We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Classical hotel close to Genova's historical centre. The staff was professional and efficient even when we arrived late in the evening. We found the rooms clean and comfortable but they weren't very tasteful. The extra points go the mattress and shower witch were better than the average.
Also breakfast is a plus, serving a huge amount of variety and good products. The hotel has car parking service a of course free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jogaoliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 2,811 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

My family and I have been coming to this hotel for many years now. Unbelievably, it has just got even better! Faster internet, more varied and excellent breakfast, generous and happy staff - we even had a water bowl brought in at meal times for our little dog. I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough. Luxurious, friendly and beautiful. A real treat for parents, teenagers, couples and pets!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived, bedraggled travelers, off a 12 hour train odyssey from Paris midst a torrential rainstorm. We struggled with heavy suitcases upstairs at the Principe train station where the escalators are apparently perpetually broken and there is no elevator. We were not happy campers when we arrived at the Savoia, drenched and wrenched despite it being a mere block from the Principe train station. Once we walked through the front door, rain stopped and magic began to happen. The front desk welcomed us warmly and brought our temperment back into equilibrium. We were quickly in our wonderful warm, cozy room. After a brief rest, we were out on the street trying to decide on a spot for dinner--so many choices only a block or two away. In the morning we went down for our included breakfast and were treated to the most sumptuous and pleasant breakfast experience we have ever had in our long extensive travels. After breakfast, we wnt for a walk in search of Columbus' house and found it easily only a 20-25 minute walk away--we wandered the exciting working waterfront on our way back to the hotel. We could do this all in a one day stay, because the hotel had graciously accomodated a very late check out so we could experience Genoa from their doorstep while we waited for the assigned time to board our MSC cruise ship in mid afternoon. I cannot say enough about how gracious was the entire staff at the hotel and how wonderfully pleasant was our brief but very full stay. I would recommend all cruise ship travelers to spend your pre and post cruise nights at the Savoia and add a few days to spend in Genoa--a vibrant and intriguing port city with a long excting history.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suitcaseking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Best place to stay in Genoa! Period.

Expensive maybe compared to others, but the only place for my mind.

Service by the staff is always very good, friendly, everyone speaks english, and they are knowledgeable about area attractions.

Located a short distance from the train station.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcoman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel with my wife for two nights. Since we were not familiar with Genova, we asked the receptionists on restaurants, sightseeing place, how to go there and to call taxies etc. They had been very helpful and we could enjoy the stay in Genova efficiently. The room was also clean and enough amenity was equiped. I would stay at this hotel again when coming to Genova next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YacchanAmarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A great surprise: they upgraded our reservation. Our room De Luxe was very beautiful with a view on the Town and the harbor. They were very kind, and our stay in Genova was unforgettable . I think it is the best place in this town. And the two restaurants are fabulous.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel was utterly amazing. Every thing about the hotel was first class. Our room was very spacious with a great bed and bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to try to accommodate anything that we asked. The breakfast was the best that we had in Europe. Many different items to choose from and the staff was very attentive at the buffet. The hotel is right across from the train station and is literally a one minute walk. I would not stay anywhere else in Genoa when I return. Definitely a five-star hotel.

Room Tip: Every room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdeluccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Melia Genova
#2 of 91 in Genoa
1,644 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
574 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#1 Family Hotel in Genoa
#1 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#3 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: $136 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 5 stars hotel with SPA in the heart of Genoa, next to the famous Aquarium and the ancient Harbour of Genova, only a few steps away from the Piazza Principe railway station of Piazza Principe. The hotel is like a fairytale as entering the hotel feels like getting on board of a marvelous transatlantic liner Grand Hotel Savoia offers 117 luxury and comfortable rooms including deluxe rooms, executive rooms, classic rooms, family rooms, junior suites, secrete suite and presidential suite. All rooms feature individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee and tea maker, LCD TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 1 complimentary bottle of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set. Every room has been studied to create a unique atmosphere, that makes it different from the others. At Salgari Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well. Grand Hotel Savoia disposes of 6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio- microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions. Cocktail bar and Executive Lounge. Free Wi-Fi connection in the whole building. Grand Hotel Savoia offers a charming SPA centre with bio-sauna, aromatic showers, massage area and pool. Moreover, on the Top Floor you will find a panoramic solarium with two big Jacuzzi. Fitness Area free of charge for all the Guest with the newest equipments. Children will have fun in the Pirate Garden with its galleon, a treasure well and lots of games. Private parking, cost E 25.00 per day, valet service included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing