We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Affordable Hotel in a Central Location”
Review of Soana City Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Soana City Rooms
Ranked #44 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Affordable Hotel in a Central Location”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hotel Soana is a well located budget hotel in Genoa. I stayed there with my wife and six month old son in May and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

It can be slightly difficult to locate initially as it is in a building that is shared by a number of other businesses. The hotel itself occupies two levels of the building I believe.

The main positives of the hotel included its central location to shops and cafes (street behind the hotel) and Old Port (only about 10 minutes walk away), as well as its very affordable price relative to other hotels in the surrounding area.

The only other thing to note is that some people may think it is noisy initially (as it is located on a major road), however as soon as the windows where closed it was quiet inside and we slept well during the night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    116
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
39
79
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Perfect location for a stay in Genoa. Close to all destinationes in the city. Friendly staff, clean ana a simple breakfast. A Garage is very close to the hotel in shopping center, ask for special deals when check in!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reiko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

This 2 star hotel has it all! Great location, fridge in room, safe, great aircon, clean bathroom, quiet room (ask for a quiet room) & helpful staff. The only thing we experienced problems with was the wifi but it soon got sorted. We've stayed in hotels which were 3 - 4 stars all over Europe for the past 2 months but some of them were not as good as this hotel. It's a lovely building with good lift and friendly people that live on the other floors.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyAlice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We just spent three nights at Albergo Soana and liked it very much. The location is very good, an easy walk from train station Brignole and an easy walk to the old city and Via Garibaldi. The Soana is in a nice building and easy to find. The bedroom lighting is good, there are plenty of towels, and the wide window sill in the bathroom provides plenty of "shelf" space. The room was quiet and the air conditioning was efficient and quiet, too. The staff was helpful and pleasant. There are few outlets but we brought a triple outlet with an adapter. We will choose Albergo Soana the next time we are in Genoa.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet interior room, not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

best budget hotel in central genoa. The staff was very helpful. However hotel is not very well acoomodated with tea/ coffee for that you have to go out. Pls note this hotel is based on 4th floor of a building (small hotel). Sonia the receptionist was very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roro2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glos uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This auberge is situated near the bottom of the main shopping street of Genoa Thebed was comfortable,the shower hot and the windows opened.It was also very quiet at night. No breakfast is served although good Italian coffee is always available and they do not mind you bringing in pastries from nearby shops.Genoa is a pleasant town with palaces and a wonderful aquarium.The local food is outstanding.Go down the street.turn left at the bottom of the market (well worth a visit ) and on the right is Il Genovase. We had two meals here the first very good and the second memorable.We also ate at a restaurant in the little piazza beyond Il Genovase which was very good and at the Golden Fish opposite the aquarium. Ridiculously cheap. Would we return?-yes there may be more expensive places but they will not give you the true flavour of Genoa nor will you get such willing service it beats any 5* hotel we have stayed in

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maccroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you want to explore the city this is the hotel for you. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is located in the main street, on the 4th floor very beautiful old building. The price is reasonable.Near the hotel is a large parking. I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snezana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Olympia Hotel Genova
#4 of 92 in Genoa
638 reviews
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#69 of 92 in Genoa
76 reviews
Hotel Ricci
#40 of 92 in Genoa
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nologo
#13 of 92 in Genoa
760 reviews
Piccapietra
Hotel Major
Hotel Major
#48 of 92 in Genoa
51 reviews
Hotel Bologna
#34 of 92 in Genoa
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soana City Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soana City Rooms

Property: Soana City Rooms
Address: Via Venti Settembre 23/8, 16121, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Soana City Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Soana City Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soana Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing