We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Continental Genova
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Bad Homburg, Germany
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed in the hotel with the family. Very warm welcome, hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Perfect Service. We had a large room, which was clean and cosy. My family and I really enjoyed the stay. Location is excellent, not only for visiting the city, but also when travelling around at the coast line. Perfect stay. Hotel staff gave very goods tips for restaurants closeby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    318
    63
    14
    3
See reviews for
170
376
43
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great location just across the square from Principe railway station and main bus routes to take you to further afield. Otherwise it is an enjoyable 15 minute walk to the old port and the main sights. The hotel itself is charming and the staff all seemed helpful and pleasant, the availability of gratis water was very welcome after a day of sightseeing in the searing heat. Our room was spotlessly clean and of a good size. The shutters, air conditioning and marble floors meant that the room temperature was always comfortable when it was baking hot outside. A mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities were available with toiletries, tissues and even slippers provided!
The old style lift was a delight to ride in and added to the ambiance and feel of the place. The breakfast choice was large - the usual juices, pastries, cereals, meat and cheeses, along with scrambled eggs and bacon as a hot alternative.
This all came at a very good price - I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this great city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The room is big, beautiful and clean. And the old lift is really nice!
We found the staff very helpful and we used the parking service without any problem...
The view is also very good.
They recommend us to eat in the trattoria just beside the hotel and we loved the food.
It was perfect to have this place to relax after a long day walking...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 348Felicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July 2013 and wish we had stayed longer. The location is excellent - about 1 minute from the central train station (convenient when carrying luggage and organising day trips from Genova as we did). Located close by are a number of restaurants and gelato shops, reasonable prices and nice quality. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the main tourist attractions. My only word of warning is to ensure you exit the main train station through the main/front entrance as this is the direct route to the hotel (you can see the hotel on the left as soon as you exit the station through the main doors). My partner and I made the mistake of using another station exit when we arrived looking for the hotel and ended up walking to a dodgy part of town, try to avoid our error particularly at night as we didn't feel at ease. The other side of the station where the hotel is located is safe, just use the correct exit and you will be fine!

Our room had a great view facing the main street and train station, it also had a view up the hill which was lovely at sunset. The room was spacious, clean and had a nice bathroom (be it a bit dark and with a cracked tile but overall perfectly fine).

The staff on reception were always very friendly and helpful to us and other guests (from what we saw).

The buffet breakfast was great, it had a huge selection of sweets (cakes, pastries, spreads etc), cereals, savouries (breads, cheeses, meats), yoghurts, fruits and juices. The breakfast room attendant also will make you a coffee if desired (a real coffee not instant).

Overall we felt this hotel provided excellent value for money (we booked online through Agoda and received a reduced rate so it pays to do some research before booking). I highly recommend this hotel to people visiting Genova.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view as some didn't appear to have an outlook. Our room was #235 and had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntheaB972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were travelling through Italy by train. The hotel was close to the station and within walking distance to most sights in the city. The hotel was vey clean and although our room was facing the main area near the bus and train station it was quiet because there were sound proofing roller screens on the windows.The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was good and varied.

Room Tip: Book one to the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tess57sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The staff spoke food English and were very helpful. Te location is a little out of the main area but it is all in walking distance and we enjoy walking so very happy. The restuarant next door was excellent, this is also where the breakfast is served, which was good value. The room was fantastic, nice comfy bed and clean bathroom. Highlight was the quirky little elevator which was about 120 years old. Would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Hotel Continental will certainly be on my return list. I found the service to be outstanding, the room very comfortable and elegant, and the location is perfect.

First, you may not know, that the Hotel Continental is located right next to its larger sibling. Both hotels are owned by the same company. The larger hotel is extremely elegant but a lot more expensive.

Hotel Continental has a wonderful charm. It is located right near the Genoa train station. While a bit noisy outside as is expected, the hotel is a good walk to the docks and the main shopping areas.

Our room was fantastic. Mechanical, sound dampening shades, a large wonderful bed, and a nice bathroom. Room size was perfect and bed was very comfortable. Everything was clean and tastefully appointed. There is an old style elevator that you use which is fun!

Service was perfect, but no one is present very early in the morning at the front desk. It is not staffed before 7am and we were told that when we checked in. We needed taxi to the airport so we were told to walk next door to the sister hotel and they would get one. We had a taxi within one minute of asking!

If we come back to Genoa, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Melia Genova
#2 of 91 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Genova

Property: Hotel Continental Genova
Address: Via All'Arsenale di Terra 1, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Genova 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Continental Genova Art Nouveau style, completely renovated with strategic location opposite Genova Principe Train Station and walking distance from the Genova downtown. It offers elegant air conditioned rooms with parquet floors, free Wi-Fi, Media set Premium TV channels. Some rooms include a Jacuzzi bath and have bow windows overlooking historical Piazza Acquaverde. In the morning is served delicious rich buffet breakfast with local fresh products. In the Tralalero Genovese Trattoria can be tasted Italian dishes and savored Liguria specialties. Multi -functional congress rooms with day light and plenary congress hall with capacity up to 230 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Continental Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing