We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental Genova
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a delightful hotel in an excellent location just opposite the main railway station. We had day trips to many lovely coastal resorts. The room was not large but very bright clean and comfortable. There is a quirky old open lift. The breakfast was superb, some of the best scrambled eggs we have ever eaten and almond cake to die for. Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macforge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 878 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

this hotel is very nice comparing price to location.
its near the train station and 15 mns walk to genoa beach
the staff are very nice and friendly. they offered us a bottle of champagne for our honeymoon
the only inconvient was the elevator ..its very old and got stuck in it and late to pick up the train ..
but it was a nice stay

Room Tip: go there believe me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We selected this hotel due to its proximity to the principle train station. It turned out to be an excellent choice. Good service, nice spacious rooms in an elegant historical building. The attached restaurant was also excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebastianFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had a group stay here in October and everyone just loved it!!
Amazing hotel, superb location and absolutely delicious food! We will be using this hotel again for sure! The staff was so friendly - it is a perfect hotel to explore Genoa!

- The Georgia Hardy Tours Team

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Georgia Hardy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel just a one or two minute walk from the train station. The check in was fast, efficient, and the desk staff was friendly and professional. Our room was extremely spacious with a wonderful view of the square. It's within walking distance of the harbour and the rest of the tourist "zone". We especially enjoyed walking around the area and seeing the sites. As others have noted, the hotel has it's charm with the old-fashioned lift, slippers, bathrobes, and decor. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kblack_YYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We walked to the hotel from the train station in two or three minutes and were warmly greeted by the desk clerk. Check in was speedy and the clerk explained hotel amenities and meal times. She was also quite helpful with directions to the town center and restaurant recommendations. Turns out the hotel dining room was better than where we chose to eat at the waterfront. This is an old building with a retrofitted, small elevator, which we rode to our room. The room was plenty large enough for the three of us and the room and bathroom were very clean.

The breakfast buffet is located just off the front desk and it also has a street entrance. The variety and quality was first class with the usual assortment of breads, fruits, cereals, meats, cheeses and eggs.

All of us were satisfied with our choice of hotels and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You might wish to reserve a room on the backside of the hotel as they are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bostonrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Again, great staff! Our receptionist welcomed us warmly and suggested an initial walking route which could not have been better, and man on the desk that evening advised us charmingly and brilliantly on where best to go for apperitivi and the rest of the evening.

It is little sister to the larger four star Savoia next door, both run by the same company, and one guesses the same family for years. The hotels are joined and benefit each-other, you're always welcome at the Savoia's elegant bar and roof terrace. Lots of little touches make the Continental special. Mineral water in the lobby, slippers etc. It feels as if someone cares for the place deeply.

And if you're an Edwardian technology fan the wooden lift is fantastic! (If you're not there's a modern lift to calm your nerves).

Location is convenient and picturesque, if slightly rough round the edges, but you are next to a railway station near a port. I'd have no hesitation about returning.

Tip, of you're waiting for the airport bus almost opposite the hotel, the bus station coffee stand next to the bus stop is excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square (2 out of 7 rooms on each floor overlook the light well)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntonyJBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,798 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Melia Genova
#2 of 91 in Genoa
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Genova

Address: Via All'Arsenale di Terra 1, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range: $110 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Genova 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Continental Genova Art Nouveau style, completely renovated with strategic location opposite Genova Principe Train Station and walking distance from the Genova downtown. It offers elegant air conditioned rooms with parquet floors, free Wi-Fi, Media set Premium TV channels. Some rooms include a Jacuzzi bath and have bow windows overlooking historical Piazza Acquaverde. In the morning is served delicious rich buffet breakfast with local fresh products. In the Tralalero Genovese Trattoria can be tasted Italian dishes and savored Liguria specialties. Multi -functional congress rooms with day light and plenary congress hall with capacity up to 230 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing