We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star, but good value for money in the summer.”
Review of Columbus Sea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Columbus Sea Hotel
Ranked #83 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star, but good value for money in the summer.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The room was clean and quite spacious (for Italian standards). The bathroom was big and clean.
I can't classify this as 4 stars but for the price we paid, I thought this hotel in Genova in the height of summer was value for money (especially with free parking). 
The breakfast has what you would expect of a 3 stars hotel. The staff are very friendly, helpful and professional. 
The air conditioning in our room worked very well and was welcomed at the end of a tiring hot day. 

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sojohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    113
    145
    111
    100
See reviews for
70
187
17
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zamosc, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

They do not deserve even one. Avoid this place.
Do not forget the "hotel" and the name of Columbus will I associate with a nightmare.
Noisy air conditioning and ventilation properly because they do not cool. We slept with the windows open. Headache, terrible breakfast. Since then I check please show room. Hotel old, smelly and dirty. Where are the stars?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrzej_latkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Genoa hotels

Astana, Kazakhstan
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

There were two terrible things about the hotel: the location and the poor air-conditioning. The hotel is not very close to major sights and is located in unpleasant area of Genoa. The windows were looking to the industrial harbour. The view was awful and the noise was terrible. The air-conditioning was very poor, we could not sleep properly. The hotel also looks very ugly! The room interior is absolutely boring. Never go there as a couple! It entirely spoiled our impression of Genoa!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissIzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Good to give this one a miss, rooms in very poor shape,lights with bulbs missing, chairs broken, a frindge that has a leg missing AND stink of smoke... Staff reasonably friendly even if the bar man does know where all the big ferry ships that are just out the front of his bar window go to!

Room Tip: None get another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is quite basic but very clean. Staff were really helpful, best person in the hotel is bar man Antonio! Made our stay worthwhile! If your going on a cruise or ferry this location is ideal. There are nicer hotels in area if this is for your holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel three years ago and returned to find everything going under. For a supposed 4-Star hotel, this place doesn't make the grade. The rooms are dirty and the rugs are ancient. No one seems to care. They charge for wi-fi and the system crashes frequently. Breakfast is just average; below that for a 4-Star. Overall, the place needs a good overhaul or simply junk it. My advice: if you want to stay here, hurry. It may not be here long.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ames_IowaCoach32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Friendly Hotel and it was pretty close to the Genova-Port. Room was in a usual "middle Class" Standard. From Room, we had good View to the Port. Employee at CheckIn and CheckOut was friendly and they speak also good english there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colaandbeervodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Genova City
Novotel Genova City
#29 of 91 in Genoa
2,126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Armonia
Hotel Armonia
#69 of 91 in Genoa
50 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Genova San Biagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Genoa City
1.0 mi away
CIT Hotel Britannia
CIT Hotel Britannia
#25 of 91 in Genoa
582 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Sea Hotel

Property: Columbus Sea Hotel
Address: Via Milano 63 | In Front of the Harbour, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Columbus Sea Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Columbus Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Sea Genoa
Hotel Columbus Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing