We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly staff, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continental Genova
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2010

The Hotel Continental is in a great location opposite the train station, we flew from Rome and caught a taxi from the airport. There is a special deal with the taxis that for 7euro per person they will drop you at the train station, you must ask for this before you get in the taxi. We arrived at 10.00am and our room was not ready, they stored our bags and we walked around the local area to get our bearings. Checkin was simple and the staff were very friendly. I had been expecting a tiny room, based on other revies for Italy, but was pleasantly surprised, the room (534) is spacious and looks to have been recently updated. The room could have been a bit cleaner but was quite OK. Being on the 5th floor, the view is quite nice. Being near the train and bus station it could have been noisy but there are electric shutters on the windows that block almost all the outside noise and the light making it very dark and good for sleeping. They offer free wireless internet and our package included breakfast which is of a good standard. All in all a very good hotel and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reuben2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 883 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2010

This is very nice hotel with its unique charm. The hotel has very nice old-fashioned lift. Our room was large with additional small sofa. Breakfast is varied and the breakfast room is very comfortable. There is a 5 star hotel next door and we had dinner their. The hotel has its own parking not far from the hotel by price 20 euro per day.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lassale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

great location only 100m from train station. If you don't like lifts this hotel has one of the old cage style ones. Upgraded to a larger room. Free wifi in room. Breakfast included was nice. Room was clean, quiet, roomy, comfortable but nothing special.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keryn-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Found this hotel on Tripadvisor and agree with other recent reviews. A good, comfortable, reasonably priced hotel. This hotel is next to the one pictured, and is considerably smaller. I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I am in Genoa.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldchemprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

I have been at Hotel Continental Genoa for the past three nights and I could not have asked for a better service! The staff (particularly, Paolo, Marzia, Birgit, Victor and Francesco) have been incredibly kind and generous with their time. They have even assisted me with unrelated hotel activities (e.g., finding the psychology department at the Genoa University or calling Master Card when my only credit card was not operational).

This is truely a lovely hotel in a great location and I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youripc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Great hotel. Definitely deserves its 4 stars. The rooms appear exactly as the photos. The hotel is extremely close to Principe train station (handy to the cinque terre) but our room was completely quiet. Everything has clearly been refurbished within the last couple of years and there were no signs of wear and tear (or chipping, or mold etc) toiletries provided are nice. The rooms are traditionally furnished (this is not a design hotel) and the hi fi is traditional too (no plasma screens....and wifi comes at a cost). I do not know what more you get if you stay at the 5-star sister hotel next door but I think this place was perfectly good. Staff were helpful (although we did not ask for much and did not have any problems) and spoke english. The breakfast was good - great croissants - and they even provide hot dishes (on one of those hot-plate buffet things) for those travellers who don't get that they are in Italy.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank beachedas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a very good location when arriving by train. The room was large (at least by Italian standards). Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erlendius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#2 of 90 in Genoa
2,866 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Melia Genova
#1 of 90 in Genoa
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 90 in Genoa
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Genova

Address: Via All'Arsenale di Terra 1, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range: $105 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Genova 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Continental Genova Art Nouveau style, completely renovated with strategic location opposite Genova Principe Train Station and walking distance from the Genova downtown. It offers elegant air conditioned rooms with parquet floors, free Wi-Fi, Media set Premium TV channels. Some rooms include a Jacuzzi bath and have bow windows overlooking historical Piazza Acquaverde. In the morning is served delicious rich buffet breakfast with local fresh products. In the Tralalero Genovese Trattoria can be tasted Italian dishes and savored Liguria specialties. Multi -functional congress rooms with day light and plenary congress hall with capacity up to 230 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Continental Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing