We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre
Ranked #58 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The previous review is very accurate, in my opinion. Bathroom was tiny and tatty. Bedcover ancient but sheets clean. Breakfast more substantial than most continental breakfasts. Super location, in quiet alley a few steps away from the Stazione Principe. But "value for money" it certainly is not: can do better for the price in Genova.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pomaussie186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 310 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

This hotel could have been a lot better. Our room was clean, but there were many maintenance issues that needed to be addressed. The bathroom portion of our room was VERY small...I mean, put your feet in the shower while you sit on the toilet, small. The shower stall was very small and the shower doors were broken so you ended up with lots of water on the floor. Water was hot-cold and then hot-cold again. The bathroom was cleaned, but not well kept. The room was 2 twins and clean with an AC. The problem with the AC was #1 my American expectations of what AC should be, so my fault, but #2 the management turned off the AC between 6am and 11am. Just cruel. I say spring for breakfast because if you are a tourist it is an excellent value. A hot drink, with orange juice, water, meats, cheeses, delicious focaccia bread, nutella and butter, fruit, other breads...A good spread for sure. The staff was hit and miss. No one was really rude, but no one was really friendly either. Seems like it may be a family business. I would say that this hotel is great for a budget traveler who is not interested in a hostel or sharing a bathroom, but only expect clean sheets and towels. Be ok with fate deciding the rest.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Very handy to the train station and a short walk to the city's attraction this hotel is perfectly suitable for a short stay in Genova. Helpful staff and a good quality range of breakfast foods made the 90 euro a night we paid good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed one night in two rooms for our family. Whilst the hotel is a little dated and basic, the room rate and location more than made up for it.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzzyGriswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Around the corner from railway station, buses, galleries, cafe's. Short walk to lovely docks area. Small, neat & clean hotel, room sufficient and comfortable, breakfast better than expected just so handy to everything. We are 66 + 70 and had no problems with short uphill walk to main street. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davmar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

The only good thing about this was the proximity to the station - within walking distance. However, you had to go down a steep lane to get to the hotel entrance. Don't know what the staff were like - we didn't have much to do with them.

We were in a triple room which had a sloping ceiling - painted in quite gaudy colours. It had the smallest bathroom I have experienced and you certainly couldn't fit more than 1 person in it at a time.

Almost non-existent facilities. Would not recommend - even for 1 night.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dermo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Very Clean. Close to Train Station and courteous staff. WONDERFUL breakfast included! Don't miss this one!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okiephilosopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
CIT Hotel Britannia
#27 of 91 in Genoa
621 reviews
Hotel Armonia
#76 of 91 in Genoa
54 reviews
Olympia Hotel Genova
#3 of 91 in Genoa
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Assarotti
#52 of 91 in Genoa
186 reviews
Righi
Hotel Veronese
Hotel Veronese
#75 of 91 in Genoa
257 reviews
Hotel Nuovo Nord
#16 of 91 in Genoa
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre

Address: Vico delle Monachette 8, 16126, Genoa, Italy (Formerly Hotel Europa)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range: $71 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing