We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days Visiting Genova in October 2011 , staying at Continental hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental Genova
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Very well located place, in the Genova downtown.
No place for parking at all excepted if you are using the Parking hotel (24euro a day).
The staff does not speak English nor French.

Room Tip: Room 239 was larger than the majority of the other rooms with a small dressing room. the room was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene-from-Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 877 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stay two nights with my wife.
Everything was great. Easy access to train Station and historic City center.
We walk everywhere and even at night with streets empty we feel safe.
Breakfest was superb and front desk help speaks good english and was very helpfull.
Rooms are big for european standard and bathroom is excellent.
Great bed and pillows. Heat/air worked perfectly.
Deffinitly will reccomend this hotel for friends. Booked early and got a room for 90 euros with breakfest for two.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonardoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed for two nights in mid-October, having booked on their website for an Executive Room priced at 107.00 Euros per night. Check in was quick and orderly, but the Hotel's lobby is practically non-existent. There are two chairs, a small table with several glasses and several bottles of water to quench your thirst, and then a small desk with a computer which costs 2 Euros for 15 minutes. The Lobby is an afterthought. But more importantly, the elevator, or as others have stated, is an Antique Lift from another time period. It is quite cumbersome to load yourself and your luggage, close two doors, and then somehow have to do it all over again when exiting. It is a small complaint, but worth noting.

Our room was #339 facing the rear of the building and their inner courtyard. Hence, the view was quite poor. Then again, facing the street would have exposed you to the noisy street and all the traffic near the Principe train station that is only 50 meters from the hotel.

Even though the room was quite large, it did not seem clean. The wood floors are showing wear and the feel of the room was dark and old. Worse yet was the bathroom. There was black mold in the shower area where the tile meets the tub. All the silicone caulk was covered with mold and mildew. Not the quality I was expecting from a 4 Star Hotel. The plumbing fixtures, both in the bath/shower area and the faucet were old and worn. Though there was adequate pressure and lots of hot water, you did not want to stay long in the bathroom.

The only place I feel that the hotel deserves a 4 Star rating was at breakfast. The food served was quite good and there was a wide choice to select from. The room was tastefully remodeled.

Upon check out there was a 3.00 Euro Mini-bar fee on my bill that I questioned and was subsequently removed when I protested that I did not take anything from the mini-bar.
The clerk did not offer an explanation of how it got there. Hence, please check over your bill upon leaving.

I can only recommend this hotel if you must need to be close to the Principe Railroad Station.
The area around the hotel is not that great, nothing to see or any restaurant that you would want to dine at.

If I was to return to Genoa, I would choose another hotel in a better location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here in March 2011 for a couple of nights before embarking on a MSC cruise.
We were impressed with the room, the staff, the breakfast; and I'm sure it was not wholly because we arrived here after a horrible stay in Rome.
Would definitely stay here again, and would heartily recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best picks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The Hotel Continental is next to the Principe train station - ideal if you are arriving and staying in Genoa - the airport bus drops you almost outside the door. The hotel has an old world charm - polished wood, antique lift - and so on. We chose a superior room, which are on the front corner, with three large windows giving plenty of light and extra space in the room. The regular rooms looked good too, although less spacious. The hotel is on a busy street, but we had no problems sleeping with the windows shut and air conditioning on . Spotlessly clean. The reception and breakfast staff were very polite and helpful. Breakfasts were plentiful - good range and quality. It is served buffet style, and three hot choices are available. The area is busy, close to the university and there are some good restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have more space and plenty of light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencerswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed here two nites vacationing. The location to the train station is as good as you could get. The room was very nice, and the staff helpful in any way. They spoke English well and answered any questions one had.
Our stay included breakfast twice and you couldn't ask for more. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I was staying in Genoa. All sights and shopping are close.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyersfan090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We chose this hotel because of its location by the main station in Genoa - you can see it as you leave the station provided there isn't a large bus in the way. The room was large and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent (including some hot items).
Several other reviews mention the lift - it is a wonderful piece of mechanical history and if treated with respect for its age it works perfectly.
If like us you go out to eat in the evenings in either the main town or the Porto Antico then you do need to walk down the well lit main roads rather than the narrow alleys which might be short cuts.

Room Tip: We were offered a room at the front or a larger room at the back. we chose the room at the back beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Inner-Rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,787 reviews
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
553 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Melia Genova
#2 of 91 in Genoa
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Genova

Address: Via All'Arsenale di Terra 1, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range: $110 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Genova 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Continental Genova Art Nouveau style, completely renovated with strategic location opposite Genova Principe Train Station and walking distance from the Genova downtown. It offers elegant air conditioned rooms with parquet floors, free Wi-Fi, Media set Premium TV channels. Some rooms include a Jacuzzi bath and have bow windows overlooking historical Piazza Acquaverde. In the morning is served delicious rich buffet breakfast with local fresh products. In the Tralalero Genovese Trattoria can be tasted Italian dishes and savored Liguria specialties. Multi -functional congress rooms with day light and plenary congress hall with capacity up to 230 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Continental Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing