We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good starting point for a cruise”
Review of Galles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galles Hotel
Ranked #87 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“good starting point for a cruise”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Is halfway between the train station and the port (both about 500 m.)
The rooms are clean, breakfast is good (an Italyan way more sweets).
Can someone disturb, the trafic but the windows well seperate noise.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by noise, do not choose room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katalin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    30
    19
    44
See reviews for
24
48
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I picked this hotel in last minute to spend in Genova one night. The hotel is conveniently located near the port and the centre. The staff is very nice and helpful. The room was very big and clean with pretty good bed. Yes the neigbourhood doesn't look flash but not to the point you should be scared. if you need to use internet use the free internet in the lobby as the paid wi-fi has poor reception. the breakfast is pretty good with nice juice and really nice coffee machine. we parked the car in front of the hotel and without the charge. If you come here for short stay it is good place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_T_K4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms and very helpfull staff...if you don't mind the traffic. the hotel is perfectly located near the port and the cruise docks. Breakfast was kind of poor if you plan on having it...and do not try to eat at the restaurant wich has the convention with the hotel because it is horrible

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxxy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I've waited almost one hour before i can get the room, the coffee is the worst i drank in my whole life, the jacuzzi they show me doesn't work, i've been woke up at 7:30 by the noisy and unpolite neighbourhood, the staff doesn't speak French, the lights into the room are broken, they sell me the buffet-breakfast and i saw only orange juice on that table. The espresso machine didn't work. The location is not pretty safe for the turists that don't know genova and the entry is dirty. this is not a 3 star hotel. shame on you!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosimo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Genoa hotels

Sanremo, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located in front of the subway "Principe" station, which gives you easy access to the city centre (only 4 stops to "De Ferrari", and 2 to the touristic port). It is also to be considered that it's really close to thee ferry terminal. Notwithstanding these advatages, please note that this zone of Genoa is not so safe at night, and keep your eyes opened when you walk around when it's dark.

I stayed just a night; on my opinion the rooms urgently need to be renewed, since furnitures are quite old! The bathroom was insted really nice!

The breakfast is served on the ground floor... or, well... let's just say that you have to help yourself with the automatic coffee machine (bad coffee) and then there isn't a buffet where you can take what you want! You can only eat the few things that are pre-placed on your table, and that's it! I was quite disappointed about this!

Now let's come to the most disappointing thing: the price. 65€/night for a single room is too much for a place like this!!! I stayed in better places paying less. I suggest you to look for another place in the case you are going to stay in Genoa.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielekdagostino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2007

Real disappointment. The location is terrible; 'seafront' in Genoa means on a very busy road with a further flyover between you and the bay, itself a busy industrial area - very noisy and unpleasant; the walk towards the nicer area of town is grotty and rundown too, and to be honest we didn't feel very safe even in daylight. The room was large but very grotty, holes in and stains on the walls, the bathroom had been refurbed but everything else was horrible. Breakfast was nasty too. Don't go!

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank greystokeeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2007

This hotel is difficult to find. The sign which is most visible from the roadside says Hotel Garage with only small words on the window blinds saying Galles. We circled round and round for ages until it got dark looking for this hotel and didn't realise we'd passed it 10 times already. When we arrived, the room we were given stunk of smoke despite having asked for a non-smoking room. The next room we were given had ash trays everywhere including the bathroom but smelt somewhat better. Towels in the bathroom were as thin as a tablecloth or napkins and didn't dry anything, which wasn't great being winter. Breakfast was average. There was a bowl of rotting fruit on the bar. It would be better not to have a fruit bowl at all. TV in breakfast room had CNN showing. As there were no English channels in our room we appreciated this, but were only able to watch it for 10 seconds, when the hotel receptionist changed it to his Italian soccer channel. We were the only people in the dining room and he knew full well we were English speaking. He also was on the computer with a chat room up full volume at the same time. Glad to leave this place.

  • Liked — Location once you found it
  • Disliked — Towels, Smoking, Breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid this hotel
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SAGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
0.2 mi away
CIT Hotel Britannia
CIT Hotel Britannia
#26 of 92 in Genoa
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#47 of 92 in Genoa
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galata
Hotel Galata
#61 of 92 in Genoa
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chopin
Hotel Chopin
#14 of 92 in Genoa
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nuovo Nord
Hotel Nuovo Nord
#15 of 92 in Genoa
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galles Hotel

Property: Galles Hotel
Address: Via Bersaglieri d'Italia 13, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Galles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Galles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galles Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing