On the downside, our balcony faced into the narrow side-street where crowds of youths hung around outside the hostel, drinking and revving their scooters until very late into the night. The crowd did seem to evaporate at approximately midnight.

At first we were impressed by the cleanliness and size of the room, however, we woke up to thousands of ants scurrying around the floor. This resembled a scene from a 1980s horror film. Some items of food had to be thrown away, but worst of all, they had found their way into our bags and rucksacks which inevitably marked as some of our clothes.

A kind member of staff on the desk apologised, gave us a different room and offered us - one night's stay for free. He was very sympathetic and his customer service skills were impeccable. The replacement room was significantly smaller, and we had to share a double bed which was not ideal, however, as this night was to be free of charge, we pushed these thoughts out of our minds.

When I checked my bank account, it was clear that I had NOT received the refund promised.

When I queried the refund, the previous warm reception from the staff had evaporated. They didn't want to know. As by this time we had checked-out, I requested a phone-call back, this did not happen. I then called again where I was told to express my case via email.

The response from hotel Nologo to my email included the following:

'there is no possibility to refund you and it's also strange that someone of the staff could have told you that for an accident '

I would never stay there again...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Olympia Hotel Genova
#3 of 91 in Genoa
651 reviews
Quarto dei Mille
AC Hotel Genova
AC Hotel Genova
#20 of 91 in Genoa
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nologo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nologo

Property: Hotel Nologo
Address: Viale Sauli 5, 16121, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nologo 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You don’t need to break the bank to plan a stylish weekend getaway or a good business trip in Genoa. At Nologo Hotel you save your money and stay stylish. This is the first budget-friendly hotel in Genoa that perfectly combines hip design, central location and a great value price. Business travelers, loving couples, families and groups, can all find their bargain at Nologo Hotel.Get prepared for a good vibrations hotel experience, where smart and colorful rooms meet free fast Wi-Fi connection and valuable cutting-edge amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Nologo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing