We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria
Ranked #56 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great, old fashioned railway hotel in superb location. 5 minutes walk from Brignole, 15 minutes walk from the Old Town. Very quiet, massive rooms, original decor in some, and bygone charm throughout. Breakfast is superb, especially the cornetti and cappuchino.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George_Sawer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 362 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night, booked 2 adults and 3 children, get there late and the room has bunk beds and one twin bed? booked for 5 people and only 4 beds. they could not help with anything, no spare beds no nothing! slept 3 on the double bed! location is close to train station but we drove, parked on the street. Free street parking from 8pm to 8am. Room was big with tall celling, bathroom was fine. Yes there is an old elavator, can be trouble if someone on the 5th floor forgets to close the door and the elavator stays there until someone closes the door! Breakfast was included and was quite nice and filling. Wife found it charming, I found it annoying that they could not help with a spare bed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night July 13th 2013. We arrived to this hotel Saturday night and was not very impressed by its location. We were driving and finding parking around the hotel was very hard. Finally we got a spot but the cars are parking so close to each other that we could not get out of the car. The reception is quite small but at least staff spoke English. After checking our passports we got our key and was able to go up to our room. Th elevator looked like a see through cage so you can see outside while you are travelling up. Confusing system with the floors. Our room was saying third floor but with the elevator you have to go to he fourth floor.
The room itself was big with old looking furniture and bathroom with a tub and curtain around it. We got a room with 4 beds but was not impressed for 3 adults and a 6 foot teenager to see a bunk bed. The framework of the bunk bed was so fragile looking that we did not want to risk injury so lifted the mattresses out and put them on the floor. Our door was very hard to open sometimes it seemed we got stuck inside. Night time was noisy not able to sleep well from the noises of the city. Internet is free and good reception even in our room. Breakfast is sufficient and nice but modest variety. City tax is applicable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirl0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I plus our two girls stayed here in June 2013 for several days while visiting family in Genova. The building is very close to the train station and extremely convenient for anything downtown. Parking can be an issue. There is a lot half a block away, but it is not manned 24-hours, so when they close you can't get your car until they open again (but that is common in Genova and no reflection on the hotel). We had to do our share of street parking at $2 Euro/hour. In the lot it ran about $18 Euro per day. They only have about 5 spots in front of the building, and they are metered and almost always taken, but there are two spots for offloading and you can double-park as well (hey, it's Italy).

Judging by many of the reviews, they have undergone a renovation recently. Our room had a fantastic painted ceiling that is a work of art (I thought at first it was actual trim). The room was large, with 10 foot ceilings, a huge bed (King?) and bunk beds for the girls. The bed was comfortable --- not the best but definitely not the worst. On the firm side. Two huge windows let in lots of light. The AC works well once you figure out the remote.

Our bathroom was large and had nice tile and fixtures. My only issue is that the bathtub has a tri-fold shower extension for when you shower, and it did not go into place very well. I had a huge puddle one time. Also, our tub faucet dripped scalding water on your toes if you moved under it, despite the water coming from the shower head being perfectly adjusted. We also had family saying in two other rooms and they didn't have any complaints about their tubs/showers, so maybe this was an issue with just this one room.

Our girls loved the old elevator. And the lobby is very elegant. The continental breakfast was excellent, with yogurt, breads, toast, pastries, cold meats, and various coffees to order. But it is definitely Italian-style. If you're expecting a Denny's Grand Slam breakfast, you might want to look elsewhere (like the U.S.A., not Italy). I always looked forward to the breakfast myself. The wait staff was always very professional, courteous and on top of things.

We were on the 4th floor (300's) and the wifi signal was fine.

All-in-all we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it. It is in a very good spot downtown and has tons of charm and very professional staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CT_Programmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astoriage, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for your kind words about our Hotel and staff !!!

Best regards
paola pieraccioli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently on a business trip to Genoa. The Astoria Hotel is not a business hotel as it does not offer the little bits of luxury a business man (travelling light) would normally expect from a hotel (slippers, bathrobe, dry clean service, business services). The hotel is very conveniently located, the breakfast is good and the hotel staff very helpful and attentive. Otherwise, the room was rather spartan in its furniture and equipment. The (free) Wi-Fi connection was excellent. If I were a tourist looking for a cheap clean and full of character hotel, I would certainly consider Astoria as a choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arisv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astoriage, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013
Google Translation

Gentilissimi,

grazie per parole spese per il nostro albergo ! e grazie anche per il servizio fotografico !
volevo solo precisare che la vostra camera non è una parte di una suite , ma è comunicante con un' altra camera, che è una soluzione molto gradita dalle famiglie.
Sperando in un'altra vostra visita, Vi saluto cordialmente.
Paola Pieraccioli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is our third trip to our beloved city of Genova, and we couldn't stay anywhere else but at the Astoria! Upon our return every two years or so, the staff still remember us.
From the amazing big rooms to the lovely old cage lift, character abounds within the Astoria. It's location near Station Brignole and the Metro is superb. Local restaurants, bars and shopping are all very close by.
Nothing is ever too much of a problem for the staff and their local knowledge is excellent.
Always cannot wait till we return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nathanial_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Astoria is a beautiful grand hotel with 1920's decor. The large, antique mahogany elevator is memorable. The breakfast was wonderful, with attentive staff who will make special coffees, if you desire. The room was large and had a private foyer, and a modern, clean bathroom. The free Wifi worked, but only near the door of the room.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astoriage, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

dear madame, dear sir

me and all the staff thank you very much for the nice words about our hotel !!!

We wait for your next visit.

best regards
Paola Pieraccioli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Starhotels President
#25 of 91 in Genoa
982 reviews
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barone
#62 of 91 in Genoa
33 reviews
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria

Address: Piazza Brignole 4, 16122, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: $100 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Top Hotel
Top Hotel Genoa
Genoa Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing