We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fatastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda di Palazzo Cicala
Ranked #67 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Nice, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fatastic Hotel”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Genoa in a beautifully restored old building that has maintained all its original charm. The staff is exceptionally nice and accommodating and the hotel is comfortable and clean…I truly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natefrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    86
    54
    52
    61
See reviews for
105
116
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
valbonne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hotel is located in old Palazzo. Access is trough slippery outdated, unlighted black marble stair case, very dangerous when raining outside. I had the occasion to fall in it to confirm.

Reception is modern but upholstery is not very clean as breakfast in the lobby on the sofas, in the morning. The bedrooms in main building are small, recently refurbished (not the bedroom doors) with Hermes soap in bathroom but 2cm of dust in AC ceiling in the bathroom. No bath tub but only ceiling shower and no shower cap for women (check with your wife to see what I mean).

The bed is OK. What looks like a PC screen in the table is in fact TV screen. No way to watch TV with head on the pillow with such a small screen (see picture).

Hotel propose some flat that we have not seen. May be that the solution but a bedroom in the Palazzo is not the be recommended.

Overall 2 star hotel if you are familiar with international standard Hotel. Noisy in the morning but this is because it is centre Genova.

Positive: Staff was very nice and helpful for all demands, nice breakfast with very good italian ham

Room Tip: Do not book a room in main building. Ask for the flat outside?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephaneValbonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Genoa hotels

Paris
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a great 3 day stay in this hotel. The rooms are gorgeous, big with high ceilings. Some of the people in the group had also a really nice flat overlooking the cathedral. Internet was free.
The only drawback would come from the breakfast which is really simple and maybe the service which was not that professional but still friendly. I would more than recommend to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Having had an excellent stay at the hotel last year, I chose it without any qualms for my week long vacation at Genova this year. However, I have to say that it was a really disappointing experience, primarily because the management was so poor!

Although I had booked rooms well in advance and confirmed via email, I arrived late evening from Milan only to be told that they didn't have any record of my reservation. (Luckily I had a printout to prove it but the two young men in charge were rather clueless as to what to do next and seemed reluctant to contact the manager, who'd left for the day). Finally, they hit upon the idea of providing me with accommodation at a nearby apartment at Piazza Banchi which was also under the charge of the hotel.

Located on the topmost floor of the building, the apartment was actually part of a larger accommodation, accessed by a common front door and entry area but then segregated into two private quarters, each with it's own lockable sliding door. Although very sparsely decorated with white walls and a wooden floor, it was rather nice with dormer windows, small seating area, two bathrooms (one with a washing machine), a series of wardrobes which formed a corridor to the bedroom and a refrigerator. The elevator stopped off about 3 floors below and luggage had to be carried up the stairs (but this was taken care of by the hotel staff).

Breakfast which was delivered by a lady every morning in a cloth bag considered of a litre(!) of milk, a carton of orange juice, croissants, yoghurt fruit and cheese. A nearby supermarket was extremely convenient for purchase of other provisions, which could be conveniently stocked in the fridge.

The room was cleaned every day and in impeccable condition upon my return in the evening. However the air conditioning system seemed to be faulty and the room was rather warm even at night. A compliant to the lady in charge elicited absolutely no response or remedial measure!

In all, I didn't mind the experience of staying in an apartment, which despite the drawbacks somehow seemed more personal than a hotel and it all appeared safe and comfortable enough and my stay was without any major incident.


But, I must add that the lady, who was in charge of the property was extremely disorganized and not at all helpful. I didn't even get the semblance of an apology for the mess in reservations. Instead of assisting with any (even minor) request of any of the guests, she would reply with a diatribe of her woes - how harassed and overworked she was, what a problem it was to run the establishment without help blah, blah. I overheard guests politely talk about the condition of their rooms, the fact that they discovered their 'fresh' bedspread was stained and other issues, all which we summarily dismissed. During my departure, already exceedingly late for the station, I called well in advance and then went to collect my suitcase and was stalled for a good 15 minutes at the reception for no apparent reason, after which I discovered that it was placed right next to her behind the reception desk all the time!

I noted from some previous reviews that some people found the property difficult to locate, but once you get your bearings, it is actually very close to the San Giorgio metro station and Piazza Ferrari and in an interesting part of the Centro Storico.


Given the fact that it is certainly not the cheapest establishment in Genova and in fact marketed as a hip, design hotel. It was extremely disappointing to note that the management seems to be in such disarray. I did not have an opportunity to see the rooms in the main hotel, but the small lobby next to the reception also seemed to be rather worn and not so clean and fresh as during my stay last year so it does look like this lack of care is showing on the property itself!

I'm sorry to say that next time visit I'll probably give this property a miss!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cotswolds
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Once you find this hotel it is great. Situated in a corner of Piazza San Lorenzo A small plaque over the closed iron door indicates the position of the hotel. May I suggest on arriving ring the bell and ask for help or walk into the large lobby leave your luggage and walk up the marble staircase to get advice about the tiny lift. There was always someone to answer the front door bell immediately and the receptionists were all friendly and helpful.
Our room was large and comfortable, the well equipped TV and Computer did not work (no signal) The shower was good but no plug in the handbasin!
Breakfast was minimalist in a strange 60s style furnished landing. It was very centrally situated and we enjoyed our visit to this beautiful city in spite of feeling rather unwell.

Room Tip: It is a city so could be noisy Just try to find the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

"Hotel" is very, very hard to find. Only a small plaque on the outside of a run-down building in the square. Could not see the name from over 6 feet away. Had to be buzzed in through a grungy door and then walk up 2 flights of stairs with the luggage (someone did help with two of them). With the exception of the pictures of the red furniture (at check-in) NONE of the pictures on the website depict anything we saw.

Our room was not in the same building as where we checked in. Had to walk two blocks, dragging luggage (again had one person helping). The building where our room was I think was being converted to apartments. Took one elevator to 4th floor (had to make two trips because three people and four suitcases would not fit into the tiny elevator). Then, had to drag the luggage up two more flights of stairs to get to the room - clerk said the elevator to get from the 4th floor to the 6th floor was not safe to take, it got stuck a lot. Once on the 6th floor, there was a locked door that led to a hallway that served two rooms.

A different key to open the door to our room. No door knob, just the lock. Room was done spartan Ikea modern - nothing Italian about it. Two air conditioners - neither would get below 28 celsius (about 79 degrees) - the clerk said the owner made them that way to save money on electricity. No shower head - simply a hose with a shower nozzle but not even a place to hang it to stand under. No telephone, could not contact the "front desk" let alone anyone else.

Only two things worth mentioning as good - all the people working at the place were very nice and the location of our building was very close to the wharf. We would never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I chose this hotel as a birthday gift for my husband but was a bit disappointed. The rooms are very nice (they gave us one with a view on the Dome) with a very beautiful design and nice bathrooms, however the service is very poor. Whenever we came to the tiny reception, we always had to wait at least 15 minutes until someone appeared - the hotel is completely understaffed. When it was pouring rain outside in the evening, we were ringing the bell for about 30 minutes until someone let us in.
The breakfast in the morning consisted almost entirely of the typical Lidl products that you get for 30 cents in Europe's cheapest supermarkets - not so classy if you pretend to be a 4 star "design" hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with view on the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Best Western Hotel Metropoli
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda di Palazzo Cicala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di Palazzo Cicala

Property: Locanda di Palazzo Cicala
Address: Piazza San Lorenzo 16, 16123, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Sottoripa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda di Palazzo Cicala 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Locanda di Palazzo Cicala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Di Palazzo Cicala Hotel Genoa
Locanda Di Palazzo Cicala Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing