We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky”
Review of Hotel Cairoli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cairoli
Ranked #30 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Inverness, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

To find it you have to do the Disney queuing thing: go through doors, along corridors, around corners, up steps, hop in a dinky little old fashioned elevator that clunks you all the way up to the third floor, ring a doorbell and you're in. Nothing simpler.

Our room, which we stayed in on two occasions within a fortnight, was clean, brightly and individually painted, with air conditioning that worked very well (thankfully), windows that opened if you wanted real air, a stocked mini bar, tv and pretty comfy beds. Both times so it wasn't a one off.

As a base for exploring Genoa it's in an excellent position on the edge of the old town. Staff were very helpful and friendly and didn't mind us murdering the Italian language too much.

For the price, and from our experience, I would have no hesitation in returning again or recommending it to those of you looking for a moderately priced, clean and comfy base from which to wander the maze that is the Genoan old city.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank His2ryCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    180
    52
    12
    8
See reviews for
95
139
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed one night, in room 9. Positives: excellent location, helpful staff, sunny breakfast room with decent food offerings. Negatives: paper-thin walls (can hear neighbor), small room and design of room suboptimal (one side of the bed was so close to the wall that it was difficult to get out), reading light by bed was impractical (didn't offer enough light to read by)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJBraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I would recommend this hotel when visiting Genoa. The room was clean and spacious. Ample varied breakfast, staff spoke English and were willing to help with places to visit. Plenty of information on where to visits in Genoa and surrounding area.
Free Wi Fi in room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StezC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

A very conveniently located pensione. We were a family of 4 traveling with two teenager boys. We got two adjacent rooms , one of them opening directly on the terrace. The rooms are relatively small, bathroom is minimum versus American standards but clean. Breakfast is included .
Very well located in the historical center of Genova.
Staff is friendly.
For the price of a one family room in a regular hotel , we got these two rooms and it was really a much better choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opening on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azigule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Location of this Hotel Cairoli is excellent in the heart of beautiful Genoa. We felt in love with this city and the hotel was also a good one. Staff in the hotel was helpful and breakfast was good. Room was nice and clean and there was an efficient airconditioning (although the maid had put the aircondition off when she was cleaning the room). There was a free wifi but unfortunately it did not work in the room at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Cairoli as a party of two adults for two nights.

The location of the hotel could not be better in Genoa. It is central in the town and is just a five to ten minute walk to the old town and port. The next street across from Cairoli is the Via Garibaldi which is lined with beautiful palaces.

The hotel itself is located on the 3rd Floor of a building, but is well signposted from the street. The door in to the building was open most of the time, but if not there was a bell to ring. You then entered the building and could choose to use the lift or the stairs to the third floor. The hotel is very secure and the reception was always staffed.

Our room was a standard double and was decorated in a 'quirky' style, but this suited us well. The room itself had air-conditioning and a double window which opened fully so you could see down on to the street below. The bathroom was en-suite and small but adequate.

The breakfast at the hotel is continental and did not include much choice, but what was there was of good quality and we enjoyed it. There was always cereals, croissants, bread, ham, cheese, cake, fruit and fresh juice available. The breakfast room is a great room which overlooks the street and is flooded with light in the mornings.

The hotel also had free Wifi access, a sun terrace, TV room, fitness centre and a general sitting area which you can use.

The staff on reception spoke good English and were very helpful and accommodating. When we asked for a map of the city, the lady at reception not only provided it but also gave her time to explain the best places to visit, eat, where the best views of the city can be found and was overall extremely helpful. Without her input I do not think we would have discovered as much of Genoa as we achieved in our time there.

Overall, a really friendly and reliable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classicmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Location:Excellent..In Old town close to all palaces..shops...port and 10-15 minute walk to train station. easy walking everywhere with numerous cafes/restaurants close by.
Hotel: Friendly and secure.Rooms small (as all city hotels) but nice decor and very clean.Staff very helpful.Breakfast adequate with the best coffee in town.3rd floor location with quirky lift !!
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Stayed in room 9 which had patio door to terrace...only room with direct access to terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rogeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Porto Antico
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#34 of 91 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olympia Hotel Genova
Olympia Hotel Genova
#4 of 91 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vittoria Orlandini
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nuovo Nord
Hotel Nuovo Nord
#16 of 91 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balbi Family Hotel
Balbi Family Hotel
#32 of 91 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cairoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cairoli

Property: Hotel Cairoli
Address: Via Cairoli 14/4, 16124, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Castelletto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cairoli 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Genoa, which, with its splendid Pallazzi dei Rolli was named a UNESCO World Heritage Site in July of 2006, the Hotel Cairoli is located on Via Cairoli, just a short walk from the Museum of the Risorgimento, the Aquarium, the Bigo and the Porto Antico, and one of the most unique and comfortable hotels for your stay in Genoa, for both business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cairoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairoli Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing