We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful start and end to our vacation”
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful start and end to our vacation”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel lobby, restaurant (a bit pricey), staff and room were excellent. We used the stay/fly and stay/cruise packages for our cruise out of the Genoa Port. The breakfast was great with plenty of selection even made to order eggs.The only down side was the delay in communication via emails. The place is a beautiful gem and I would definitely stay there again given the chance to travel back to Italy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scarygma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,679
    697
    166
    53
    22
See reviews for
504
1,301
106
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed 1 night at this fabulous hotel on journey from the Dolomites to the South of France,we hadn't pre booked just called in after reading the reports on trip advisor.What a find,an absolutely superb hotel ,the reception staff were charming,room was lovely ,bathroom great with excellent lighting ,bar staff also very welcoming.Ate in their trattoria which was also very good?Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed, as a family of 4, in the Grand Hotel Savoia for 5 nights between Christmas and New Years. While Genoa (Genova) might not be the prettiest or safest city in Italy, we found the hotel to be an incredible haven, and a really nice experience. Our room was fantastic, the hotel staff was excellent, showing superior service in every way, and the hotel truly lived up to it's 5 star rating. We would highly recommend this hotel as a family hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the elevator, which was actually really nice, as the rooms are very, very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azores, Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Classical hotel close to Genova's historical centre. The staff was professional and efficient even when we arrived late in the evening. We found the rooms clean and comfortable but they weren't very tasteful. The extra points go the mattress and shower witch were better than the average.
Also breakfast is a plus, serving a huge amount of variety and good products. The hotel has car parking service a of course free wi-fi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joa_GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My family and I have been coming to this hotel for many years now. Unbelievably, it has just got even better! Faster internet, more varied and excellent breakfast, generous and happy staff - we even had a water bowl brought in at meal times for our little dog. I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough. Luxurious, friendly and beautiful. A real treat for parents, teenagers, couples and pets!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived, bedraggled travelers, off a 12 hour train odyssey from Paris midst a torrential rainstorm. We struggled with heavy suitcases upstairs at the Principe train station where the escalators are apparently perpetually broken and there is no elevator. We were not happy campers when we arrived at the Savoia, drenched and wrenched despite it being a mere block from the Principe train station. Once we walked through the front door, rain stopped and magic began to happen. The front desk welcomed us warmly and brought our temperment back into equilibrium. We were quickly in our wonderful warm, cozy room. After a brief rest, we were out on the street trying to decide on a spot for dinner--so many choices only a block or two away. In the morning we went down for our included breakfast and were treated to the most sumptuous and pleasant breakfast experience we have ever had in our long extensive travels. After breakfast, we wnt for a walk in search of Columbus' house and found it easily only a 20-25 minute walk away--we wandered the exciting working waterfront on our way back to the hotel. We could do this all in a one day stay, because the hotel had graciously accomodated a very late check out so we could experience Genoa from their doorstep while we waited for the assigned time to board our MSC cruise ship in mid afternoon. I cannot say enough about how gracious was the entire staff at the hotel and how wonderfully pleasant was our brief but very full stay. I would recommend all cruise ship travelers to spend your pre and post cruise nights at the Savoia and add a few days to spend in Genoa--a vibrant and intriguing port city with a long excting history.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suitcaseking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Best place to stay in Genoa! Period.

Expensive maybe compared to others, but the only place for my mind.

Service by the staff is always very good, friendly, everyone speaks english, and they are knowledgeable about area attractions.

Located a short distance from the train station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcoman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Melia Genova
#2 of 92 in Genoa
1,523 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
NH Genova Centro
#7 of 92 in Genoa
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Property: Grand Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Genoa
#1 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#3 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 5 stars hotel with SPA in the heart of Genoa, next to the famous Aquarium and the ancient Harbour of Genova, only a few steps away from the Piazza Principe railway station of Piazza Principe. The hotel is like a fairytale as entering the hotel feels like getting on board of a marvelous transatlantic liner Grand Hotel Savoia offers 117 luxury and comfortable rooms including deluxe rooms, executive rooms, classic rooms, family rooms, junior suites, secrete suite and presidential suite. All rooms feature individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee and tea maker, LCD TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 1 complimentary bottle of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set. Every room has been studied to create a unique atmosphere, that makes it different from the others. At Salgari Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well. Grand Hotel Savoia disposes of 6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio- microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions. Cocktail bar and Executive Lounge. Free Wi-Fi connection in the whole building. Grand Hotel Savoia offers a charming SPA centre with bio-sauna, aromatic showers, massage area and pool. Moreover, on the Top Floor you will find a panoramic solarium with two big Jacuzzi. Fitness Area free of charge for all the Guest with the newest equipments. Children will have fun in the Pirate Garden with its galleon, a treasure well and lots of games. Private parking, cost E 25.00 per day, valet service included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing