We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental Genova
Ranked #6 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just over the road from the train station and close to all the sights. Value for money hotel to explore the city and surrounds. Genoa is an interesting place. We found the lifts to the upper areas overlooking the city. The lifts are located inside the cliff faces. Hard to describe but worth looking for. There is one near the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMA1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    313
    63
    14
    3
See reviews for
167
373
43
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

When I booked this hotel I didn't know what to think. After I arrived I was most happy that I did book this hotel.

The hotel is directly opposite the entrance Piazza Principe Railway Station which is very handy if you are travelling by train. With Genoa being quite compact it is not to far to walk to most of the sights of Genoa.

The room was well set out in an art nouveau style, the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was well priced and there was ample choices to suit everybody. I ate at the trattoria that is attached to the hotel, this was excellent and I ate there again the following evening.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Genoa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freoshocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed 6 nights at this hotel and used it as a base for exploring Genoa, the Cinque Terra and the rest of the Ligurian Coast. It was in an ideal location just minutes walk from the main Piazza Principe railway station. It was also very close to Stazione Marittima where the cruise liners leave from. When we arrived we were upgraded to a larger room on the 4th floor which was located at the back of the hotel and was very quiet both night and day. We were also given for free a voucher worth 30 Euro for a city bus tour which another guest was unable to use. The room was very clean and well appointed. All the reception staff were very helpful, friendly and polite. The breakfasts were exceptional with a large variety of fruits, cereals, breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, eggs, salads, etc. and served in the trattoria next door. The trattoria called Tralalero was one of our best discoveries in Genoa, it served beautifully cooked regional food and we had a wonderful set course meal of 4 courses with bottle of wine, bottle of mineral water and coffee for 35 Euros each and it was so good that we ended up having dinner there on another three nights but with smaller meals on those occasions. It was easy to walk from the hotel to the main sights in Genoa. The hotel was good value and we would definitely stay there again if we're in Genoa.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
238 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Outstanding location opposite Piazza del Principe Rail Station we enjoyed corner generous sized sunny room on 5th Floor with very good quality facilities and with no road noise distractions. Friendly service staff and generous breakfasts made this an enjoyable experience marred only by malfunctioning electronically controlled window shutters occurring on 2nd night after 11pm service cut-off. The old fashioned manual lift provided a quirky 'hit and miss' option if other patrons forgot to close the cage doors properly. Happy to return to this Hotel and would certainly recommend, especially for upper floors rooms.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor room for best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a really good hotel. Charming and old-fashioned, it has a welcoming reception area with free newspapers and mineral water, and an old-school cage lift to take you up to your room.

Old it may be, but its in good condition. Clean throughout, our room (4th floor, front-facing) was large, well-equipped and perfectly clean. The bathroom has a good shower, over a bath, and a hair-dryer.

Location wise, the hotel is well-situated. Close to the Piazza Principe railway station and the bus station, it is also well served by a few local eateries. The port is a 15-20 minute walk away.

Breakfast is served in the on-site trattoria and is good value, with a good selection of pastries, continental buffet, and hot dishes. Cappuccinos to order. We also had a good evening meal in the trattoria.

The hotel doesn't have its own bar, but is connected internally to the neighbouring Grand Hotel Savoia, well worth a visit to witness old-style hotel glamour. We had a drink in the cocktail bar, which offered good-value at 5 euro for a glass of wine; and an old-school cocktail bar tender.

The Continental had everything I would want in a hotel and, typically in Genoa, service is low-key but efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the piazza. We did so on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M-ems_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having arrived late on the train, we were delighted that our hotel was literally steps away from the train station, and our room was lovely and spacious with a 'jacuzzi' bath (which we did try out)! The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast for the 2 nights we stayed.

The shower head was poor leaking to the side and poor pressure, but did the trick.

Not all continental hotels do toast - but feel free to ask, the waitress was very helpful and whilst this appears to be a British thing brought us toast to enjoy - otherwise the breakfast was varied and with lots of options.

Extra pillows were provided on request.

The old fashioned lift brought back memories and my husband had to film it as it was so taken with it.

The provision of brollies in reception was welcome as it deluged rain on one day and then tried to rain the second - be wary of the local 'businessmen' trying to sell you a brolly even though you are using one!

The staff were very helpful and reception.

The walk up to the piazza overlooking the city was amazing with views to the marina/port and all across Genoa - well worth the walk desite being terried of heights! Ferrari piazza was great at lunchtime to people watch and to enjoy the fountains. We just walked miles and miles enjoying all the scenery and history - unfortunately the Piazza Reale was closed to visitors during our stay. The best gelato we had was on the marina at a little cafe - delicious! We enjoyed our trip to Genoa despite the weather.

Room Tip: 237 is a very spacious room though with no view out of the tall window / doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had two rooms at this hotel and two different experiences. One room (137) was quite dark with no view whatsoever and was near a service door which, when closed, caused the whole bed to shake. This lasted on and off until about midnight. The other room (132) was on the street front so had a view and was very light but did have some street noise. Both our rooms suffered from a power shortage at around 4.30am which caused ALL the room lights to come on and required getting out of bed to turn them off. However, it is a lovely hotel with a lot of character and the breakfast was fabulous and included in our room rate which I thought was very reasonable - Euros 87 per room per night. Staff pretty friendly and location for town great. Genoa is an underrated city and we enjoyed our time there.

Room Tip: Avoid room 137!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Kapiti_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contin, Direttore at Hotel Continental Genova, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

we would like to thank you for choosing and staying in our hotel, we appreciate very much your comment which is very usefull to improve the quality of our services.

We regret to know that your room was noisy and we apologize for it, at the same time we will look into the problem.

We all hope we can welcome you back in our hotel.

Kindest regards
Gabriele Fortunato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#2 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,536 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Melia Genova
#1 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Genova

Property: Hotel Continental Genova
Address: Via All'Arsenale di Terra 1, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Genova 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Continental Genova Art Nouveau style, completely renovated with strategic location opposite Genova Principe Train Station and walking distance from the Genova downtown. It offers elegant air conditioned rooms with parquet floors, free Wi-Fi, Media set Premium TV channels. Some rooms include a Jacuzzi bath and have bow windows overlooking historical Piazza Acquaverde. In the morning is served delicious rich buffet breakfast with local fresh products. In the Tralalero Genovese Trattoria can be tasted Italian dishes and savored Liguria specialties. Multi -functional congress rooms with day light and plenary congress hall with capacity up to 230 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing