We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Villa Bonera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Bonera
Ranked #26 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The building is superb, a 16th century villa that is probably essentially the same as when it was built. It is near to bus stops, the 17 for going to Brignole rail station or the 15 for the run along the coast to Genoa. The harbour and the start of the Passiagata Anita Garibaldi are a short stroll, around 200 metres.
The gardens could benefit from a little maintenance, but then the cost of staying is very reasonable.
I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, Responsabile reception at Villa Bonera, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for your review, Mr. Prior, it's been a pleasure to have you as our guests as well!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 262 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet and beautiful suburb (Nervi), very close to the rocky sea-shore and the imposing Annita Garibaldi promenade. Easy access to the city-centre by bus or by train. The building itself is a little faded but has a genuine renaissance atmosphere. The rooms were clean and the breakfast good enough.
If travelling by car, It will be a little difficult to find it (its better to have a GPS)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, Responsabile reception at Villa Bonera, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you, it's always nice to read reviews like yours.
Once you found us you'ge got to come back, you would have no excuse eh eh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The location is ideal.. A block from the rail station and the promenade at the beach. The rooms are excellent and the grounds well cared for. This is a great place to relax or use as a base. The area surrounding the hotel is a very nice residential neighborhood and being a block from the promenade, makes evening walks a great way to finish the day. There are a few restaurants on the promenade with a great Mediterrean view. Genova can be reached by bus or rail. Cinque Terra is about 60 minutes away, by rail, which makes it great for a day trip.

Room Tip: The bus and rail services are within a 5 minutes walk. The great promenade along the beach is a bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, Responsabile reception at Villa Bonera, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks Mike, I'm glad you liked the hotel and the location!
I have to say we've got a good restaurant in our hotel even without the sea view, so I hope you'll come back to try it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our first hotel in Italy. We came with our car from Marseilles, France. With your GPS, very easy to find : be careful to watch on your right, it's on the other side of a big wall, down the tiny street. You'll see the the name of the hotel above the door. This is a very old house (XIV), the elavator is so small, you cannot take it with 2 persons and 2 luggages, One at a time ! The parking is free and safe. You can see your car from your room. The bathroom is okay but if you're a little bit fancy, you won't like it. Enough clean for 1 night. The bedroom is clean, space is okay. The breakfast will give you enough to start your day.

Room Tip: Rooms south-east on the third floor will give you beautiful sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PopiNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights in this hotel last summer. The location is super, an authentic " villa genovese". Our room was big, clean and confortable, the only negative detail: the bathroom should be renewed. What I enjoyed most is the breakfast in the garden, with homemade cakes and jams, really amazing! I would definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saruzza3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My room, on the second floor in the corner, was large, clean and quiet, and it had a good-sized bathroom and comfortable bed. Yes, the hotel has seen its glory days, but for the price (84 euros in August) I couldn’t have done better. The hotel is located just seven minutes from the Genoa Nervi train station and the Passaggieto Anita Garibaldi. (It's a bit difficult to find.) One of the clerks is very pleasant. For the budget-minded, a very good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolandsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

the hote is in an very old villa, its not in the center of Genova, but in Nervi, its 5 mins walking to the sea, where are lot of restarants located.
Room is not clean, seems the floor is long time not vacumed and swept, hotel room is very big, but becaues near the railway, its a bit noisy in the night, this problem i suppose will be found in most of places in that area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myysmulders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Hotel Esperia
#33 of 91 in Genoa
135 reviews
Nervi
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#39 of 91 in Genoa
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quarto dei Mille
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#30 of 91 in Genoa
140 reviews
Foce
Hotel Boccascena
Hotel Boccascena
#24 of 91 in Genoa
120 reviews
Quarto dei Mille
AC Hotel Genova
AC Hotel Genova
#21 of 91 in Genoa
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bonera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bonera

Address: Via Sarfatti, 8, 16100, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Nervi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range: $86 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Bonera 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Bonera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing