We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Balbi”
Review of Hotel Balbi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Balbi
Ranked #28 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hotel Balbi is fine for a night or two in Genova. You can explore the town on foot from there, and the street is easy to find.
The place has a certain old fashioned charm. Be warned that it is on the second floor and there is no lift.
The free wi-fi is a bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 314 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

Been here for a 2 night stay to get the Whole family to the Acquarium in Genova.
We're 5 and getting a good room for a decent cost can be very difficult, expecially in the city center. So we get this hotel name via Booking.com.
Inside an historic building in the very city center (200mt from the Harbor and from the historic Via del Campo), they will provide you a cheap but clean and good enough stay.
The furnitures are not as a Sheraton, but they are kind trying to give you anything you need.
The bed is good, room quite and the breakfast is simple, but acceptable.
There's no elevator, so be prepared to clinb a 2 floors Marble historic stair to get into the hotel lobby.
Free wifi, internet point.
There's no parking, but there's a public parking (17/20 EUR per night) 150 mt close.

We spent 142 EUR including breakfast for 5 people.

Room Tip: Ask for the roof-painted rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corrado C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

When we travel within Italy we use the trains. This hotel is located within walking distance from the train station.

This hotel is in the upper floors of the building and it doesn't have an elevator. If you use the call box at the street entrance they will send some one down for your luggage. Our room wasn't fancy but it was large and had a lovely fresco on the ceiling. Just what we wanted for an overnight stay.

We stayed at this hotel after a cruise and found the hotel management to be very helpful. We checked in early and asked the manager about tours to the Cinque Terre. He went to his computer and within minutes returned with printouts of that day's train schedule, maps and a prioritized list of places to visit with the limited time we had. We were able to visit Vernazza and Monterosso al Mare by train.

When we returned from our short visit to the Cinque Terre we requested an early morning wake up call, check out and a taxi to the airport. The manager informed us that our room included a free breakfast and we would miss breakfast with our schedule. We had no problem missing the free breakfast but a few minutes after we returned to our room there was a knock on the door, they had put together a couple of boxed breakfasts for us to eat in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 59_Ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Hotel Balbi is a compact, utilitarian 2 star kind of place. Nothing special in the way of facilities, but the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the WiFi works great. The best part of this hotel is the location - just a few blocks away from the train station, Genova Piazza Principe, basically up the hill and around the corner to the right. The other plus is the staff, which is very friendly and speaks English. The clerk that checked us in showed us a great walking route around the city that we did in the morning. A negative is that there is no view out of the rooms, but that’s a common issue in a city with tall buildings that sit very close to each other. There are also a lot of steps, which would be annoying if you are traveling with heavy luggage. In sum, nothing fancy, but a good value with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel was love at first sight, when I saw the frescoes on the ceilings I knew I want to stay there. And I wasn´t dissapointed, it is a nice and cozy hotel. The price was reasonable and the location convenient. It is just few steps from Stazione Principe, in the same street as Palazzo Reale and the old harbor is near too. The breakfast selection is not too wide,but ok, excellent coffee. The staff is nice and helpful. The only negative thing I can remember is that „our“ fresco really needed to repair.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ignis_cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We booked a double bed room with shower and bathroom. The rooms are not so nice as it is shown here in the photos. I don't know how they made so nice photos of those rooms ! This hotel is located on the third and fourth floors of an old building and it DOES NOT have elevator. The building is not meant to be used as a hotel. It has no parking and the closest parking garage costs at least 21 euro for 24 hours and you have to leave your car's key in the garage! Our room was in fact a small apartment with living room and bedroom and shower and bathroom in the 4th floor of the building. The room was very spacious with seats and sofa but it had no window to the street. It was pretty dark and not as clean as we expected. The bed was ok but not very good quality. The breakfast was pretty basic and not very good quality. The bread was not so fresh and coffee was not so good. The location of the hotel is average. It is close to the port, but not very close to the city centre. And there is not wireless Internet available in the rooms, only in lobby. The hotel has no facility for kids and old people and I can recommend it only to young people.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th floor are very big and spacious (room 5 and 6). They are separated apartments w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rouzbeh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

This hotel had a nice decor, but the bed was the hardest, most unfortable bed I have ever had to sleep on. I had to take the clothes out of my suitcase and lay them out the mattress before I could get to sleep! There was a lot of noise and strange cooking smells coming from the courtyard. The breakfast was pretty average too.
After the first uncomfortable night we wanted to leave, but the management would not let us cancel our second night's booking and we couldn't afford to pay for two hotels, so we had to stay the second night. Apart from that the staff were quite helpful and friendly, but it was still frustrating.
The hotel is very close to railway station, so good if you are travelling by train, but otherwise I would think about going somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbournetraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
1 mi away
Olympia Hotel Genova
Olympia Hotel Genova
#3 of 91 in Genoa
682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nologo
Hotel Nologo
#13 of 91 in Genoa
873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nuovo Nord
Hotel Nuovo Nord
#16 of 91 in Genoa
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ricci
Hotel Ricci
#37 of 91 in Genoa
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vittoria Orlandini
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#30 of 91 in Genoa
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balbi

Address: Via Balbi 21/3, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range: $58 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Balbi 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Via Balbi seat of the University and the street declared a World Heritage by UNESCO in Genoa, a few steps from the historical center, from the aquarium, the train station P. Principe and the Cruise terminal .The Family Hotel Balbi connection Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and all rooms have a / c, fridge, kettle, telephone, free wifi As the name suggests the hotel, the Balbi is a family-run The Family Hotel Balbi is located in a historic building with frescoes and parquet floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Balbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Balbi Family
Balbi Family Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing